We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barasoain Church

Barasoain Church
Paseo del Congreso, Malolos, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Malolos
Attraction details
Cavite, Cavite City, Philippines
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Serenity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We passed by here when we were on our way to a friend's house in Malolos. The church has a very nice, classic architectural design, both outside and in. The place feels very serene especially while there's a mass going on. If it wasn't too far from home, I would like to choose to get married here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My Brother's Wedding Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's really a very historical wedding because this is where the 1st constitution of the Philippines was formed. It's in Malolos, Actually it is somehow still preserved by the government. it's a must to visit here and see how the Philippine Governmenr started.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Historical day trip from Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

For some inexplicable reason, the schools I attended didn't make Barasoain Church, site of the Malolos Congress and an important site in Philippine history, a part of their educational tour itinerary. So one day, I found myself in Bulacan on a business trip and in the vicinity of the church, and decided to drop by for a visit. The church is easy to find by car, with adequate signages. There is ample parking and the admission fee is almost neglible.

Inside, there is an excellent little museum with life-size dioramas about the events that took place during the Philippine Revolution against Spain in 1898. There are also the obligatory religious artifacts on display.

The church itself has been renovated on the outside but inside, the colonial architecture has been preserved - wooden ceilings, colonial art, etc. You can easily imagine a Spanish friar spewing Latin sermons at the native populace. Or the Philippine revolutionaries plotting against the Spanish colonial government, as they used the church as their seat of government when they declared their independence.

You can do the museum and the church in less than an hour. And that's also the negative thing about this historical place. Once you're finished, there's nothing left to do except by some bread at the nearby bakery or eat at the neighboring restaurant. There are not much in terms of other attractions, even souvenir shopping and dining choices unless you're willing to ride the jeepneys leading to other Bulacan towns. The immediate area is a typical Philippine commercial district that caters to residents (salons, hardware stores, clinics, law offices, etc) rather than tourists, which can be good or bad depending on your bias. So if you just went here to see the church, you might feel shortchanged especially if you used public transport. Better link this attraction with other daytrips north of Manila to avoid that feeling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Historical & religious place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you have the time to spare, go to Malolos which is about a 1 hr. drive from Manila through the North Luzon Expressway (grammar 2007 gave a step by step way of getting there). After visiting the church which has Our Lady of Mt. Carmel in the "retablo", there is a museum at the second floor above the church's office which presents the history of the first Philippine republic. I think it was just recently restored and redone and reading through the captions, it's an interesting walk through what transpired during those times.While in Malolos, try the ensaimada which this town is known for. There is a bakery selling Malolos ensaimada right across the street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Glimpse of Barasoain Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was there just this morning....let me start by telling fellow travelers how to get there. By private car,if coming from EDSA - turn right at North ave; left at Mindanao ave (McDO at the corner); just drive straight up till you have reached the expressway going to the north (first exit on the right); take Tabang exit then drive straight up; when you have reached the overpass...go underneath and turn left (not the U turn slot okay) to a small two-way road.About less than a kilometer you'll find the church. Mind you, dont drive too fast or you will miss it. Keep your eyes wide open. If traveling by public transport, the easiest is getting a UV express van with terminal in Cubao. take the one going to Malolos.( sorry i dont know the fare price.) Tell the driver to drop you off under the overpass,then cross the street and ride the small jeep going to that route. You will be there in no time! We arrive there around half past 6am and the mass was ongoing. We heard that mass and opted to wait for the next one at 730am. Just before that mass...I was surprised that they sang the Philippine National Anthem. Wow,I've never seen anything like that anywhere else. After, the mass started which is so solemn in its entirety. As for the church interiors, it was so amazing seeing all the designs. I love the golden altar with the image of the Lady of Mt. Carmel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barasoain Church also viewed

Bocaue, Bulacan Province
San Miguel, Bulacan Province
 
Santa Maria, Bulacan Province
Pandi, Bulacan Province
 

Been to Barasoain Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barasoain Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.