We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paronella Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
1671 Innisfail Japoon Road | Japoonvale Road, Mena Creek, Queensland 4871, Australia
61 7 4065 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Paronella Park like an insider
Top Rated
$159*
and up
Atherton Tablelands, Paronella Park and Millaa...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. José Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 12 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights as well as the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities). Admission also includes the souvenir guide book, fish food, umbrellas, access to the online photo gallery as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paronella Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We saw some brochures and drove past but the night before read some scathing blogs about the place so were not sure if we would go in. Such an amazing place, the night tour was truly beautiful with lights, music, waterfalls and even fire flies. Tour guides were enthusiastic about telling us the story of Jose, the spaniard, who in 1935 started to build this beautiful place. He built a hydro powered system that provided electricity to the park before the area had any power and it is still working today. Words do not do this place justice, if you have the opportunity come and check it out for yourself.

We also stayed in the caravan park, reasonable facilities, little bit tight but very quiet and the cost is included in your admission price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I'm glad you decided to visit and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again one day - thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    152
    48
    23
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A night of magic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked in to stay at Paronella Park in new cabins in adjacent caravan park.
We did the night tour of Paronella Park, what a fantastic and magical experience.
New cabins were very comfortable. Great value, will recommend to everyone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It's great that you enjoyed your visit and your stay in our cabins.

Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical place with such a fantastic story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came to Paronella Park by recommendation and it was one of the most special tours of our stay in Australia.

We took advantage of the free nights camping included in the entry price, the day tour and the night tour (which despite covering much of the same ground were totally different) and found it to be great value for money.

The staff were so friendly, well informed and committed to the park and its history. This tour is all about vision and imagination and that is why it was just so magical. As you walked around and saw all the faded glory you could almost feel what the place must have been like and could only feel an overwhelming sadness for all the bad luck the park has encountered over the years.

I absolutely loved the story behind the park and the little touches that made this an unforgettable experience.

Do the day tour, go over the road to the hotel, have a delicious meal and then go back for the night tour to really understand what everyone is raving about!

So, so glad we included this in our itinerary

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive and detailed review.

As stated in previous responses, I couldn't agree with you more regarding staying on site, enjoying a nice meal, and making the most of a visit by participating in both the day and night tours.

Thanks once again for sharing your experience with others here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited Paronella Park this week while we were on holidays in Cairns. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids voted that it was one of their favourite sites for the week.
We were greeted by a lovely friendly smile.
I recommend doing the day tour and then join in for the night tour as well to really appreciate a true sense of the dream that Jose created for his family.
Our children loved the fire flies and had a great time feeding the fish and the turtles.
We have come away re inspired to fulfill some of our own dreams.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for visiting and for writing a review - we really appreciate the support!

It's really nice to read that the whole family enjoyed the visit.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockatoo, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique and inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Paronella Park is truly a unique place! Service was excellent and our tour guide highly informed and motivated to pass one man's life story onto others. The passion behind the continued efforts of many to keep Paronella Park open to the public, even after cyclones and floods was very evident!
The story behind the beautiful 13 acres of tropical plants is very educational for both primary and secondary students giving them an experience that no computer could ever match.
We will definitely return and highly recommend Paronella Park to all!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting, and for writing a review!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us at Paronella Park.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

 
Queensland, Australia
Babinda, Queensland
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paronella Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.