We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ol Tukai Lodge to your Saves list
Ol Tukai Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Amboseli National Park | Loitoktok, Amboseli National Park 45403, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Majorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything here is 1st class: rooms, service, views, meals, etc. We stayed for one night in mid-March and it was very quiet, not empty, but definitely low season. I wish I had stayed here longer...perhaps 3 or 4 days.

No electricity (lights and fan) during the day but the rooms are designed with this in mind so they have plenty of windows and are nice and bright. Water (toilets, sinks, shower) still works during the day without electricity. I was a bit concerned about the non-electricity hours but it was not an inconvenience at all, I barely noticed, especially since we didn't spend much time in our room during the day.

Rooms are absolutely beautiful, and very private. Pool was the best one out of many fancy resorts in Kenya - you can see the animals on the plains as you swim!

There are both indoor and outdoor eating areas both of which are very pleasant. Food is standard Western fare, with a few Kenyan options offered as well.

Bottom line: this is your top choice out of all first class hotels in Kenya. Assuming you can afford it, Ol Tukai is absolutely not to be missed. Enjoy.

Tip: Keep your door locked at all times so that the monkeys don't get in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLTUKAILODGE, General Manager at Ol Tukai Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Am absolutely thrilled by your feedback on our lodge! It is wonderful to note that you were highly impressed by our services and especially the rooms, views, pool and the meals.

In our quest to ensure that all our guests have a memorable safari, we take great care of their accomodation and culniary needs. Our best of Kenya's menus and our rooms are specially made to ensure that you have a great meal and accomodation experiences in addition to the lodge's unique location that gives the best view of wild animals and Mt. Kilimanjaro from any direction.

I trust that you will come again on safari and will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind regards,

Joab Oruko
General Manager
Ol Tukai Lodge - Amboseli National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    100
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
198
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We celebrated our Easter this year at Ol Tukai, and it turned out a good choice. The lodge is quite large, but still maintains a very good standard, especially in terms of the rooms. They are very spacious and modern with a very good shower and general facilities. The rooms face Mount Kilimanjaro and you can get an amazing view especially in the early mornings. The common spaces are large and lots of space for children to play, which was great for us travelling with a 3-year old. The swimming pool is very well maintained and has a beautiful view, especially if you are lucky like us to be in it while watching a herd of elephants pass by.

The food is average, the breakfast buffet being the best of the meals. The dinner menu could be improved, as could the inside dining area which is a little dark and crowded. At breakfast and lunchtime the tables are set outside which is very nice. The lodge provides children’s dinner at 6.00 pm upon request, which is very helpful, and a nice room for watching cartoons at 7.30 together with a caretaker from the hotel, providing an option for the parents to have a little time to catch up over dinner. One has to be careful with the baboons, which was a little bit of a downside as they were extremely aggressive. The hotel management should more firmly clearly spell out that no visitors should feed the monkeys to avoid them coming.

We did not get to see too many animals as the low-season has just started, but the beautiful surroundings, Kilimanjaro and helpful staff all made up for it and made it a very memorable trip.

Room Tip: Front row rooms with an uninterripted view of Kilimanjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLTUKAILODGE, General Manager at Ol Tukai Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you and your family found our services to be exceptional. I have noted that you liked our various animation activities which your child participated in. We strive to ensure that our guests’ experiences are wholesome and they are engaged to make a memorable safari.

On your return, take time to engage with our Massai guides who will take you on a guided nature walk within the lodge where you will learn a lot about birds, trees and the culture of the Massai and their harmonious existence with nature.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the food quality, especially dinner and the lighting in the restaurant during your stay with us. This has already been addressed conclusively and corrective action taken. I would like to assure you that is definitely not our standard of service.

I have also noted that you had problems with the baboons around the pool area. We have o far increased the number of baboon chasers as well as having signages in strategic locations within the lodge to advice guests against feeding baboons and monkeys.

I am glad that our friendly and helpful staff and the beautiful views from the lodge made your stay comfortable. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to offer you our unique traditional African Hospitality during your next Safari in the Amboseli National Park.

Kind regards,

Joab Oruko
General Manager
Ol Tukai Lodge – Amboseli National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here recently and loved the entire experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the views from every place I walked was incredible. I watched the sun rise next to Kilimanjaro, while an elephant lumbered on the savannah. Every moment was gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLTUKAILODGE, General Manager at Ol Tukai Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and for choosing it to be your lodge of choice during your trip to the Amboseli. It is a great pleasure when we receive such a review and recommendation from our guests. We at Ol Tukai Lodge strive to provide all our guests with refreshing African hospitality.

Am very happy that you loved our rooms and the views from the hotel rooms including the Mt. Kilimanjaro and herds of elephants just outside the fence. I also note that you found our staff to be warm friendly and efficient and I have shared your comments with them

We look forward to hosting you once again at Ol Tukai Lodge.

Kind regards,

Joab Oruko,
General Manager, Ol Tukai Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of the excellent naturalworldsafaris tour

Pros
Beautiful decor/ very tastefully designed
Beautiful views of Kilamanjaro
Good breakfast buffet
Beautiful bedrooms

Cons
Service slow
Food not as tasty as the other hotels we have stayed at

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

No electricity between 01:00 am and 05:00 am, no internet, no mobile network coverage. I am not sure if this applies to other lodges and camps in Amboseli but it seems so.
When I went to sleep I noticed a lizard on the mosquito net of my bed.
Food was no more than edible. Staff were so noisy... they keep yelling "JUMBO" whenever say someone.
I am not planning to return to Amboseli. It is nice to wake up in the morning and have your coffee with the view of mount Kilimanjaro but it is not worth all that. All animals you see in Amboseli can be seen in Lake Nakuru or in Massai Mara where you may have full-time electricity, internet, better food and more professional stuff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

we spent one night in that place , luckily it was only one.
as from arrival porters were talking to us as if we were friends since years, to a certain limits that is a good thing but they were behind the limit , it was the first place where i checked hands with the hotel porter, we went directly for lunch, its a buffet lunch, the whole restaurant smelled bad, absolutely nothing to eat , everything had a very bad smell , thing i understood after going to the buffet, by the very hot weather, all legumes ," cold meat " and cheese were not refrigerated , same for sweets," cheese cake " well you can still eat bread.
rooms are very old and dirty, the house keeping team are spending not more than 1 minute per room, WC dirty, no change for towels , shower gel and shampoo in small quantities and of very bad quality. no electricity between 1 and 5 AM , meaning no ventilator , with the high temperature if you are thinking about sleeping, GOOD LUCK.
for diner we got same buffet then lunch, same means same tomato, same cold meat same desserts, and i can not certify but i am almost sure that it was not into a refrigerator in the after noon because it was really not appealing and in a very bad shape.
we thought that it is the standard we must expect in the lodges and camps during our safari, but we were much more lucky in sarova lodges - lake nakuru and in olare kempinski - masai mara. i do not know how much Kenya expresso tour paid for our night, but i hope they did not pay much...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in Ol Turkai for one night, although I would recommend at least two nights. The place is 4 hours drive from Nairobi.
Rooms were good, bit old but clean. We had a room with elephant view. However, during our stay they did not come close. The hotel has a swimming pool, but the water is cold. If you are lucky, you will see the Kilimanjaro clearly from the hotel’s grounds. Food was very good, especially breakfast. As for dinner, they served al a cart, and we could choose from 3 different options. However, as the place was somewhat busy we (the group of six people) were served cold food. It would be better for them to offer buffet when it is busy. The hotel offers a game ride, but it is not cheap. This should be offered at a more reasonable price. However, we saw giraffes, zebras, buffalos, elephants and a huge turtle as we were driving ourselves through the park. Internet is available at additional cost. The hotel should make a kids corner, like a tree house with slide. It has plenty of space, and it would be great asset. Overall, the place is nice, staff are kind, and I would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park | Loitoktok, Amboseli National Park 45403, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of AfricaOl Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park ‘as a home for the Gods’. Ol Tukai is an Eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol Tukai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.