We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A promise of return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SUPER SAVER @ USD 99/nt
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Plovdiv Province, Bulgaria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A promise of return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Best regards to all staff at Damai for your kind and helpfull way of looking after us. Great food with high attention to detail in a peacefull environment.

Take care
Britta and Mikael Ammitzbøll
Plovdiv in Bulgaria

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    54
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
322
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We recently stayed at the Damai for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. It was the the perfect start, a gem of a retreat and the overall experience of the hotel was unforgettable. It is a hidden paradise, a perfect private escape. Set back from the sea amid lush jungle on a hillside over looking the ocean, the views were spectacular. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, the staff could not have done more for us. Eka and Budi in particular were the most accommodating, attentive and friendly hotel staff i've ever met. The food was incredible, the selection was fantastic it was cooked perfectly and presented beautifully. The steak I had by the pool one night is up there with the best i've had. We really did have an unforgettable experience here and I really hope we have the opportunity to go back one day! If you are looking for pure tranquil relaxation in an idyllic setting then I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough!

Mr Glenn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Glenn,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate that you are sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always our primary goal that all our customers have an outstandingly enjoyable and memorable time at our boutique resort in the lush hills of north Bali.
Your gracious comments about our colleagues were much appreciated by the entire team.
You are not alone loving our beef fillet steak, but I can assure you that our chef loves to hear comments like yours very much. We take pride in permanent improvements and increases of our quality standards.
We hope to welcome you and your wife back at The Damai to celebrate your anniversaries.
Kindest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have visited the Damai a few times and it is always a pleasure to return. This time we stayed in one of the pool villas and my favourite spot in the villa remains the outdoor bale. We had breakfasts and dinners right there at the pool side. The food remains fantastic and it is worth to visit the resort just for the food alone if you can't stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear marcusag,
Thank you very much for your new review of The Damai. We are glad to hear that again you loved to stay with us!
We will make sure to have a pool villa with a nice bale ready for your next visit, so you can enjoy your breakfasts and dinners in privacy, overlooking the north coast of Bali.
We are waiting for your return.
kindest regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing environment, staff and food.
Damai is hidden in the beautiful jungle of Bali and provides total privacy, incredible views and private pool.
The staff is extremly friendly, attentive and able to anticipate all of your wishes.
Last but not least is the food well prepared, beautiful to look at and the taste is a perfect paletable experience - thanks to Jacob Bech.
A vacation without comparison.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
we are very happy to know that your stay in The Damai to be considered a vacation without comparison,
as a small and independent hotel, we emphasize a truly personalized guest service,
therefore we believe that only the fullest customer satisfaction will ensure a memorable experience.
We have passed your compliments to Jacob (chef) who was very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our cuisine.
we look forward the pleasure to welcoming you back to The Damai Lovina.
best regards,
firman
resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Damai has been a dream come true! Total privacy, the best food you can imagine, private pools and an excellent staff.

Our private butler, Eka made our stay unforgettable, thank you!

We will definitely be back and can only recommend it to anybody that appreciate a exclusive experience in the most tranquil surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the Trip advisor readers.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and you found the service was beyond your expectations, especially that you were well taken care of during your stay with us.
I have passed your compliments to eka who were happy to hear that you mentioned her name, and that her dedication and hard work is being noticed.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Damai Lovina
best regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arrived at the Damai after a long and tiring drive from Ubud. Very pleasantly surprised by both the place and the attentiveness of its staff. This sensation persisted throughout the stay.

The villa, a few steps down from the pool area, past the spa, was in fact a quaint little private house surrounded by luscious vegetation. Its stunning interior spacious and immaculate, with lovely touches here and there. The bathroom felt tiny, but had a very private and sunny outdoors shower area the size of a small garden, lined with vines and with a natural hot tub. There is free wfi in and around the villas.

The Damai is famous for its food, locally sourced and also produced at the resort (try to book an early morning tour of the food market with the Chef if available) Every night there is a set menu of stunning Balinese cuisine, plus Western and other Asian choices in the à la carte menu. Dinner is served by the pool (reserve early in the day) and in an upstairs dining area, where breakfast is also served. Breakfast is excellent too (Japanese breakfast is a must - and if it comes with smoked mahi, make sure that any breeze blows away from you - you'll see why!)

The pool area is lovely, reminded me of summer holidays in the Spanish countryside.

There is a shuttle service to and from Lovina. I found the service very accommodating. Lovina is not the greatest town, but ok for a brief change of scenery (the 'Sea' temple by the main beach, Pura Segara Kaibukbuk, is worth a look). There's an ATM and some bars but you'll get hassled by tour operators and assorted people peddling their wares - TOP TIP: if you plan any excursions or need transportation just ask at the resort, you won't get a better deal in Lovina.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Like other reviewers, found it hard to leave. Would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
thank you for your positive review especially regarding the quality of our guest services, cuisine and resorts facilities.
as a small and independent hotel, we emphasize a truly personalized guest service. therefore we believe that only the fullest customer satisfaction will ensure a memorable experience.
we look forward to pamper you again during your next stay with us.
Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

There is something special about the Damai. It's listed as a four star resort but it's clearly a five star property; in the process of trying to find out who is behind it (a Dane) we found out that members of the Danish royal family stay here and it's not hard to see why.

The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping and lighting have been done beautifully. There are only 14 villas which means all the staff seem to know your name. Villas are made up and turned down by magic while you're out at breakfast and dinner.

The food and drink is not only outstanding but some real thought has been put into it. Many of the ingredients are grown on the grounds. The menu is changed every day. The club sandwich is the best I have ever had in a hotel.

We also enjoyed the drive from up from Denpasar, which took us through the heart of the island with some great views.

An excellent hotel and we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
thank you for your positive review for damai lovina especially regarding the quality of our guest services, and our cuisine.
as a small and independent hotel, we emphasize a truly personalized guest service. therefore we believe that only the fullest customer satisfaction will ensure a memorable experience.
we look forward to welcoming you back again to damai, and we will prepare your club sandwich just the way you like it.
best regards,
firman
resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.