We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmakewan Farm Shop

Balmakewan Farm Shop
Balmakewan House | Marykirk, Laurencekirk AB30 1QX, Scotland
01674 840 488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Laurencekirk
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to Balmakewan, a small family run Farm and Farm Shop in South Aberdeenshire. We aim to offer a consistently good breakfast and lunch. Come along to try our Tea Room delights, our home made breakfast and lunch menu, our well stocked farm shop and delicatessen, as well as enjoy our gentle farm walk.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here with a friend. I had goat's cheese tartlet which was delicious. Lovely surroundings and a nice deli/farm shop selection of goods.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    16
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Full Scottish breakfast is amazing value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had the full Scottish breakfast and it was top notch. Beautifully presented and very tasty. Sausages, bacon, haggis, egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, tattie scones and toast. All for £7!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been to Balmakewan twice now. The first time the place was very busy (a good sign!) and after a wee wander around looking at the produce for sale we were given a cosy wee corner to sit. We had soup and coffee which was yummy. The staff are friendly and the place is endearing. We went for a walk as the farm shop is close to a river and came back where we were able to use the toilet facilities. The second time we went the place was busy again and we got a place at the large table which we shared with others but there is so much space and great atmosphere that no-one was bothered by this. The soup and sandwiches were the best and my coffee was great. The lunch was good value and the wait time was very little. We bought lots of Scottish produce (local beers!) and cheese from the cheese counter. The owner of Balmakewan is so nice and welcoming and wants everyone to have a great experience. The place is quirky and full of character and I love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good place to shop, eat and walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visit Balmakewan for 3 reasons.
The first is to enjoy a beautifully prepared and presented lunch, the second to stock up on some local and original produce in the farm shop ( the apple and cinnamon bread flour is top of my list!) and the third is to enjoy a peaceful stroll along the banks of the River Esk. These 3 elements combine to make a wonderful countryside experience which I would highly recommend. I believe that wedding parties are catered for in a marquee adjacent to the shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food, friendly atmosphere. Always made to feel welcome and we have enjoyed every visit. Worth the drive. Thanks Balmakewan

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balmakewan Farm Shop also viewed

 
Laurencekirk, Aberdeenshire
Laurencekirk, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Balmakewan Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmakewan Farm Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.