We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short business trip, but not interesting for longer stays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polakweg 12, 2288 GG Rijswijk, The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rijswijk
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Good for a short business trip, but not interesting for longer stays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is my fifth stay here. The rooms are a bit small, but clean and good. The hotel has a pool table and gym to stretch out if you are boring. The renovated new section of the hotel seems to be a bit better than the old section. You are well connected by bus and tram stops nearby. The hotel has a good parking facility as well.

The negatives which I feel are: the place is calm and quiet without anything happening around, the food options are too low,

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the new section or ask for an upgrade, but I am not sure whether you will always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a parkingspace are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
5
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bugibba, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks in November. The rooms are quite OK, clean. The thing that I didn't like is that when I removed the plastic card from the slot for electricity the fridge was not working. I left some other plastic cards while I was not in the room but the cleaner always removed them. 2 weeks without a fridge is not very convenient...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I understand that it was inconvenient for you that the fridge wasn't working while you where away, and the housekeeping removed the card which you have placed in the cardholder which provides electricity.The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to protect the environment as much as possible. We use green energy, we participate in a program to do business on a CO2 neutral manner. The Bastion Hotel Groep even has a certificate for Green Key.

I hope you can understand our actions and we hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,

Team from the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived at about 11pm. Grumpy receptionist, who gave us un-programmed room keys. So after going to the end of the corridor up on the third floor, we went all the way back downstairs and replacement were keys handed over with a "these should work"; no apology of course. There was a mini-bar in the room, but I discovered that not only was it empty but also unplugged! I needed to do some email so I settled down at the desk to discover that the desk lamp was unconnected too. I hunted on all fours underneath the desk to find a power socket - nothing - the only socket was the one the TV was plugged into. So you have to disconnect the TV to use the lamp! Original! Clearly no-one had ever bothered before because they were piles of dust behind the TV, which had to be moved to reach the plug.
On the good side, I slept really well; I'm not sure how much credit the hotel should get for that, but ... whatever.

The next morning, I am up early and try to use the kettle to make an early cup of tea - yes, you guessed it, no plug.

I asked reception who I could write to complain and instead the receptionist wanted to get into an argument and became defensive. She didn't believe me, so I said come and have a look for yourself, which she did. Her comments when in the room ranged from "it must be there" (referring to the power socket, which was not there!) to "this is very strange". Again, no hint of any apology.

Conclusions: catastrophically managed hotel, stroppy staff, and a total lak of any normal customer service attitude. Advice: there is apparently not much competition in the immediate area, which is probably why this hotel couldn't really care less about its customers' level of satisfaction. However, if you can avoid this place, you would be well advised to do so.

Room Tip: I don't know if the other rooms were any better. I can't imagine they are all that bad, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Following your review comments regarding our Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us of your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this supports us to improve areas required to ensure we do exceed our guests expectations. Please do accept our apologies for the technical defects that affected your enjoyment of your room and disturbing experience with one of our employees. Please rest assured that these topics are being evaluated with our management team.

The Bastion hotel group strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest and despite your unpleasant stay at our Bastion Den Haas/ Rijswijk we do hope to welcome you again in one of our other hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rijswijk hotels

Waalre, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is on the edge of the business district of Rijswijk overlooking a strip of green park. There is always plenty of off-road parking and easy access to the Den Haag - Delft motorway.
The rooms are very well-kept and the beds comfortable. Although it seems to cater mainly to the business community, we use it when visiting family in Delft South, only 10 minutes down the A4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Right in the centre of Rijswijk business area. Clean and modern. Great for business trips. Will definitely stay here again. Rooms are a good standard. Would recommend it. Only complaint was that I had to wait ages to be served in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Den Haag Rijswijk.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here at the end of sept ..very basic was disappointed with single beds in the room but clean tidy and spacious and tea and coffee making was steal bonus. Breakfast was great lots of choice and plentiful. Not too far away from shopping centre for any thing you require..... But when we asked the staff for a local map to get our bearings they could not provide one.... Not good for tourists who don't know where they are....had to ask for a hairdryer not provided in the room... And if you have bags to carry was very difficult to drag them through the corridors and All the fire doors on the lower floor...But was quiet and comfortable that was what was required!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I can't give a rate: "very good" because it's just normal, correct 3* hotel.
I was staying in 'deluxe' room and it was fine but I don't see what they mean by luxe, because for me it was just normal room like in any 3* hotel... so I don't know how are their basic rooms.
There is free wifi and it was working very well.
Although location is not really good - close to the highway, so try to avoid a room on highway side.
But not far there is a tram station line 17 and I've seen also bus which goes to Delft one way, in the other it goes to center of the Hague.
Also what I didn't like in a room - small bed, 2 times I almost fell from it...

There was a kettle in room with tea and coffee, I liked that.
For the breakfast you have a choice: eggs, ham, bacon, but also fruits, joghurts, musli etc. but as for breakfast it's really expensive - 13.5€ and not really worth this price.
I had a nice meal for dinner, tasty, so their restaurant seems to be nice and worth to try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk

Address: Polakweg 12, 2288 GG Rijswijk, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Rijswijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rijswijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Den Haag/ Rijswijk offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms, free fitness facilities and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Den Haag/ Rijswijk is located ideally along the A4 and is therefore well accessible by car. The Haugeue (Den Haag) and Scheveningen are easy to reach by car and with public transtport. In a two minute walk from the hotel you find the busstation. The bus reaches the train station of Rijswijk in approximately 10 minutes. The beautiful The Hague holds a lot of monuments and historic, interesting attractions. The Binnenhof and the Maurits house. With children it is fun to go to family amusement park Drievliet or Madurodam. Rooms The hotel has 37 comfort rooms and 107 deluxe rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, air conditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath or walk-in shower, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Deluxe Hotel Den Haag/ Rijswijk guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Den Haag/Rijswijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.