We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lovina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lovina to your Saves list
The Lovina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, Bali 80226, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL DEAL : 20%OFF
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Voorthuizen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel at the beach, great swimmingpool , very friendly staff , rooms are big and have a high quality standard.
Food and BBQ are ok.
There are only 2 small remarks for us : 1) that was the music during our diner. 4 people singing at your table is great the first 2 days but after a week not so funny anymore !! and the sound wasn't that great and it was every day the same. When you are there for 2-3 days it's ok.
2) we had a room on ground level, the room above us is very noisy , the floor is very thin and you here every step they do above you. Specially at night when it is quiet .

Room Tip: all rooms are ok but on the first level you have better few at the beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Ronald K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor.
With regard to our live music at dinner, we really appreciate the feedback.
Thanks to your review, we have already implemented some changes. We now do not have the same band every night. Also, the variety of music has been extended, so it's not the same night after night. That was a great suggestion.
Thanks to you, all first floor furniture has been fitted with felt pads to stop any noise filtering through to the floor below.
I do hope we can welcome you back as our guest and I look forward to offering you a quieter room and better, more varied entertainment.

Best Regards,
Dwi Dharmawijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    65
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
99
176
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Visited lovina for a different aspect of Bali and certainly experienced that at this hotel the staff are polite friendly and obliging The hotel itself is a clean and well set out with two pools nice gardens and good beech facilities but the food at this hotel done it for me the cured salmon with Pernod mayo was special will be back thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Fantastic stay! From the moment we arrived we felt special and looked after....getting rarer to find these days. We were upgraded to our Villa with great beach views! The room was clean and spacious, with a very good size private pool. We had a two bedroom villa as all 1 bedrooms were full. Room service was good and the breakfast had a great selection and was well presented. Definitely no where else to stay in Lovina as good as this. Look forward to a return trip in October. A credit to the Aussie owner and his team..keep up the great work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel offered all that we needed, with a convenient location on the beach. The tours organised through the hotel went without a hitch - dolphins and snorkelling, and a separate trip to the hot spring. The room was comfortable and spacious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We did pay for the convenience for some things, but it was a short walk to get water and food or a massage if we didn't want to pay the surcharge. It was good to get out of the resort and look around, but that's how I always am with resorts.

Room Tip: We had views to the mountains over rice paddies, and they were lovely. Go for an upper level room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked this for a relaxing getaway before the touristy seminyak and it was perfect. The food was always good and the cocktails were the best we could find in Lovina, were a little bit more expensive but worth it.The shuttle was always happy to take us when we were ready and the free bikes to ride around the area were great for short little trips.
The pools were amazing, having food and cocktails by the pool a lovely way to catch the sunset.

Highly recommend for a relaxing time but with plenty of things to keep you busy if you want to get out and about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel in a great Lovina location. The breakfast was good and I also ate lunch at the pool which had great calamari. I loved the pool area and pool bar for cocktails at sunset. The sunsets are to die for! We also did the dolphin excursion and saw many come right up to our boat. My room was in great condition and very comfortable and overlooked a rice field.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Kingscommon,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
We are pleased, that you enjoyed our resort so much and had so many nice compliments for The Lovina area in general.
Please come again and we promise to make your stay even more memorable.

Best Regards,
Dwi Dharmawijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked for 3 nights in a deluxe studio. At our arrival at the Lovina Bali, the reception informed us that our room was upgraded for our honeymoon. We ended up with a deluxe suite, ground floor, mountain view. It was located in a quiet area of the hotel next to the second swimming pool. The suite was great and spacious with modern amenities and an amazing outdoor bathroom with a small but very cute private swimming pool. Flowers and towels were arranged on the bed for the occasion.
For our last night, the hotel upgraded us again (!) for a Beach Suite. It was a two bedroom on ground floor facing the main swimming pool, the beach bar and the sea. The suite was huge (more than a 100 square meters) with a big and well decorated living room and a great bedroom. It was more European, missing the charm of the outdoor bathroom and private swimming pool but a little more luxurious. The only negative aspect was a bad smell of sewer in the morning.

The hotel is located by the beach among rice fields which make it very quiet and isolated from surrounding hotels. Free shuttles are available at all time to drop and pick-up you in central Lovina (a few minutes only). Even though the hotel is large, it is organized in such a way that you do not feel it.
The staff of the Lovina was probably the best we met in Bali: lovely, always smiling and here to help in any case.
We did a Balinese massage together in the spa and even though it was more expensive than outside the hotel we did not regret it at all, it was beautifully executed.
The restaurant by the beach offers good fried fish but remains expensive compared to good restaurants in Lovina. The buffet breakfast provides good choice of food with a nice view on the rice fields.
The Lovina organises some excursions. We did the dolphins and sunrise tour which was very nice but we were obviously not the only tourist to do it. We saw a lot of dolphins very close to our boat !

We had overall an amazing stay, the only regret we had was that we did not book more nights !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelovina, General Manager at The Lovina, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Kamiye-92

We really appreciate your fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write so many favourable comments.
Please accept my personal apology for the smell in your suite. Our engineering have flushed the bathroom with organic products and the smell has been eradicated. We really appreciate your comment. Without it, we may not have noticed the issue so soon.
Please come back and stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Dwi Dharmawijaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovina

Address: Jl. Mas Lovina | Kalibukbuk, Bali 80226, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovina 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and half hours drive from the hustle and bustle of the South,you will enjoy a relaxing Bali holiday. The Lovina comprises 66 luxury suites and villas, built around lush tropical gardens And designed in a modern contemporary Bali theme. With 200 meters of absolute beach front, in the heart of the picturesque coastal village of Lovina, The Lovina is an easy walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Catch the legendary sunset over the Bali Sea, whilst sipping a cocktail at the Beach Bar, or a romantic dinner on the beach. The Villas at The Lovina, comprise 16 luxury pool villas, completely private, yet with full access to all The Lovina resort facilities. These include, the Heliconia Restaurant, The Body Tonic Spa, Beach Bar, Fitness Studio and Kids Club. The Villas have the best of both worlds, security and privacy yet full access to everything. All villas are appointed to 5 star standard, each luxurious bedroom has it's own bathroom and, of course, they have massive living rooms and full kitchens. The tropical gardens and private swimming pools complete the picture. The Villas comprise 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, up to our magnificent 4 bedroom Grand Beach Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lovina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.