We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Peaceful, Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwynch Spa Retreat

Waterwynch Spa Retreat
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterwynch Spa Retreat
Save
You added Waterwynch Spa Retreat to your Saves list
Waterwynch, Red Roses, Whitland SA34 0PL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitland
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, Peaceful, Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and I came here to celebrate our engagement instead of a party and boy did we make the right decision. The hosts are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were allowed to make ourselves at home and had the most amazing relaxing time away from the city stresses! The treatments were 5* quality and the whole atmosphere was so peaceful.

We loved it so much we are hoping to have our honeymoon here later next year :)

Thank you so much for being such brilliant hosts! xx

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your special time here and we feel honoured to be considered as your honeymoon venue. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just come back from my mothers 50th birthday and we have had the best time.

When we arrived we were make to feel welcomed, the 10 of us were shown to our rooms where we all had dressing gowns and towels ready for us!!

The pool and spa area is lovely we made ourselves at home taking our champange over looking the country in the hot tub!

I had the facial which was the best I have ever had and all the others agreed they loved their treatments. We took all our own food and drink which had all the equipment in the cwtch for us to cook and a big table for us to gather round on!!

We will be returning big thumbs up

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for his lovely review. we are all glad you enjoyed yourselves as much as we enjoyed having you here. See you soon. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Waterwynch with 3 friends to celebrate my 40th birthday, we could not fault it, it was just perfect!! We arrived on Saturday at 12.10pm, so was quite early, but this was not a problem! Abigail greeted us and showed us around, and was very helpful. We had time to relax in the hot tub before our treatments commenced, 2 of us had the deep tissue massage (which got rid of all the knots)!! and 2 had aromatherapy massage (which was very relaxing)! We then spent time between the hot tub, pool, jacuzzi and sauna!! The Hot Tub was absolutely gorgeous and the surroundings amazing!!

The barbecue was lit for us to use at our disposal. Had a really fab evening, just wish we could've stayed a few more days - will definitely stay longer next time!

Comfortable and lovely accommodation, and very peaceful!

Thanks to all the staff, hope to see you again soon.

I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi Marie,

Thanks for your lovely comments and taking the time to write a review, it means a lot.

Please come again soon all of you! have never laughed so much working. Pah !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had an amazing hen weekend which was faultless in every aspect. The treatments are first class in relaxing surroundings. A true country retreat. Cannot praise the place enough. Andrea is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thankyou so much for your positive review, myself and my staff are very pleased that our efforts were enjoyed by your party. It feels good to be appreciated, and recognised for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend at Waterwynch and what a disappointment it was.
When we arrived there was nobody to greet us and we have to knock on different doors to find someone. Eventually the daughter of the owner came out and showed us to our room.

We had booked two treatments for the afternoon but only had time for one. So we used the spa area, which had not been set up. The cover had not been taken off the pool or the hot tub, the sauna was not switched on even though they knew we were coming to use the spa.
During this time my mother went to the bathroom came back to find that the lid had been put back on the hot tub, so she could no longer use it, to save electricity. Then we were told we must leave the spa by 5pm on the dot!!
At this point the owner had not come to say hello or welcome us to her 'retreat', however there was a lady sunbathing next to us and came through into the pool area to have a cold shower.

Our room was sweet, however, the sheets were such poor quality that we slept in our dressing gowns as they were so rough.

As pointed out by another guest there were no tea,coffee or milk. When we asked for milk we were made to feel like we were pestering the daughter.

The last day, we spotted the owner, still no introduction or hello. When we expressed our concerns she told us that she had hurt her back and the daughter had been looking after the property. Her attitude was terrible, she was sarcastic and told us that next time she would try and not hurt her back!! We felt bullied and unwelcome.

Do not visit Waterwyuch if you want a relaxing weekend. The owner does not care. She just wants your money. It is a shame as the location and settings are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
I am very dissapointed to read this review on behalf of myself and my daughter. I the owner had indeed fallen and hurt my back and did explain to the lady in mention that I would not like to do so again.
I left the Spa in the capable (the lady agreed about this) hands of my daughter and she and her daughter had the place exclusively to themselves as I did not take more bookings because of my injury but did not want to dissapoint these guests.
Every thing they asked for they we're given immediately and they indeed were very demanding. The hot tub cover is put on when not in use to conserve energy and removed again when asked for.
I truly believe this woman had a refund on her mind as three times at check out time she mentioned mony.
If guests require the facilities after five o'clock we always try to comply.
As seen by previous reports on the Spa, I beleive this person to have a different problem and had decided to take her personal life out on me.
The sheets and duvet covers are incidentely egyptian cotton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding value, beautiful location, very warm welcome, very professional staff, and would strongly recommend a visit. another visit is already in the planning thank you for makin Nichola's hen party so memorable.
Thank you
Deborah

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you Deborah, it was a pleasure to meet you all, all wonderful guests who will be very welcome in the future.
Good luck Nicky, can't wait to see the photos. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from my friends hen weekend at Waterwynch Spa Retreat. It was perfect.
The accommodation was very comfortable & modern. The barn with the kitchen & lounge area was ideal. Very good facilities including an aga, kettle, toaster, microwave, huge Smeg fridge for all your goodies along with a large dining table for everyone to sit round. The lounge area had plenty of seating with a TV & DVD player, there are Double doors that can be opened up to a patio with seating & a gas BBQ.
Andrea & her staff made us feel very welcome. The Spa was excellent, I had a Indian head massage which was so relaxing. As we were a group we had the facilities to ourselves it was so nice. The pool & jacuzzi were fab, you then have a patio area with a hot tub. This was heaven!! We were very lucky with the weather. However the hot tub was lovely & warm so you could easily sit outside in it on a freezing cold day.
Overall our stay was fantastic! Such good value for money when you compare it to other places in Pembrokeshire. £75 each for use of the spa on the Saturday, a treatment, overnight stay & use of spa on Sunday. I would highly recommend to anyone reading this & will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synicallyyours, Owner at Waterwynch Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, they make everything worthwhile. All of the team at Waterwynch are happy when our guests leave happpy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterwynch Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterwynch Spa Retreat

Address: Waterwynch, Red Roses, Whitland SA34 0PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Whitland
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitland
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Waterwynch Spa Retreat Hotel Whitland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterwynch Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.