We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 48690 Nairobi, Amboseli National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exotic luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I LOVE this place. Like all the top-end safari resorts, the staff is delightful and attentive. I felt completely safe and pampered. The food was very good, not superb, but fresh salad was welcome! I will be returning!

Room Tip: I can't imagine any room isn't wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    139
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
96
159
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This rustic and serene safari lodge is located in the pristine amboseli national park!!! we were scheduled to go on 4 safari outings!!! this lodge was very beautiful and quiet. Food was amazing and was looked forward to after all those tiring safaris! the campfire after the meal captured the charm of this exclusive resort!!! the view from the swimming pool was magical and a few elephants could always be spotted!!! our room was clean and well furnished. we loved the paintings on the walls!!! one of the best lodges in amboseli. unfortunately there was nothing to spot other than herds of elephants!!! we saw a spotted hyena, a herd of gazelle and zebras!!! we spotted a pair of cheetahs in the distance but they soon disappeared behind the thick foliage!!! an amazing and magical place to stay and one of the most of the beautiful ecolodges amboseli has to offer!!! HAPPY TRAVELLING!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our 3 night 4 day safari (booked by JT TACT Safaris best safari company in Mombasa with our driver called Tito who knew everything and everybody)

This hotel was the best out of the 3 we stayed in. Very clean and spotless. We had a lovely room which was amazing with great views. Staff we very friendly especially FRED who was so polite and lovely. Food here was first class and the drinks were also very reasonable.

Out on safari got good views of Kilimanjaro, and saw lots of animals.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We started our Kenian trip from Amboseli National Park and we had stay in this lodge. We had the best suite there and we enjoyed every moment of our staying in Serena lodge. It was very fabulous to sit on the terrace near the restaurant and to see elephants, antelopes and other animals while you are drinking fresh cocktail. It was like you could pass through TV screen inside Animal Planet programme. Also we had a direct view to Kilimanjaro, it was fantastic to see this big mountain in the morning. Staff is very friendly, restaurant also good. Our son enjoyed the pool, for us it was a little bit cold :)

Room Tip: The suite is much better than standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Amboseli Serena is a superb option while visiting the Amboseli National Park in Kenya on the Tanzanian border. There is a superb view of Mount Kilimanjaro towering over you (but only in the morning as it gets shrouded in mists as the day advances).
The location of the lodge is superb, right within the park. The rooms are very clean and cozy. The staff is well-mannered and helpful. The view from the restaurants is great with a range of animals frolicking around. What was most wonderful, however were the number of beautiful birds within the campus itself.
Food at the restaurant was excellent too with ample variety to suit all palates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amboseli Serena lodge is in a location where the biggest attraction is the Kilimanjaro. You will be able to see the Kilimanjaro peak while you are on game drives. The lodge is clean and peaceful and food is particularly great. There are few Masai villages nearby and you can visit one of them. It was a quite a humbling experience to visit one such village. I would highly recommend to keep a Masai village trip in your itinerary. The lodge has a nice pool although not a lot of people will be interested in swimming pool while on a safari trip. Animal concentration in Amboseli is not as great as Masai Mara. The biggest draw for the park is the view of Kilimanjaro and a chance to visit nearby Masai village. Just beware of the monkeys roaming the property and don’t keep anything on the balcony as monkey’s may take great interest in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great lodge. Extremely clean and comfortable. The room had everything you needed and we had a wonderful night's stay. The food in particular was the best of the whole holiday! Would highly recommend this lodge and would be more than happy to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 48690 Nairobi, Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Orbitz so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.