We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for such great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagars Cooking School and Cafe

Seagars Cooking School and Cafe
78 Main Street, Oxford 7430, New Zealand
+64 3 312 1435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Seagars is owned by New Zealand Cook Book author Jo Seagar. The business includes the Seagars Cafe, Cook School, Kitchen Store and B&B Accommodation.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for such great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent food at fantastic prices. Great service and nice atmosphere. Too cold for outside today but the courtyard looks like it would be nice on a nice day. The adjoining restaurant also had a kiddies play area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaoj1, Owner at Seagars Cooking School and Cafe, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the cafe. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Jo Seagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

29% Recommend
    4
    6
    8
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Betty's in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Not impressed with the service but great food, had an English afternoon tea that would not have been out of place in Betty's of Harrogate!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaoj1, Owner at Seagars Cooking School and Cafe, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
I must try out Betty's in Harrogate when I am next in the UK!! We're working on the service - have just employed a new Front of House supervisor with great experience. She is already making a difference. Jo Seagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New Zealand Cuisine Mastered! Wow What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

New Zealanders are familiar with Jo Seagar, and we are happy to tell you we are too! Her restaurant, food and staff are as near as perfection as you can come. We were passing through Oxford, Saw the sign for the restuarant and cooking school and figured we might get some good grub their. We awesomely surprised at the entire experience. Steak sandwich on a Ciabatta roll, fabulous, Fresh Tomato Soup, Fish and chips and Seagars signature Sheppard's pie. All fabulous, perfectly presented and looked after. Our server, David, answered all of our questions, gave my wife a personal tour of the kitchen, brought her cookbooks to read, provided us with a sample of Jo's incredible fudge and generally kept us entertained the entire meal. The hot chocolat was to die for and served in a way never seen before. Hot steamed milk with separate chocolat sauce, white chocolat medallions for mixing and or eating. Wow. Increadible... we then followed it with some banoffie ( toffie lined pie crust with custard, fresh whipping cream, ice cream and fruit. This was our first introduction to it but it was fabulous. A mixed desert plate with 6 different items were all wonderful. Great suprise and a must visit if you are near Oxford..

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaoj1, Owner at Seagars Cooking School and Cafe, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Hope the rest of your trip around New Zealand went well. Lovely to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not one for the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

While the food was lovely, the attitude of the staff and the kids meal just don't cut it at the prices they charge.

We were seated at a table while they cleaned it around us and then not given any menus or cutlery. One of the wait staff then came over to ask if we'd seated ourselves or been seated - he carried on doing this to everyone who sat down. Perhaps they need a sign asking people to wait to be seated or have a staff member solely tasked with this as they obviously have a problem with it.

The only meal on the menu for kids is a mixed plate which apparently consists of mini sandwiches, a mini pie, some chips, some fruit and vegis. Really? is this the best a cook of this caliber can come up with? My children are 6 and 8 and would like to have a real meal if we go out, not a collection of bits like they might get in their lunch box. When I emailed to suggest they offer half portions of the adult meals (because $22 is too much to pay for a child's meal) I was told I should have tried the kids plate because they get such good feedback on it. Well really for an 8 year old that isn't good enough.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaoj1, Owner at Seagars Cooking School and Cafe, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thanks for your review and the email correspondence that we have had. I am surprised with your comments about being seated as you have not raised this with us in our correspondence. The day you arrived was a very busy Sunday and we had a wait list. I apologise if the Front of House manager did not sit you in the normal manner - we've given them a reminder!

As per our emails we have reviewed your comments and have advised you that we have worked out a number to dishes that we can prepare as half sized portions. We did not have these available until you bought this to our attention - over the past five years our experience is that children will eat a normal sized meal - minus the vegetables of course!!

The Kids Plate is described in the menu as "designed for kids 6 years and under". It is certainly not a gourmet meal but has been designed with the experience of what my kids ate at that age. This is the first time we have had any negative feedback. Parents of children in the age bracket it is aimed for really seem to appreciate it.

I do hope that our responses to your emails and to your review have given you some reassurance that we have taken your comments seriously, and acted upon them.

Jo Seagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food ruined by miserable staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stopped for lunch at Seagars en route over the pass. The restaurant is in a picturesque setting close to Mount Oxford and has a lovely kitchen shop attached. The cafe is light and airy and was busy.

The food was lovely and reasonably priced; I had a beautiful prawn dish and my husband had breaded mushrooms with bacon. We finished this off with a beautiful carrot cake.

The only downside was the lady serving as front of house - so miserable she was rude! Not particularly welcoming - luckily the food made up for this!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagars Cooking School and Cafe also viewed

Oxford, Canterbury Region
Oxford, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Seagars Cooking School and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagars Cooking School and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.