We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Sands
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IvonneHen...
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cannon Cottage..A First Class Place to stay!.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived at Cannon Cottage, we were made to feel "at home" by the owner Karen Sangster, her staff Erica, Lorna and groundskeeper,Barrington! We were there for 6nights/7 days!.
Cannon Cottage is located in a secure gated community of Silver Sands and where it is situated takes about a minute to walk to the beautiful white powdery sand beach and into the turquoise and very uncrowded Caribbean sea!
The house is beautifully appointed with 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms, living/dining room decorated with beautiful local art and brightly painted walls in tropical colors! The kitchen is fully equipped and there is an amazing verandah/deck with a very cozy and comfortable hammock to relax in while enjoying the beautiful Caribbean breeze! The view from the verandah is breathtaking, as it overlooks the turquoise Caribbean ocean!
The grounds of this property are well manicured and maintained by Barrington.There are several pocket of spaces on the grounds to relax by chaise lounges, a covered patio, a jacuzzi that can be heated and a comfortable bench under a large shade tree, perfect for reading a good book while drinking a Mojito prepared by Ms. Lorna, the amazing cook!!!!
Every meal that Ms. Lorna prepared was delicious and there was hardly ever ANY leftovers!! Just ask her to order the amazing vegetables from the local organic farm called Potosi!! When she combined these veggies into a salad......OMG !!They were delicious!!!
Erica made sure that the house was kept impeccable and inviting at all times!!
Ms.Sangster and her staff made staying at Cannon Cottage feel like you were spending time with a favorite family member, who welcomed you with open arms!.

Cannon Cottage is lovely, comfortable, and has great staff, who will make your stay, memorable with their pampering. Ms Lorna will tantalize your taste buds with her amazing cooking!!
I cannot wait to return!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The personalized attention given to all the visitors!
Liked least: I had to leave (:(
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CanadianM...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Getaway for All Ages - Beats an All-Inclusive Anyday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

When deciding on a vacation for our family (three kids aged 7, 3, and 7 months) as well as my in-laws, we were split. I wanted a place with space for us to all spread out after the kids went to bed and my husband wanted a place where we did not have to do any cooking or cleaning. Canon Cottage was the perfect find! We spent a week enjoying Karen's beautiful home and the gorgeous beach. Many people told us that Jamaica is beautiful, but the beaches can be bothersome with peddlers. Not one instance of that in Silver Sands. Lorna, the cook, Erica the housekeeper and Barry the gardener made our stay absolutely perfect. The food was wonderful and always fresh, the rooms were spotless and comfortable and the grounds are breathtaking. Nowhere did we see a garden anywhere like Karen's. Dining on the verandah facing the sea was always a highlight. Karen catered to our needs, especially what we needed for our 7 month old. She arranged a visit to a local school where we took our 7 year old to see what life is like for other children her age. This was a highlight and something that we will not soon forget. Our 7 month old loved Lucy the Cat and even enjoyed frolicking in the sea's warm waves. Our 3 year old loved the hot tub with the secret waterfall and enjoyed waving and chatting with Lorna, Erica and Barry every day. It was the most relaxing vacation that we have had and that was with 3 kids! My in-laws travel extensively and they are thinking of their next visit to the Cottage. Traveling with small children can be difficult, but this was the perfect way to go. I don't know that we will ever settle for anything less than what we had during our week at Cannon Cottage. We arrived feeling welcome and left feeling like family. Thank you to Karen for making our vacation so wonderful and a special thank you to Lorna, Erica and Barry for taking such good care of us. We are already talking about our next trip. I will definitely be recommending this special spot to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful spot, with the most wonderful hosts.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Not having to worry about meals or cleaning up.
Liked least: the length of our stay!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DrCanadaG...
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Even better than what we thought it would be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at Cannon Cottage, Silver Sands (near Falmouth) on Jamaica's north shore Feb. 11 to 18th. The villa was well-cared for, very clean and tastefully decorated. The bedrooms were spacious. The grounds were breathtaking; beautiful hot tub with waterfall in the private backyard, lovingly cared-for gardens, well-lighted. The front porch was a terrific spot to relax in the hammock or read in a lounge chair. I loved that the home was situated on a hill; the view and breeze was refreshing and it felt very private. Great proximity to the beach. Lorna the cook was easy going and genuine in making our stay comfortable and easy. She did a great job accommodating our 9 and 7 year old girls' food allergies. Erica the housekeeper did all our laundry, paid careful attention to the cleaning and was quick to help us whenever needed. The beach was soft sand and wide and the water great for boogie boarding. Snorkeling was good out on the reef (went with Errol's boatman Mustaff at $15 US each). Silver Sands feels very safe. Karen Sangster, the owner, was genuine in her desire to make our stay the best it could be. We booked directly with her.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$2,100
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Manager
Jamaican Treasures
(786) 991-9092
Speaks English
listed since : Sep 2008
Calendar Updated: 20 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing