We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation near Arthur's Pass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flock Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flock Hill Lodge
Save
You added Flock Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation near Arthur's Pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed one night in a motel unit at Flock Hill Lodge. It really was like a small cottage as it was so roomy with 2 bedrooms, big lounge, big bathroom & a kitchen area. The accommodation was lovely, clean & was very comfortable. The alpine views from the unit were fantastic, especially with overnight snow sitting on top of the mountains. The surrounding grounds are interesting too & you can take walks on the farm which is part of the property. The drive along the highway before reaching Flock Holl Lodge is very scenic. We made the mistake of driving into the township of Cass to find the Lodge but the Lodge is a little further up the road coming from Arthur's Pass. We were delighted to find such a nice place to stay where the tariff was reasonable, as we found limited accommodation in Arthur's Pass & any avalable was not cheap & not a high standard.

Room Tip: We found the motel units to be very roomy not like a normal motel room. Any accommodation at the Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed in a 3 bedroom house, had breakfast and dinner at Flock hill and both meals were excellent, staff were friendly, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

we (family of 5) stayed on a 3 bedroom cabin for 1 night while driving over Arthurs Pass. Simple, clean & neat property. Great spot for a 1 night stop over.

Friendly staff in the bar / restaurant.

Would definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

headed away with the wife and young daughter> was a nice break from chc and we did some walking around the station, which was pleasant. daughter particularly enjoyed the working dogs.

we ate both nights at the restaurant, which had some good items on the menu and we were happy and content both nights.

accom was in the lockwood motel units, which were nice, functional and warming. only downside was that it was very cold over night and the bedding wasnt sufficent for this, found out the hard way by waking up at 5 am freezing, next night we kept the heater on.

all in all, would go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were not planning on staying at Flock Hill. It was getting dark and it was starting to snow again. My husband was dreading putting the chains back on the the wheels of the car in the dark. We saw the signs for Flock Hill and decided that we needed to stop. Flock Hill caters for all types of travellers. We wanted a room with our own bathroom facilities, so they gave us a stand-alone cottage. The room rate was for 2 adults and then they charged for each additional person. Not bad, considering we could have fit another 3-4 people into our cottage! Our cottage had a kitchen, dining room, living room with gas fireplace, bathroom, and 3 bedrooms (2 with double beds and 1 with three single beds). Very comfortable.

The main lodge had a wood burning fireplace, lounge area with pool table and a dining room. Food was decent and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

We woke up the next morning to a picturesque snow covered landscape! Flock Hill Lodge was a lovely surprise. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We only spent one night here but wished we would have stayed longer. Very nice farm like setting and we woke up to the sound of hundreds of sheep being herded in waiting for the sheering. It was great to witness! We stayed in their large cabin that sleeps up to 9 guests but we found the kitchenette to be highly inadequate to cater for a large number of people. The counter is as large as my hand, only a 2-burner plate and no room to store food. The facility is only just handy for a light breakfast and dinners should be taken at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked 1 night here as we decided not to visit Christchurch after the earthquake. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us fresh milk on arrival. The motel unit we had (no1) had huge rooms and would have been big enough for 6 people. In fact the kitchen was equipped for 6. It had full cooking facilities so we didn’t try the restaurant. We stocked up on food and fuel in Rangiora on the way here as once you leave the outskirts of Christchurch there are not many facilities until you get to the west coast. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the views out of every window were great. This is a really nice place and very quiet as it is in the middle of nowhere. We experienced a thunderstorm when we stayed here and the noise of the rain on the steel sheet roof was deafening. It turned really cold here in the evening but the room has a good heater and electric blankets on the bed. The web site does not give a lot of detail so it does not really do the rooms justice. Only suggestion for improvement would be a longer shower curtain to stop the water going everywhere in the bathroom. There is pay WiFi ($5 for an hour) but don’t bother with it as it is so slow. I had a bit of an issue when booking on the secure site as I got an email back with all my credit card details on it. I complained and they were having there IT man look into it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flock Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flock Hill Lodge

Address: Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flock Hill Hotel Cass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flock Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.