We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be described in one sentence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Damai Bliss-save 40%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't be described in one sentence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Damai has been a dream come true! Total privacy, the best food you can imagine, private pools and an excellent staff.

Our private butler, Eka made our stay unforgettable, thank you!

We will definitely be back and can only recommend it to anybody that appreciate a exclusive experience in the most tranquil surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the Trip advisor readers.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and you found the service was beyond your expectations, especially that you were well taken care of during your stay with us.
I have passed your compliments to eka who were happy to hear that you mentioned her name, and that her dedication and hard work is being noticed.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Damai Lovina
best regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    54
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
317
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arrived at the Damai after a long and tiring drive from Ubud. Very pleasantly surprised by both the place and the attentiveness of its staff. This sensation persisted throughout the stay.

The villa, a few steps down from the pool area, past the spa, was in fact a quaint little private house surrounded by luscious vegetation. Its stunning interior spacious and immaculate, with lovely touches here and there. The bathroom felt tiny, but had a very private and sunny outdoors shower area the size of a small garden, lined with vines and with a natural hot tub. There is free wfi in and around the villas.

The Damai is famous for its food, locally sourced and also produced at the resort (try to book an early morning tour of the food market with the Chef if available) Every night there is a set menu of stunning Balinese cuisine, plus Western and other Asian choices in the à la carte menu. Dinner is served by the pool (reserve early in the day) and in an upstairs dining area, where breakfast is also served. Breakfast is excellent too (Japanese breakfast is a must - and if it comes with smoked mahi, make sure that any breeze blows away from you - you'll see why!)

The pool area is lovely, reminded me of summer holidays in the Spanish countryside.

There is a shuttle service to and from Lovina. I found the service very accommodating. Lovina is not the greatest town, but ok for a brief change of scenery (the 'Sea' temple by the main beach, Pura Segara Kaibukbuk, is worth a look). There's an ATM and some bars but you'll get hassled by tour operators and assorted people peddling their wares - TOP TIP: if you plan any excursions or need transportation just ask at the resort, you won't get a better deal in Lovina.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Like other reviewers, found it hard to leave. Would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
thank you for your positive review especially regarding the quality of our guest services, cuisine and resorts facilities.
as a small and independent hotel, we emphasize a truly personalized guest service. therefore we believe that only the fullest customer satisfaction will ensure a memorable experience.
we look forward to pamper you again during your next stay with us.
Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

There is something special about the Damai. It's listed as a four star resort but it's clearly a five star property; in the process of trying to find out who is behind it (a Dane) we found out that members of the Danish royal family stay here and it's not hard to see why.

The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping and lighting have been done beautifully. There are only 14 villas which means all the staff seem to know your name. Villas are made up and turned down by magic while you're out at breakfast and dinner.

The food and drink is not only outstanding but some real thought has been put into it. Many of the ingredients are grown on the grounds. The menu is changed every day. The club sandwich is the best I have ever had in a hotel.

We also enjoyed the drive from up from Denpasar, which took us through the heart of the island with some great views.

An excellent hotel and we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
thank you for your positive review for damai lovina especially regarding the quality of our guest services, and our cuisine.
as a small and independent hotel, we emphasize a truly personalized guest service. therefore we believe that only the fullest customer satisfaction will ensure a memorable experience.
we look forward to welcoming you back again to damai, and we will prepare your club sandwich just the way you like it.
best regards,
firman
resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay in our pool villa, Uhma Dewi. The contemporary Asian style room included outdoor shower, massive bath, day bed and a pretty large pool for a villa; it was like having your own house. The spa facility is a must, we enjoyed a 2 hour treatment of massage and a facial that was absolute bliss. We also enjoyed a morning yoga class that was a great start to the day. The sari class is a must, it was inexpensive, relaxing and makes you feel a part of the culture rather than just observing. All of the staff, from reception, spa, restaurant and the groundskeepers who keep this place looking immaculate were attententive, welcoming and thorough. The food menu is small, but everything is done very well and all meals were fantastic. Our two tips for staying at Damai: look carefully at the spa/accommodation packages offered as they are great value. Secondly, Lovina is a small town, you come to Damai to relax and enjoy the resort, not to shop or eat out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, it’s great to hear that you felt at home when you stayed in damai lovina.
We appreciate your recommendation especially for our spa, yoga and canang sari class.
As mentioned on our website damai is hard to find …hard to leave, therefore, this is the place that definitely hard to leave once you stay with us.
We are very much looking forward to have you back with us again soon.
best regards,
firman
resident manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel - absolutely lovely! The pool and view is incredible, the food is delicious, and the staff is wonderfully accommodating and friendly. We wish we had stayed longer!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, Owner at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Yayamimou, Merci bien pour votre avis sur notre propriété. Nous sommes heureux d'ecouter que vous avez passé du temp heureux et détente à La Damai. Il est toujours notre principal objectif que tous nos clients ont un temps exceptionnellement agréable et mémorable dans notre resort dans les collines verdoyantes du nord de Bali. Vos aimables commentaires sur nos collègues ont été très appréciés par l'ensemble de notre équipe. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir au Damai la prochaine fois. Cordialement La Diréction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Damai for 3 nights in a Deluxe Villa with outdoor shower and a small jacuzzi.

The Villa was nice, warmly furnished with dark woods and very cosy. Staff was super friendly and kind, were never missing anything.

We didn't like Lovina Beach too much (although we had a great dinner at Spice Beach!) but location of the Damai away from the trouble was just relaxing and beautiful.

We enjoyed sundowners, dinners at the pool and SPA treatments!

If there is any room for improvement I would suggest to increase attention of staff at the pool (was sometimes hard to get a drink).

Anyways, we would definitely return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Voddibull,
Thank you for staying with us at The Damai. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our boutique resort in the lush hills over Lovina so much that you decided to spend your next vacation with us again. Also thanks a lot for your feedback about the service at the swimming pool - we truly appreciate every chance for us to improve.
Please contact us directly, before you book your return to The Damai. We always have special offers available for returning guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Damai.
Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Damai looked great on the website and we were surprised to find that it was even better in person! We arrived tired after a loooooooong drive and were welcomed by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, provided us with an amazing welcome drink (non-alcoholic mojito) and walked us to our room before providing a full tour and explaination of everything we needed to know.

The room was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The low Japanese table with the sunken footwell underneath was a very nice touch. The outdoor shower was also very nice.

The gardens are very well maintained and, in addition to being good to look at, grow various herbs and vegetables for use in the kitchen.

Breakfast, lunch and (particularly) dinner far exceeded any expectations. Even the Balinese staple of Nasi Goreng was presented with a truly 'fine dining' experience.

The service in the spa was great. Very professional and effective massages. The only downside to this was the occasional motorbike speeding down the road nearby, momentarily detracting from the tranquility.

The pool was great in the day with complimentary coffee and cake bought to us. The bar was well stocked and the cocktails were expertly mixed (I'd walk back there for another couple of Honey and Ginger Mojitos).

All of the staff, from the manager to the gardeners, we're genuinely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The entire team spoke exceptional English and tended to welcome you as an old friend rather than a hotel guest.

The location is the perfect antidote to Kuta, Seminyak, etc. You won't be hounded to buy things and will never hear the shouts of "Transport", "Taxi", "Massage" and you soak up the atmosphere. You won't even have a pushy sales pitch from the driver of the Damai branded private car.

There's not really much within walking distance of the hotel but there's really no need as all the food, drink and amenities are on site (including and extensive DVD library). However, there are shuttles in to town if you did need to get out and about or go and see the dolphins (the guides in your room will suggest some great trips).

There's really nothing negative I can say about our stay at The Damai. At a push, I would just point out that the location, while stunning, is far away from pretty much everything else. But isn't that why you're on Tripadvisor looking at potential holiday venues? I wouldn't make this your first stop off the plane as it's easily 3-4 hours in a car from the airport. That said, the scenery along that drive is stunning. The only other thing would be to say that a few days of enjoying massages, amazing cocktails and gourmet food, as great as it is, still gets presented to you on a bill upon check out and the level of service offered costs a bit more than your average resort.

I would, without hesitation, book in to Damai on our next trip to Bali and would certainly recommend splashing out on a couple of nights here during your visit to Bali.

Room Tip: The standard (Garden) villa was perfect for our needs. If you have a little more cash to splash the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.