We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bira´s finest restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salassa Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salassa Guest House
Save Saved
You added Salassa Guest House to your Saves list
Bira Beach, Bira, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bira
Ulm, Germany
1 review
“Bira´s finest restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent one week in Bira at the end of November / beginning of December and are still crazy about Shanty, Eric and their restaurant!
After we tried Shanty´s phenomenal food once, we really get addicted to Shanty´s cooking and ate there every night. It doesn´t matter, what you eat: EVERYTHING, which is served by Shanty, tastes absolutely delicious.
But it wasn´t only the fantastic meals, which made us come back daily. It was also the lovely and very warm atmosphere in the restaurant und the nice and very interesting conversations we had in that time with Shanty and Eric.
Furthermore both of them are very helpful, no matter what kind of question you have: exploring the surrounding of Bira, transport-options, internet, motorbike/car rental,...

So, thank you for everything, Shanty & Eric!
We had a really great time with you and we miss you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friends and I had been traveling in Indonesia for 3 weeks before visiting Salassa Guest House in Pantai Bira. This was by far THE BEST FOOD we had discovered during our travels. Our favorite dishes were the Bamboo Bali, Rica Rica, and the Guacamole. Very rich and tasty. We did not stay at the guesthouse, but would if we visited in the future as Eriq and Shanty were very friendly and helpful for the area.

Room Tip: We did not see any of the rooms, only visited the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Santi and Eriq are a warm-hearted couple and created a beautiful and welcoming place in the heart of Bira, you can not miss it once you´re here.. Santi is a fantastic cook, i swear it was the best food I had during my whole one-month indonesia-trip, dishes are made with love, nice arranged on the plates, unbelievable sauces, we went 4 times there during our 5-days stay.. ;-)
Both are very warm, fantastic english-speakers and you really feel at home.. Eriq can arrange everything for you, from bike-renting, snorkeling, boat-trip, what ever you need..
Terima kasih and good luck for your future!!
Andreas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at salassa guest house ,the owners eric and shanty were amazing !couldn't have been more helpful a real sulawesi family experience ! Rooms a basic but clean food is by far the best in town ! Not alot to choose from in bira ! Prices very good! i"ll alway have fond memories of bira and salassa .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horw, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We got to know Eric at a 17 hours-crazy-trip from Tana Toraja to bira. He was the funniest and most informative guy we met during our 4 weeks stay in Indonesia. He told us that he serves the best food in town and he did not exaggerate: Shanty, his wife, is the best chef on the island. So, do not hesitate and reserve some hours for an unforgettable lunch or dinner in a cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What we really liked about Salassa is that the owners, Eriq and Shanty, are really warm and sincere people. We had a great time here and felt just at home, and it was hard saying goodbye after staying there for a week.
Although the rooms and facilities are basic, they're clean and it's good value for what you pay. Not to mention that the food is awesome!
J&K

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rooms are basic, the bed is very nice and the sheets are clean. The shared bathroom is also basic and in Indonesian style (mandi), but clean. The value for money is great; we stayed 4 nights!

The food served in the restaurant is highly recommended, we ate various dishes and all were great (ikan bambu bali!).

Eriq, the manager, is great (also to hire as a driver/guide) and speaks very good English. The other staff, two girls, are alwasy smiling and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salassa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salassa Guest House

Address: Bira Beach, Bira, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Bira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bira
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salassa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.