We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to review...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR GALA PACKAGE
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Difficult to review...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a difficult review because we had highs and lows at the Damai. I made a booking by email, asking for an appropriate room for myself and my mother and was sent a quote for a spa package which I paid in full, assuming that they had booked us into a twin room. On arrival, we were shown to a room with a double bed. I pointed out the error and asked for it to be rectified. The initial response from the hotel to my complaint was not good - the only solution offered was for me to pay a 'discounted' rate of $750 for another room, or accept a single bed to be put up in the existing room. I note that the resort was perhaps half full at this point, with lots of empty rooms.
After I'd spent an uncomfortable night in the temporary bed, the new client manager spoke to us and suddenly, a wonderful new solution was offered - he arranged for me to have a separate room at no extra cost. He was excellent - very kind and considerate - and the visit was lovely from that point on. The spa was wonderful and the breakfasts lovely. Our only other issue was the dinners - very heavy, rich food that wasn't to our taste at all but seemed to be favoured by the other diners so probably just personal preference!
Overall, this is a lovely place that was slightly marred for us by a negative initial experience with our booking. It was rescued by amazing spa staff and a very good client manager.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMDamai, Resident Manager at Damai, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Surfinglass,
Thank you very much for your review, and we value your inputs just as much as your
praise. We apologize for for the misunderstanding regarding your booking, but glad
that it quickly was resolved so you could enjoy the rest of your stay - and thank
you for all your nice words regarding our resort and service. We are probably more
sorry than you are that you did not enjoy the dinner service as much as the rest of
guests. We are quite aware that the tastes of our guests differ, which is why the
dishes of our evening menu range from Asian to Western and also from the very light
to the very rich. Should that not suffice we will simply cook what you prefer,
provided we can find it fresh in the market. Our waiter should have been more
observant and advised you in your choices. I hope we will be able to make it up to
you at a later date, and hopefully make your task as reviewer much easier.
Thank you,
Firman,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    54
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
322
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The grounds are fantastic -- the pool is wonderful and the restaurant area is lovely. Much of the food for the restaurant is produced on the grounds. The staff is very helpful. the entire atmosphere is very warm and welcoming.
The pool villas are unbelievable (see my photos). The staff was kind enough to show me around -- and the villas are indeed impressive.
this place is located in a remote part of north Bali -- and you have to take transportation to get to Lovina. Depending upon your interests, this may be a positive or a negative. You will hear Hindu ceremonies taking place in the little villages in the area.
I believe this hotel is overpriced for the area in which it is located -- but would likely cost more in the south.
I stayed in the smallest/cheapest room and felt that privacy was an issue. These rooms are small and do not have reasonable curtains nor are they removed enough from the general walkway areas.
They also have some staffing issues that I complained to management about. I felt that my complaints did not fall on deaf ears.... but I still wouldn't rush back there as a single western female traveler.
Overall, not world class. I would recommend to friends.... but only the pool villas.

Room Tip: Take a pool villa or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, Resident Manager at Damai, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Ms nnsanci.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We are glad and proud for your nice words about the things you enjoyed at our property, and value your input where you think we can improve.
We are of course sad to hear that you felt the surroundings of your specific villa was lacking in privacy, and have discussed this with our gardening department. We would like to create some of the privacy around the villas with foliage and tropical growths and flowers, and your
villa might have been the victim of over-pruning.
I of course also remain very grateful for bringing the issue up during your stay, and would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We sincerely apologize for this, and hope we will be able to make it up to you at a future date.
Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I could be in further assistance.
My Best,
Firman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The resort was exactly as described, stunning setting & extremely peaceful. The staff were delightful from the moment we arrived & were greeted by Eka, the butler, right through to the moment we left - they couldn't do enough for us, without being oppressive, were always very friendly yet professional.

We stayed in a delux villa which was perfect for the 2 of us; the outdoor shower & jacuzzi added a funky twist, with great toiletries along with kimonos, sarongs & slippers provided.

Breakfast was included in our rate & this was just what we needed to set us up for the day; fantastic selection of fresh fruit, prepared in front of us, fresh pastries & bread as well as sausage, bacon, eggs etc. If required (they also offered oriental options as well, but not something that we tried).

We also ate dinner in the restaurant 2 nights & had room service the other night as we'd had a long day out. The food was amazing in all cases - I could eat the tuna tataki for breakfast, lunch & dinner - it was so delicate, perfectly matched with a wasabi mayo & avocado salsa. Ingredients were sourced locally & expertly prepared.

We had a slight drama on our last day when our driver got stuck in traffic on his way to collect us (nothing to do with the hotel), but they were amazingly helpful, allowing us to use the pool & spa while we waited the 3 hours it took hm to get through, relaying messages from our driver as to his progress & even sourcing an alternative driver in case ours couldn't get through in time to get us to the airport.

I would highly recommend the Damai as a peaceful, relaxing haven in the most stunning grounds - a perfect place to recharge batteries in luxurious surroundings.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 5 nights here with our 1 yr old son. Beautiful setting. Excellent service and definitely the best food we've had in Bali. Very peaceful. Had some great massages at the spa.
Car journey from the south is long and quite windy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for this review. We are glad you liked the food and spa treatments. I must agree that sometimes the journey up North can be a challenge for those that are prone for motion sickness. We do recommend guests to take motion sickness tablet 40 minutes before the journey to make the drive more comfortable and enjoy the scenic hotspots along the way.
Best Regards from the staff and management at The Damai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I travelled to the Damai from the US for our honeymoon. We saw great reviews and I am so glad that we stumbled across this hidden gem! Some friends who had been to Indonesia we're surprised that we weren't staying in the south, but we made the perfect choice for us.

When we arrived, the driver offered to stop at sites along the way to the hotel, but we were so anxious to get there after our flights that we went straight to the Damai. Service was excellent from the moment that we arrived. The resort is so small that everyone knows you and is able to help make your stay fantastic.

We loved the breakfasts every morning, especially the delicious variety of fresh fruits. Most days we planned an outing for the morning and came back to relax and swim in the afternoon. An absolute favorite trip was to the Sekumpul waterfalls. We trekked to the waterfall and back with a village guide. The views were breathtaking. This is an absolute must! All of the Damai organized trips were off the beaten path, so we felt like it was just us, and often it was! Another amazing excursion was trekking through the jungle and canoeing across a lake. (The activity list recommends shorts and sneakers, but really wished that we were in long pants and long sleeves like our guide.) The only disappointing excursion was the dolphin trip at Lovina beach. We didn't know until afterward that the dolphins don't come out if it rains the night before. Definitely something to keep in mind if you go during the rainy season like we did. Other than that, the quick showers didn't bother us at all.


We took advantage of the amazing spa services with two different massages each, as well as the free yoga. The scenery is beautiful and the massages were amazing! My husband is still trying to replicate the tea that they gave us after our spa sessions!

The resort itself is beautiful, from the gardens to the walkways to the rooms. Our room had an infinity pool, which we used every day. The tub and outdoor shower were also incredible. The only thing to look out for is keeping your lights on at night, as this will attract bugs inside. Most nights this wasn't a problem, but combined with rain outside, they really wanted somewhere to go. Luckily a call to the front desk resolved this fairly quickly and two staff members came to assist us. Neither of us are fond of bugs at all, but even for us this wasn't a big problem.

On our final day, the driver took us to a few stops before the airport. We enjoyed doing a little shopping in Ubud, but we're very glad that we hadn't stayed there. At the Damai we were secluded and needed their car to get around, but that was better for us than facing the crowds every day.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unah Naga. It was very large, with a beautiful outdoor shower, huge tub, and an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are just back from a three perfect days in this great little hideaway. The rooms are perfectly laid out - we had a huge pool villa all to ourselves - with luxurious amounts of space and great personal touches, antiques and art. The restaurant is every bit as good as all the reviewers say - fresh, homegrown produce in inventive combinations with lots of flavor. They even have their own little farm where they breed rabbits, pigeons, ducks… and snails and crayfish! We cant wait to be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Damai for 3 nights. It is a really lovely hotel set in the hills overlooking Lovina. Our villa had a great outdoor courtyard with a jacuzzi and day bed. Very peaceful. All of the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us (we arrived with upset stomachs and the General Manager, Mr Menon, was so helpful, sending out staff to get us more medication). Overall this hotel has a lovely, warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.