We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Save Saved
You added Damai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Damai Bliss-save 30%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lovina Beach
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Damai looked great on the website and we were surprised to find that it was even better in person! We arrived tired after a loooooooong drive and were welcomed by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, provided us with an amazing welcome drink (non-alcoholic mojito) and walked us to our room before providing a full tour and explaination of everything we needed to know.

The room was exceptionally clean and well laid out. The low Japanese table with the sunken footwell underneath was a very nice touch. The outdoor shower was also very nice.

The gardens are very well maintained and, in addition to being good to look at, grow various herbs and vegetables for use in the kitchen.

Breakfast, lunch and (particularly) dinner far exceeded any expectations. Even the Balinese staple of Nasi Goreng was presented with a truly 'fine dining' experience.

The service in the spa was great. Very professional and effective massages. The only downside to this was the occasional motorbike speeding down the road nearby, momentarily detracting from the tranquility.

The pool was great in the day with complimentary coffee and cake bought to us. The bar was well stocked and the cocktails were expertly mixed (I'd walk back there for another couple of Honey and Ginger Mojitos).

All of the staff, from the manager to the gardeners, we're genuinely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The entire team spoke exceptional English and tended to welcome you as an old friend rather than a hotel guest.

The location is the perfect antidote to Kuta, Seminyak, etc. You won't be hounded to buy things and will never hear the shouts of "Transport", "Taxi", "Massage" and you soak up the atmosphere. You won't even have a pushy sales pitch from the driver of the Damai branded private car.

There's not really much within walking distance of the hotel but there's really no need as all the food, drink and amenities are on site (including and extensive DVD library). However, there are shuttles in to town if you did need to get out and about or go and see the dolphins (the guides in your room will suggest some great trips).

There's really nothing negative I can say about our stay at The Damai. At a push, I would just point out that the location, while stunning, is far away from pretty much everything else. But isn't that why you're on Tripadvisor looking at potential holiday venues? I wouldn't make this your first stop off the plane as it's easily 3-4 hours in a car from the airport. That said, the scenery along that drive is stunning. The only other thing would be to say that a few days of enjoying massages, amazing cocktails and gourmet food, as great as it is, still gets presented to you on a bill upon check out and the level of service offered costs a bit more than your average resort.

I would, without hesitation, book in to Damai on our next trip to Bali and would certainly recommend splashing out on a couple of nights here during your visit to Bali.

Room Tip: The standard (Garden) villa was perfect for our needs. If you have a little more cash to splash the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
292
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed at Damai 5 times before, but something really has happened since my last stay two years ago. First and for most the kitchen, the food and the breakfast has always been a bliss at Damai. But the new menus, come on Mozaic and Four Seasons Sayan, that have been my favourite restaurants, they are far behind the innovative and ultra delicious dishes.
We had the snail soup, which has to be one of the nicest soups I ever had, rich and creamy with lots of Bali spices, better than at Los Carcoles in Barcelona. Then a great mini-version of Babi Guling, a neat little piece of pork belly with a delicious light peanut sauce and a beautiful fresh mango dessert. Reinventing traditional food in a spectacular manner. The staff acts like it was only a week ago since your last visit, how are you Pak Torsten, your son and daughter ok home in Denmark. I can not wait to go back. Only 3 nights was far to short a visit.

Room Tip: Despite the new Pool Villa is more private and luxurious, i kind og love the old villas. I feel so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

A bit sad that we only are able to give this place 5 stars - Never tried anything like this, and we will back again and again... After beeing here we will never go anywere else.... Everything was perfect, service in top, and the food was fantastic - all of the staff were incredible happy, and make all guest fell at home. We have nothing negative to say about this place - Heaven on Earth for sure....

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a delightful boutique hotel, situated above the beaches of Lovina in North Bali. We stayed in a Deluxe Villa, which was very light, tastefully decorated and with an outside shower. (Totally private.) Our villa had a view down to the sea, as it was one of the two lower situated villas. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is a main feature. We didn't try the spa, but took two excursions. One to Munduk area, where we sampled the famous lewak coffee, visited a Buddhist temple, clambered down to a spectacular waterfall and also visited and swam in the hot mineral spring. This trip was a good half day and was very good value. We also took a trip to the old capital, and looked round the old palace, which is being restored, and visited the library there where there is a famous collection of palm leaf manuscripts. We also went to the Chinese temple at the old harbour. This trip was less interesting, and there wasn't really that much to see. You can go to see dolphins from Lovina Beach, but have to leave at 6 am, so we didn't bother. The hotel runs a shuttle to Lovina beach, where you can get a cheap beer and great seafood, but the shuttle isn't very frequent. The idea of Damai is to stay in the peaceful bubble of calm and it isn't a place to go if you want to be hanging out in the fun of the beach. The food is lovely and the service very good. It is expensive, but it is a very special place and a highlight of our Bali trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We had the lowest villa, which also meant no one was walking past us. The priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Hilary,
Thank you for all your nice words, it is really an encouragement to all of us at the resort. We hope to welcoming you back again to damai lovina, and try our spa to get yourself pampered while you are staying with us next time.
Warm regards from Damai Lovina Bali…

Best Regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooge Zwaluwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very good small resort, great view, stayed here for a couple of nights. We had a nice decorated en clean room (without pool) but we found them a bit small. Really good food. Downside was the times of the free hotel shuttle, the last one already goes in the end of the afternoon, they should also have this service later in the evening. It is possible but you have to pay for it. For this high priced resort it should be free service!! We stayed in different hotels at Bali so if i may compare, Damai is really expensive en not better than the other ressorts that we have been to. For example Komaneka at Tangayuda or Komaneka Bisma in Ubud.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
dear icrazydees1983,
Thank you for you feedback. We believe that Damai offers a unique experience at a unique location. We do our best to provide outstanding value for our clients and our team members are ready to “go the extra mile”. Unfortunately it seems that we did not communicate to you that our shuttle service to Lovina is available until late evening, even at individual timings if requested. We are hoping for a second chance to make you completely satisfied and welcome you back to Bali and the Damai.
best regards,
firman
resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hooge zwaluwe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Although the price/quality is a bit wrong , the hotel is good and the people working there do want to go the extra mile for you (prepare a breakfast box when you leave early for example). The negative thing I had was the lack of good shuttle on an appropriate time.

All in all I would advise to stay at the Damai because it is good

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Jasperdd,
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that hear that you were happy with the service you received from our team members.
Unfortunately it seems that we did not communicate to you that our shuttle service to Lovina is available until late evening, even at individual timings if requested. Please accept our apologies, and we hope to see you back in Bali at the Damai.
Best regards,
Firman
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe villa. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. Beautiful hotel grounds, well-appointed villas, great attention to detail. For example, we very briefly mentioned my girlfriend's sunburn during checkin - 5 minutes later, an employee from the spa came by with soothing aloe vera gel from their garden. Complementary fruit bowls every day, excellent and plentiful breakfast served in the villa (we had the American breakfast both days). There seemed to be few guests at the resort during our stay which made for an even more quiet and relaxing experience. Only concern is the price tag for food, drinks etc which is approaching that of midrange European hotels. Still, all things considered, and with a perceived staff-to-guest ratio of 3:1, it felt very reasonable. We will definitely visit Damai again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.