We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food, Service, View, and Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rikki's Beach Bistro

Rikki's Beach Bistro
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel | Jalan Singaraja Seririt, Lovina Beach, Buleleng, Bali 81152, Kaliasem, Bali 81152, Indonesia
+(62)362 41670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Kaliasem
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: European, Latin, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lovina's sunset is something to celebrate.Rikki's beach bistro at Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel is just the place to end your day and start your evening. In the tradition of great sunset gatherings like the Spanish Steps in Rome or the pier at Key West, inspired music is the magnet that brings everyone together. Friends and families can gather for a free live concert from 6 to 7 every night at Rikki's seaside amphitheater. You might find the music romantic, maybe sentimental, definitely uplifting and mostly the kind of music that is the backdrop for people making heartfelt connections and memories by the sea. Food? Yes. Food. But not just any sort of food. Rikki's menu is a bit different, a bit of a surprise. You won't have to make too many decisions, flip through too many pages. It is simple world class fare. Every good traveler, travels bite by bite. At Rikki's, food is a cultural experience, sampling traditions from around the world. You might try a Latino plate with the spice and flare of the Caribbean. The Mediterranean spans flavors from the shores of Morocco to Lebanon. The plates are perfect for sharing between friends or a hearty meal for one. Drinks? That's where it gets really interesting. In a perfect world, nobody travels thousands of miles to a distant shore and orders something they can drink at home. Alcoholic or Nada-holic, the drinks at Rikki's have been crafted, something like potions. They use funky combinations of local brews, fruits, even a vegetable here and there, to channel the exotic, fresh, lightness and beauty of Bali into a glass vessel. Coconut water meets Sangria. Rice Wine meets Tonic. They might have odd names but you'll find them just right, adventuring sip by sip. Rikki's is more than the view, more than the music. It is a place you will want to linger at the dimming of the day. Intimate and Fire-Lit. You'll sit close to the sea, close to the sand, and find yourself closer to those you love.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service, View, and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I recently brought a relatively large group to Rikki's Beach Bistro, and everyone was extremely satisfied with the experience. The food is healthy, diverse (e.g., Mediterranean, Latin, Vegetarian, Meat-Eater, Indonesian, and other choices abound), and flavorful. The entertainment provided at the bistro contributed to an enjoyable festive evening. The bistro sits on the beach, which provides a beautiful ocean view for the diners. I have travelled throughout Bali, and I can honestly say that the food served at this establishment ranks with the best restaurants that Bali has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    33
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FOOD, VIEW, AMBIENTE, SMOOOOORES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we#ve been there just a few minutes ago.
we came adound 530 for early dinner.

as a entree we shared homemade tortillas with salsa and guacamole
everything was just lovely!!
my gf had a virgin coconut cocktail - just delicious!
i had an icecoold icetea made of limejus and black tea.
no sugar - just like i love it.

the mains where a platter of alot of mouthblasting small dishes like chicken in a pretty tasty sauce or homemade dips - humus tzaziki blackbean paste or cheese sauce.

the herbs and flaws they jused where chosen execellent.
everything was very yummi but not to flavorfull!!!

at around 6pm a two man band started playing sweet classic tunes (git and bass)
after a couple of songs the wife of the git player joined and filled in with pretty nice singing skills.

we really enjoyed the tunes with the setting of the tremendous sunset view.

the manager stopped for a little chat.
really nice.
you notice that its managed by americans because the service is not like the balinese (slooooow but always friendly - maybe too friendly sometimes..
sometimes you would get your food after the others already finished..)

the best thing was the special desert - smores!!!

simple and effective.
my girlfriend got crazy after trying them (she never had it before)


all in all the best restaurant in lovina region
and one of my top 5 for bali!!

peace

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must see-eat-enjoy in Lovina, Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor and two young bracelets-selling girls on the beach we found Rikkis on the Beach. Morocco-meets-Bali beach side bistro and theatre at Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel just outside Lovina Centre at Kaliasem. The circular path of bamboo sticks leads past tranquil contemporary design seaside facing bungalows with private plunge pool and hammock to the restaurant-and-amphitheatre dressed with scatter cushions and low tables, wicker stools and bamboo chairs with tables. Heather/Rikki’s versatile voice reminding of Joan Baez, partner Bryan’s vocals/guitar and the two Komans-on-guitar-and-bass provide mellow music to match the magical sunset. Dinner is a feast of flavours, delightfully presented as offering on a tray, much like the ones you see carried daily by Balinese on their way to temple. A must see-eat-enjoy for anyone visiting Lovina.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival with the relaxed atmosphere and stylish touches. The dining areas take full advantage of its location on the beach with the sunset as the perfect backdrop. We loved the tapas style evening menu which was again perfect to enjoy the ambiance and music. The food was delicious and a welcomed change to what is on offer in other Lovina restaurants. The cocktails added another wow factor, they were generous and creative and complemented the food to a tee. We enjoyed ourselves so much we had to come back the next night to try the other menu offerings and we were equally as impressed. We saved room for dessert and shared the macaroons with chocolate sauce, which was indulgent and delectable. The hosts and staff were professional and yet relaxed which made us feel looked after and welcome, we will definitely be back. Thank you Rikki and Brian.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Goosebumps...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The sun was setting. The smooth sounds of soul/country music massaged me into my amphitheatre cushion. I sat and watched the bats circling as this very cool husband and wife Team swooned. I had goosebumps crawling all over.

The menu made me smile. Cheeky and fun, this place doesn't take itself too seriously. The cocktails were seriously fun and tasty. We only stayed for corn chip snacks on this night, but the rest of the menu looked interesting.

The only thing that let this place down was the service. Things were very slow and some of my order taken to the wrong table. They have only been open 9 days so no doubt this will improve! The owners were apologetic and sincere, clearly trying their best to iron out the bumps. I was with some locals who did find the menu confusing and difficult, but they loved the place too and I suspect will come back. The prices were quite expensive for Bali, but well worth it for the experience (mains cost around $17AUD).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rikki's Beach Bistro also viewed

Lovina Beach, Bali
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 
Lovina Beach, Bali
 

Been to Rikki's Beach Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rikki's Beach Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.