We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of jo seagars

jo seagars
oxford canterbury new zealand | oxford canterbury new zealand, Oxford, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tauranga
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I wish I had read reviews before we got to this cafe. Have wanted to visit it for a number of years, the staff were indifferent, seemed to be organised chaos. Food on offer was not exciting. Just a general all round disappointment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

21% Recommend
    4
    4
    10
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Purely working on reputation.... not impressed. Selection is average and the prices above average. Say no more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Agree with others. Had not been last year due to bad reviews and local talk around oxford at how bad it had got. No greeting when arrived. Had to ask if we could have a table. Only two other dinners in there. Took about ten minutes for menu to be brought to us. We made choice and waited a further ten mins for order to be taken. Menu has now only limited choice. Meals much smaller than before. Eggs are tiny, but bacon was plentiful. Coffees where I disappointment. Would we go back again. No,no,no. Much better places around in north canterbury.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What has happened to this place???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Like the majority of other reviewers on this cafe, I am astounded that this place has gone down hill so much! What astounds me even more, is that this has been the theme for several years, and nothing seems to be happening to improve it. Where are you Jo???? Why would you let your business continue on in this way??? We too had terrible (unfriendly and uninterested) service, mediocre coffee and scones and the unfortunate view of the gardner's butt crack right outside the window. A rather unfortunate experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumsden, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We thought we would go via Jo Seagas last week on our honeymoon, only to be greatly disapointed. I had been there about 4 years ago and it was fantastic so was really looking forward to a nice lunch, however the service was dismal, no smiles and didnt explain the options that weren't on the menu.
The menu was very basic. We ordered a Prawn Salad, that was more like iceburg lettuce with cold prawns and soup. Our other choice of a bacon and egg pie was nice but very basic.
We defiantly wont be going back or reccomending this cafe to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed jo seagars also viewed

Oxford, Canterbury Region
 
Oxford, Canterbury Region

Been to jo seagars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage jo seagars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.