We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel - absolutely lovely! The pool and view is incredible, the food is delicious, and the staff is wonderfully accommodating and friendly. We wish we had stayed longer!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, Owner at Damai, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Yayamimou, Merci bien pour votre avis sur notre propriété. Nous sommes heureux d'ecouter que vous avez passé du temp heureux et détente à La Damai. Il est toujours notre principal objectif que tous nos clients ont un temps exceptionnellement agréable et mémorable dans notre resort dans les collines verdoyantes du nord de Bali. Vos aimables commentaires sur nos collègues ont été très appréciés par l'ensemble de notre équipe. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir au Damai la prochaine fois. Cordialement La Diréction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    56
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
340
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Damai for 3 nights in a Deluxe Villa with outdoor shower and a small jacuzzi.

The Villa was nice, warmly furnished with dark woods and very cosy. Staff was super friendly and kind, were never missing anything.

We didn't like Lovina Beach too much (although we had a great dinner at Spice Beach!) but location of the Damai away from the trouble was just relaxing and beautiful.

We enjoyed sundowners, dinners at the pool and SPA treatments!

If there is any room for improvement I would suggest to increase attention of staff at the pool (was sometimes hard to get a drink).

Anyways, we would definitely return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Voddibull,
Thank you for staying with us at The Damai. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our boutique resort in the lush hills over Lovina so much that you decided to spend your next vacation with us again. Also thanks a lot for your feedback about the service at the swimming pool - we truly appreciate every chance for us to improve.
Please contact us directly, before you book your return to The Damai. We always have special offers available for returning guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Damai.
Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Damai looked great on the website and we were surprised to find that it was even better in person! We arrived tired after a loooooooong drive and were welcomed by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, provided us with an amazing welcome drink (non-alcoholic mojito) and walked us to our room before providing a full tour and explaination of everything we needed to know.

The room was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The low Japanese table with the sunken footwell underneath was a very nice touch. The outdoor shower was also very nice.

The gardens are very well maintained and, in addition to being good to look at, grow various herbs and vegetables for use in the kitchen.

Breakfast, lunch and (particularly) dinner far exceeded any expectations. Even the Balinese staple of Nasi Goreng was presented with a truly 'fine dining' experience.

The service in the spa was great. Very professional and effective massages. The only downside to this was the occasional motorbike speeding down the road nearby, momentarily detracting from the tranquility.

The pool was great in the day with complimentary coffee and cake bought to us. The bar was well stocked and the cocktails were expertly mixed (I'd walk back there for another couple of Honey and Ginger Mojitos).

All of the staff, from the manager to the gardeners, we're genuinely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The entire team spoke exceptional English and tended to welcome you as an old friend rather than a hotel guest.

The location is the perfect antidote to Kuta, Seminyak, etc. You won't be hounded to buy things and will never hear the shouts of "Transport", "Taxi", "Massage" and you soak up the atmosphere. You won't even have a pushy sales pitch from the driver of the Damai branded private car.

There's not really much within walking distance of the hotel but there's really no need as all the food, drink and amenities are on site (including and extensive DVD library). However, there are shuttles in to town if you did need to get out and about or go and see the dolphins (the guides in your room will suggest some great trips).

There's really nothing negative I can say about our stay at The Damai. At a push, I would just point out that the location, while stunning, is far away from pretty much everything else. But isn't that why you're on Tripadvisor looking at potential holiday venues? I wouldn't make this your first stop off the plane as it's easily 3-4 hours in a car from the airport. That said, the scenery along that drive is stunning. The only other thing would be to say that a few days of enjoying massages, amazing cocktails and gourmet food, as great as it is, still gets presented to you on a bill upon check out and the level of service offered costs a bit more than your average resort.

I would, without hesitation, book in to Damai on our next trip to Bali and would certainly recommend splashing out on a couple of nights here during your visit to Bali.

Room Tip: The standard (Garden) villa was perfect for our needs. If you have a little more cash to splash the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed at Damai 5 times before, but something really has happened since my last stay two years ago. First and for most the kitchen, the food and the breakfast has always been a bliss at Damai. But the new menus, come on Mozaic and Four Seasons Sayan, that have been my favourite restaurants, they are far behind the innovative and ultra delicious dishes.
We had the snail soup, which has to be one of the nicest soups I ever had, rich and creamy with lots of Bali spices, better than at Los Carcoles in Barcelona. Then a great mini-version of Babi Guling, a neat little piece of pork belly with a delicious light peanut sauce and a beautiful fresh mango dessert. Reinventing traditional food in a spectacular manner. The staff acts like it was only a week ago since your last visit, how are you Pak Torsten, your son and daughter ok home in Denmark. I can not wait to go back. Only 3 nights was far to short a visit.

Room Tip: Despite the new Pool Villa is more private and luxurious, i kind og love the old villas. I feel so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A bit sad that we only are able to give this place 5 stars - Never tried anything like this, and we will back again and again... After beeing here we will never go anywere else.... Everything was perfect, service in top, and the food was fantastic - all of the staff were incredible happy, and make all guest fell at home. We have nothing negative to say about this place - Heaven on Earth for sure....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a delightful boutique hotel, situated above the beaches of Lovina in North Bali. We stayed in a Deluxe Villa, which was very light, tastefully decorated and with an outside shower. (Totally private.) Our villa had a view down to the sea, as it was one of the two lower situated villas. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is a main feature. We didn't try the spa, but took two excursions. One to Munduk area, where we sampled the famous lewak coffee, visited a Buddhist temple, clambered down to a spectacular waterfall and also visited and swam in the hot mineral spring. This trip was a good half day and was very good value. We also took a trip to the old capital, and looked round the old palace, which is being restored, and visited the library there where there is a famous collection of palm leaf manuscripts. We also went to the Chinese temple at the old harbour. This trip was less interesting, and there wasn't really that much to see. You can go to see dolphins from Lovina Beach, but have to leave at 6 am, so we didn't bother. The hotel runs a shuttle to Lovina beach, where you can get a cheap beer and great seafood, but the shuttle isn't very frequent. The idea of Damai is to stay in the peaceful bubble of calm and it isn't a place to go if you want to be hanging out in the fun of the beach. The food is lovely and the service very good. It is expensive, but it is a very special place and a highlight of our Bali trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We had the lowest villa, which also meant no one was walking past us. The priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Hilary,
Thank you for all your nice words, it is really an encouragement to all of us at the resort. We hope to welcoming you back again to damai lovina, and try our spa to get yourself pampered while you are staying with us next time.
Warm regards from Damai Lovina Bali…

Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooge Zwaluwe
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very good small resort, great view, stayed here for a couple of nights. We had a nice decorated en clean room (without pool) but we found them a bit small. Really good food. Downside was the times of the free hotel shuttle, the last one already goes in the end of the afternoon, they should also have this service later in the evening. It is possible but you have to pay for it. For this high priced resort it should be free service!! We stayed in different hotels at Bali so if i may compare, Damai is really expensive en not better than the other ressorts that we have been to. For example Komaneka at Tangayuda or Komaneka Bisma in Ubud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
dear icrazydees1983,
Thank you for you feedback. We believe that Damai offers a unique experience at a unique location. We do our best to provide outstanding value for our clients and our team members are ready to “go the extra mile”. Unfortunately it seems that we did not communicate to you that our shuttle service to Lovina is available until late evening, even at individual timings if requested. We are hoping for a second chance to make you completely satisfied and welcome you back to Bali and the Damai.
best regards,
firman
resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.