We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my 8 day trip to Colombia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco-Habs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tayrona National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eco-Habs
Save
You added Eco-Habs to your Saves list
Tayrona National Park, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of my 8 day trip to Colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Eco-Habs for two nights and I wish we had a third! We hiked and went to the beach during the day and relaxed at night. The hotel has an outstanding restaurant, which is the only dining option but you will not get bored. They serve a wonderful breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a hut with a view. Also - some of my friends asked for larger huts and tried to sleep more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here and I will come as many time as I can. Fortunatelly I slept in the same bungaloo (#9 for your records), for me still the best one because its location and view. !

The ecohabs are quit and windy place to relax and disconect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights here in number 9. It had lovely views of the sea and it was good to go to sleep to the sound of the waves. There is lots of wildlife to see including lizards, birds and ants!
The cabins were comfortable, but with no hanging space and it was annoying to have to go outside and downstairs to use the bathroom, especially at night. However the downstairs seating area complete with two hammocks, a coffee maker and a fridge made a lovely resting area.
The food in the restaurant was average and the service good. The downside was that the restaurant and bar shut at 20.30. However, as it was an outside seating area, you did not have to rush away.
There were two beaches very close by, one of which you could swim from at certain times depending on the tide. If you are prepared to walk for at least an hour, or if you prefer, hire a horse, you can go to a better bathing beach. You do see a lot more different wildlife on the way.
When we arrived, we were given a leaflet with a map (not a very good one), but unfortunately it was all in Spanish. As more and more people visit the Eco Habs from different parts of the world, it would be nice to have information in more than one language. Some general information in the actual cabin showing walks or other activities etc would be good. Overall, I feel that if I were 20 years younger or 3 stone lighter (preferably both), I would have enjoyed my stay more.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our experience over the past three days has been wonderful. Finally an area that developers haven't ruined yet. The rooms have magnificent views. They are up the hillside so the views are unobstructed. We could see two beaches and hear the waves crashing from ecohab #10. The only problem is that there were 157steps from the restaurant to our room. The staff was accommodating and the beaches were empty. What's not to like? We were able to visit a Kogi village and meet the shaman and his family after a two hour walk through the jungle. I think this encounter was rare but highlighted the pristine nature of the area.

Room Tip: Conversational Spanish would be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great hidden gem. I don't know where to start.
The staff are great and very accommodating. The activities are fun and the relaxation and tranquility are second to none.
We had a room that was at the highest point. The stairs may be a nuisance to some but for olous it was a great way to go slow and enjoy the view. Waking up to the view and sound of the ocean is the best part.
There is only one beach to swim at but the life guards always tell you where not to go.
The restaurant is great and they have many options. I highly recommend the coconut rice.
Two big thumbs up if you are looking for a quiet and really relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The accomodations were perfect in every way, unique, private, super clean. The restaurant is quite good and surprisingly reasonable. The views from the cabin, the sounds of the ocean walking the many beaches all incredible. Must do items are: rent horses to take you to El Cabo, the farthest beach... the ride is comfortable and easy and goes through the jungle following a path that goes between boulders with room enough for your horse to pass through! You finish at a spectacular beach where you can spend a few hours then walk back along a trail that passes by 2 or 3 more beaches all the way to the hotel. 1 or 2 nights is all that is needed to in one of the most peaceful environemnts that you can imagnine. The mosquitos/insects are only troublesome for an hour around sunset... repellant is god to have for then but not needed during the day at the beach... there you need sunscreen as the sun is extreme! We would recommend taking a taxi from Santa Marta all the way to the hotel, especially if you have much luggage. The hotel staff is very friendly and they provided a van all the way back to Santa Marat ( 40 minutes) to our next hotel (or the airport).

Room Tip: There 14 cabins or so.... the higher ones are the longest walk but spectacular views and away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Any plans to visit tayrona should try and include a stay at ecohabs, just for the experience of waking up every morning, opening the blinds and looking at the incredible sights and sounds of the coastline and countryside all around your hut. I was slightly nervous post-booking having read some of the reviews. Room-wise, the ecohabs are basic but authentic to local materials and can clearly handle the gusts of wind that come off the coast. Stayed in ecohabs 9 which is at the highest point of the area of park closest to the restaurant but a steep climb all the same with lots of steps. Lighting is very dim so a torch is a must, provided in the room. Maybe we were lucky with the weather, but with daytime averages of 33/23 degrees, the ceiling fan and the wind through the blinds were more than adequate.
Restaurant is very average, and you'd get bored of the small choice after a few days, but service was charming.

We used the sun loungers in the beach during the day on the beach below , which seems to attract a significant number of days trackers who are walking through to piscina 2 beach, over an hour away across rocks and hills. We were quite happy there for a couple of days but beyond that you'd really want to go to a place with swim able water to justify being on a beach.

Overall, pricey accommodation but worth it for a couple of days on this rugged, angry stretch of tayrona park.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eco-Habs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Habs

Address: Tayrona National Park, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Tayrona National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tayrona National Park
Also Known As:
Eco-Habs Hotel Tayrona National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco-Habs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.