We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 48690 Nairobi, Amboseli National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lodge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge for a few days in April, 2013. Having stayed at Serena establishments before, we were looking forward to the splendid service, lovely rooms and a restful stay. We were not disappointed.

The Amboseli Serena is located about 7 kms from the nearby Ol Tukai Lodge, about 37 kms from the main smooth and spanking new Emali-Loitoktok Road.

Upon arrival at the lodge we were heartily welcomed and presented with the ubiquitous cold glass of juice and refreshing towel, before being escorted to our rooms. The rooms are wonderful, big inviting bed, clean, functional and well equipped bathrooms, and a door leading to the adjoining room for the kids. There are master switches to enable you to switch on or off all lights from your bed. The usual Serena standards are very well maintained in the room furnishings and facilities.

The pool was small and free form, more than adequate for our needs and enjoyment. We loved the restaurant food choices and felt that all needs were accommodated to the satisfaction of ourselves and our two children.

The hotel reception also provided us with some much needed free wifi.

We had only two regrets, that inexplicably the lodge was built with the magnificent Mount Kilimanjaro behind it, and that it was the rainy season, so we were not fortunate to see much wild game. To see the mountain, one has to go to the outer edge of the parking lot, not very convenient for those anticipating a beautiful early morning mountain sighting with a cup of coffee of better yet, breakfast in front of you.

The early morning loud discussions of the housekeeping staff outside the rooms woke us up earlier than we would have wished, I hope the management can speak to them to keep their voices low and presence unobtrusive.

Otherwise, the vast majority of staff led by the affable Lodge Manager Herman are warm, welcoming and efficient, and we would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone. Next time we will go in the dry season!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    148
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
102
161
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Simply put, the staff made us feel at home. well hidden by the vegetation surrounding it, it gives a cosy, private mood, as if in your own backyard. The spa treatments are relaxing and the pool well maintained.

Great rooms, Great Meals, Great Service

(travelled May 2011, Dec 2011)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Losai Adventure did a wonderful job organising our booking on a very short notice.
We had a lovely time with friends and would surely recommend to visit Amboseli Serena Safari lodge. Swimming pool was a great way to relax after a safari and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the lovely view of nature...seeing elephants grazing and plenty of birds With a view of Kilimanjaro what more can you ask for. The food was very nice and such a huge variety for al tastes. We were there on a busy weekend when it was packed and still the service was wonderful, food great and plenty of places to just sit and relax.

Room Tip: rooms facing the drinking whole is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Amboseli Sereni Safari Lodge 2 nights in March 2013 while on a small group safari in Kenya and Tanzania. Rarely have we ever stayed in a hotel or lodge so beautifully decorated with indigenous-inspired art: wall murals, beaded light sconces, beaded and stained glass borders on mirrors, carved door handles resembling Maasai spears, and lampshades encircled with beadwork resembling Massai women's collars. The ceiling fan kept our room comfortably cool. Food choices in the dining room buffet were excellent, and the staff members were courteous, friendly, and helpful. Free WiFi was very welcome. This was a very comfortable and convenient base for game drives in Amboseli National Park. We saw not only wildebeest, zebra, gazelles, warthogs, lots of elephants, hippos, hyenas, and ostriches, but also three cheetahs and several lions. Also some spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro from the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have visited this hotel twice and wouldn't hesitate to go back again. From the moment you get away from the noise and traffic along the busy highway that's when it all starts. When its just the sound of the van u r in n the animals grazing from afar off . Once in the hotel's vicinity before u get to the main reception u already have a warm reception from the monkeys and the birds who criss cross your way without a care. Hot towels and chilled glass of juice to welcome u into the great ambience right in the middle of the bush,everything built and decorated with an african theme. ooooooh the rooms from outside look like the traditional nomad houses and
don't bother to set ur alarms , either u will wake up to the sound of the birds singing or the monkeys knocking your door. The food-gastronomique.Evening game drives was my best and the countless huge elephants i saw was spectacular. Very professional and friendly staff.Great job amboseli serena

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We walked to our room and thought to spend a quiet hour reading. I curled up on my bed, read a little bit, then looked up...Elephant? Wow! and probably 30-40 zebras. So much for reading. Then there were all the vervet monkeys. They were quit entertaining out our front door and then on our balcony. Then in the evening we say a hyena crash through just beside the outside lounge area. What a nice place. And I have to say, in all of our tour of Africa, this gift shop was the absolute best to buy anything. The jewelry, t-shirts, knick knacks and even postcards were the best and at the best prices. We had gone to the Masai Mara, the cultural center in Arusha, and the Maasai market in Arusha, lots of other hotels, airports and even on the plains after a hot air balloon ride, but this is definately the best place to shop.
Also, we had our laundry done there and it came back perfectly done at a very reasonable/cheap price.
Food was pretty good, we had worse and better.
All in all you can't go wrong with this lodge!!!!!

Oh and be careful, there was about and inch drop off just outside the door, where you don't quite look for it. I was one of many who made a graceful stumble out the door. :0(

Room Tip: As you are coming into the lodge, get a room on the left hand side and out as far as possible. Then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was one off the camps from mine 9 days safari with Kenya wildlife safari’s.

Good things:

Welcome’s singing
Service from the employee’s
The atmosphere is beautiful and romantic.
Food is good
A nice shower (this is not in every lodge)
Tents are very luxure like a 4/5 star Hotel
Nice garden
At night a nice hot fire outside.

Bad things:
None……
Oh yeah one thing wish to be there now.

It is a very nice and beautiful place, the have a nice view point for the Kilimanjaro and with good weather you can see it good, a garden full off butterflies.

Tip brig an multiple extension plug for your electrical stuff as these day’s you have to charge everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 48690 Nairobi, Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.