We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Bagus Lovina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Bagus Lovina to your Saves list
Puri Bagus Lovina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Raya Seririt - Singaraja, Lovina, Pemaron, Bali 81151, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family group of four stayed at the Puri Bagus for 4 nights, recently, at the end of a family trip to Bali. What a delight after spending time in the busy Kuta/Legian area.

The management and staff were polite, helpful and very accommodating. Any requests were quickly and efficiently dealt with – they even offered, and provided, a substantial packed breakfast for our 6:00am departure on our last morning. One minor maintenance request was dealt with by no less than four staff and the problem was resolved within 10 minutes.

The villas were roomy, comfortable and well-serviced daily. One family member was particularly taken with the outdoor shower!

We spent quite a few hours sitting in the beach huts at the end of each day watching, enjoying and photographing the stunning sunsets.

I must, however, agree with two other reviewers regarding the volume of the call to prayer emanating from the mosque, half a kilometre away, at 5 o’clock every morning. I also believe everyone has a right to follow their own religion and worship in their own way, but not to the detriment and discomfort of others. It was impossible to sleep through. During the day, it was not a problem, but in the silence of pre-dawn . . .

On the bright side:
• the nearby Warung Bambu restaurant about 150 metres along the road. Terrific meals at good prices, served by a friendly staff and I thoroughly recommend their cooking classes – great fun, and what a feast at the end!
• The 1000 Dream restaurant next door to the hotel – great food at very reasonable prices and an excellent staff
• The pool – set in a beautiful, tranquil setting and, due to the relatively small number of guests, never crowded
• The grounds – quiet, relaxing and beautifully maintained

I would encourage people to check this hotel out for themselves if they are after a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    122
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
163
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I arranged for the family annual break of 2 nights at Puri Bagus (19-21Aug 2012). It was a resounding success. There were 20 adults and everyone had a wonderful stay. Accommodation was great, hotel grounds beautiful, service and food was very good.
As we were a somewhat large private group, Puri Bagus arranged for private meals which we had just for the group. It was private and well organised. With the peaceful and quite surroundings we felt we had the whole place just specially catered to our needs.
This would be my ninth visit to Bali, but my first in the northern parts. I enjoyed it very much.
Rubita, Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I loved everything ! The staff is very friendly, the bungalows are just amazing. Trees and flowers everywhere... Very calm, great sunsets...
Also we went to the spa at night and it was absolutely magical... Like in fairy tales...
Only the food was not impressive (menu etc...) and the service a bit long.
Other than that, I just wonder when can I come back and stay longer !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had an amazing stay for 3 nights, rooms looked to the beach, beautiful outside shower, complimentary massage and spa were picturesque, cook school at resort was incredible which included trip to the food markets, dolphin watching was worth it if you have never seen dolphins and can handle getting up at 5.30am to watch the spectacular sunrise, wished we had longer here, restaurants were short stroll down the lane and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in June, 2 rooms with connecting door.

The staff were very friendly and kind to our children. Our rooms just in front of the beach, we can see the kids playing in the huge garden and see the ocean at the same time.

Hotel location is very good, closed to mosque (if you are moslem), some reviewer said the prayer service is annoying since it started at 5 am, but for us, we were looking for this after 5 days in Bali (kuta and ubud area) we never heard 'adzan' like in Pemaron, very beautiful if you can understand it.

Closed to the hotel, there is local mini market (Indomaret), Singaraja City, and some restaurants. We tried Warung Bamboo, very expensive, food is so so, i prefer to choose hotel's food for lunch or dinner. Breakfast at hotel is very delicious. Kids love it.

The best part is the pool and the sunsets. Sunsets was very very beautiful, and in the morning, if you go for dolphin tour, you can see sunrise too. Suggestion: local fisherman can give you cheaper rate for dolphin tour (half then hotel's tour rate).

The cons, mosquito and room cleanliness, the 2nd day we stayed, the rooms was not cleaned properly, and i have to clean it some part of the rooms myself.

Anyway, we will definitely go back again to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at 107 or 108, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at Puri Bagus recently for 11 days for our honeymoon. The staff were amazing and super friendly, the grounds were beautifully kept.
Rooms were kept very clean, the airconditioner worked better after my husband cleaned the filters. The outdoor shower was lovely.
The hotel prices were quite expensive, but this is a resort, and resort prices are always expensive. We found going to the Indomart at the end of the lane on the main road kept us well stocked up with beer at half the price, plus all sorts of snacks and large bottles of water. The hotel does say that they prefer you not to bring food and beverages from outside the hotel into the rooms, but no one ever complained to us when they saw us loaded up with our shopping bags. It may have helped that we tipped the staff quite well.
There are a few locals trying to solicit a bit of business for tours, sarongs etc on the beach but this is nothing compared to the busier areas such as Kuta and they go away if you politely say no.
Puri Bagus is in a very quiet part of bali, so don't expect lots of shopping or bars close by - only the 3 restaurants mentioned below. There is a free daily shuttle to either Lovina or Singarajah, departing at 9 but returning at 11. Otherwise you can pay 100,000rp for return trip. I wouldn't bother with Singarajah unless you were desperate to see local markets (quite dirty, and smelly, and 2 hours in Singarajah is about an hour and half too long). Lovina was much nicer, with some bars, shops, spas etc, a bit more catered for the tourist, and cheaper prices that the hotel.
We only had one dinner at the hotel, the food was very good, but we found it much cheaper to dine at the other 3 restuarants close by - Arati, Warung Bamboo or 1000 dream. Stick to the balinese or indonesian dishes though as they do not do western food well at all.
My major complaint would be the 5am prayers that were blasted out from the Mosque at the end of the lane on the main road, it was rather a shock on our first night there. The prayers are played so loud the speakers have distorted. The other 4 prayers during the day aren't so bad, as you're awake when they are played. I have no problem with religious choice, but I think even the Hindu majority of staff didn't particularly appreciate being subjected to it either, but very little anyone can do about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights in May as part of a tour of Bali. Cannot speak highly enough about this place.

Stayed in an individual bungalow on the 2nd of 3 rows. Positioned so that the second row have a sea view. Some reviewers have commented that there are gaps around the doors that could allow mosquitoes in. There are only gaps at the sides if you position the sliding doors incorrectly. A small space under the door but we had no problems as there is a plug in mosi repellant in the rooms.

Best points
> Pool area is beautiful and so relaxing
> Restaurant food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. I particularly enjoyed the Thai beef salad.
> Staff are friendly but not over obtrusive (in some places staff attention was over the top - you don't need to be asked every 5 seconds if everything is okay, it just gets annoying)
> quiet - no annoying hotel activities, pool games, evening entertainment etc. If you like this sort of thing the hotel is not for you.
> sunsets - Wow! The sun sets over the sea from here and there are a number of canopied viewing beds along the front. Lay back and watch the sun set into the sea.
> location on the north of Bali means that there is less rain

Another plus for this hotel is the nearby Warung Bamboo restaurant. You can,t miss it as its on the small road leading to the hotel. Fabulous food at a good price. Try the full Bali taster meal - you won't be disappointed.

Would definitely go back to the Pui Bagus, a little slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the front two rows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Bagus Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bagus Lovina

Address: Jl. Raya Seririt - Singaraja, Lovina, Pemaron, Bali 81151, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Pemaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Bagus Lovina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private beachfront and traditional Balinese thatched roof architecture, Puri Bagus Lovina offers 40 spacious villas including two suites with private pool and dining room. This beautiful resort provided plenty of space between each villa for stunning tropical gardens to enhance your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Bagus Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bagus Lovina Hotel Pemaron
Puri Bagus Hotel Lovina
Puri Bagus Resort Lovina
Puri Bagus Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Bagus Lovina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.