We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What can you say about the Damai... There are no words to describe it. We went there for our honeymoon and we don't think we could have made a better choice.

It is a hidden paradise. It is in the nicest part of the island (though a bit far from the airport so I would suggest at least a 4 night stay but to be honest maybe a 14 night stay would be much better) away from allthe noise and traffic of the south part of the island.

The hotel itself is amazing. We stayed at the pool villa which I definitely recommend. Very clean rooms (it was cleaned twice a day) with very stylish furniture and decoration. I loved the fact that the pool water was ionised and chemical were not used at all. The view from our pool was absolutely stunning. Tropical gardens and the see at the background.

The restaurant and the spa also met our high expectations. The staff is probably the friendliest that we have met in a hotel all around the globe. Thanks everyone for eveything

Damai. Hard to find but harder to leave

P.S. Special thanks to the GM and Astika and all the stuff who made our stay there so memorable

Room Tip: Try to stay at the pool villas. Definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Dion
Thank you very much for this review. Astika was also thrilled to read this review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and we look forward to see you in the near future.
Best wishes from all the staff and management.
Menon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    56
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
343
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In every way this hotel is better than anywhere else I have stayed. It deserves more than five out of five on all counts. The setting is magnificent. The gardens, pool, restaurant and rooms are all perfect in every way. We stayed in a deluxe villa which I believe is the most basic. There is nothing basic about it. Beautiful! The shower in the garden was gorgeous.
The food was amazing. Homemade and fresh everything!
The drinks were equally brilliant- thank you Astika. Cranberry mojitos are my new favourite drink.
Above all the staff were exceptional! All of them. Friendly and helpful of course-but also confident and extremely competent in their jobs. There was never a "I'll just get someone to help you" because everyone knew what to do.
Can't recommend this place highly enough. I was very sad to leave.

Room Tip: I don't think they have bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Nicki
You are simply too kind to us. We love to have you return to Damai again in the near future. Astika was thrilled to read this review and this comments were also shared with al the staff from the kitchen to the gardener.
On behalf of the staff and management of Damai, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We (a family of 4) stayed at The Damai early July 2013 and it truely is
a unique experience. The Damai is located on a mountain slope in the
Mid Northen part of Bali near the city of Lovina.

It took us a 4 hour drive by a prearranged chauffeur from the airport in
Denpasar and my suggestion would be to take the trip in daylight. Not only
to see the beautiful surroundings but also to avoid driving in the darkness
and possibly rain via a narrow and very heavily trafficed road. Quite a
nerverecking experience from the front (passengers) seat.

Finally we got there and if your driver does now know the exact location
just ask him to turn immediatly left after the traffic light (the only one in
Lovina). Damai is located 4 km up a small mountain road and we were welcomed
by the professional and very friendly staff.

We had rented a two bedroom deluxe villa with a spectacular view from the main
private swimming pool (yes there were two private swimming pools at the villa)
over the jungle to the ocean. The villa was named Uhma Naga.

The villa is huge with a small and a large (15x4m) swimming pool and two outside
bales where you can enjoy spending time and relax. It is nicely appointed with
original Bali masks and artifacts. It has 2 outside showers and two nice
and comfortable beds. The A/C is a bit noisy but we actually turned it off
completey and still enjoyed a nice sleep.

The breakfast is served in the restaurant with only 6 tables. The staff will
ask what you prefer and we got freshly cut fruit, freshly baked pastry, and freshly
made eggs every morning. The staff is very fluent in English and will cater to
your every need and wish.

We also had lunch and (every night of our stay) dinner - if possible for the weather
outside by the pool. I find the menu and wine selection to be a bit limited for
a longer stay, but for a couple of nights it works out well. The food is delicious
and well presented.

We also enjoyed the SPA and got a time the next day after arrival. You can fully
enjoy your massage (there is a huge selection to chose from) in a outside pavilion.
Again the SPA staff is super professional, charming and sipping the ginger the
from the pavilion after a massage just perfetcs the experience.

Of other things worth mentioning the Damai is set in lush tropical grounds so there
are lots to look at and enjoy as the sight of orchids and banana palm is different
from home. The hotel even has their own herbal garden which delivers fresh products
to the kitchen and bar. And on the topic of the bar the bartender will mix you nearly
any drink you like. It does take quite a long time but the drinks were perfect.

We took the Munduk tour to the waterfall (nice but like many other water falls).
We also got a tour of the show coffe farm to see nelliks, vanilla, ginger, cinnemon
and lots of other well known stuff growing free here. Really fun. We also tasted the
famous Luwak coffee. Also quite fun. And during our entire stay of both the Munduk
tour and at the hotel, fresh bottle water were supplied free of charge.

All in all we really enjoyed our 4 nights at the Damai and would highy recommend
a short stay at this well run, fairly moscito free and beautifull small hotel.

Room Tip: There are a couple of things that you should know about the Damai, that we have already told the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Definitely will come back. Yes, it does cost quite a bit, especially for us Indonesian. But I'd say, it's worth it!!! Love the ambiance, the villa's, the food and most certainly the hospitality. it's a great place to rest and relax with great view and cool breeze amidst the warm sun of July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Regina
Thank you for this kind review and our staff will be more than happy to welcome you back to Damai..hard to find..hard to leave.
Best Regards
M.G.Menon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at The Damai. A stunning hotel, The Damai has 14 villas, varying in size from the intimate to the palatial, each set in a lush tropical garden and decorated with stylish furniture, fabrics and artefacts from Bali. The Damai is owned by a Danish hotelier who is, I am sure, behind the hotel's elegantly refined design.

Ours was a deluxe villa, with a small veranda surrounded by a fragrant herb garden. The rooms had fine hardwood furniture and local antiques, creating a simple, elegant tropical style but also including all mod cons such as TV, DVD and Wi-Fi. The large open air bathroom had a stone jacuzzi filled with water from a local stream, and an outside shower in a private walled garden brimming with lush greenery.

The grounds were extensive, and tastefully lit in the evenings. There were several different gardens and a spa, as well as water tanks to keep live crayfish. Near the reception area and bar, the swimming pool overlooked the hillside leading down to the beach far below.

We also had a look at the magnificent Umah Raja Villa, the estate's largest at 310 sq metres, with a master bedroom and 2 junior bedrooms, all connecting to their own en suite bathroom. The living room with dining area was luxuriously decorated with antiques from Bali, Java and other parts of Indonesia, as well as having fine locally crafted furniture. Outside, there was a large veranda, balcony, covered pavilion and two private swimming pools.

The hotel is set into a hillside overlooking Lovina, and it is approximately a two mile journey to the beach area with its bars and restaurants. This was not a problem for us as we had a hire car, but otherwise any trip into town would require a taxi (not a big expense in Bali, where most short trips cost £1).

We enjoyed the tranquillity and beauty of the hotel's grounds, and mainly lounged around by the large swimming pool, reading, enjoying a few cocktails at the bar and relaxing. The Damai is one of the most elegant hotels we experienced in Bali, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Lovina.

The award-winning restaurant at The Damai is said to be Lovina's best restaurant, and indeed one of the best in Bali. It serves organic vegetables and meats from its own small farm, together with a fresh catch from the sea and imported delicacies.

Breakfast was very good, with Indonesian, Continental, American and Japanese options. We sampled all four during our two days, and all were very good although the American was the weakest, Japanese (mahi-mahi smoked in green tea and smoked, miso soup, omelette roll, fish cake and steamed rice ) and Indonesian (nasi goreng or mie goreng and tropical fruits) the best. There was a chef who would prepare and cut whichever tropical fruit guests selected and present them very temptingly - dragon fruit, star fruit, snake fruit and guava among others.

We also had dinner at The Damai one evening. There are several set and à la carte menus, but we opted for the 3 course Balinese set menu (£25 per person) which was excellent. This started with Sate Burung Dara - sweet basil marinated pigeon grilled on a lemongrass stick, with young fern tips and long bean salad, and fresh lime.

We then slipped in a dish from the à la carte menu - young jackfruit steak, peppered and pan-fried, served with roast beetroot, red wine braised shallots, and pommes allumette (£10).

The main course was Kare Be Siap - a fragrant coconut curry with chicken, oriental squash and pak choy served with organic Balinese rice and fried garlic.

Dessert was a spectacular Dadar Gulung - thin pancakes rolled around coconut and palm sugar, coconut ice cream, vanilla tuille, snake fruit salad and lemon grass syrup.

For the full review and images, visit - www.thelondonfoodie.co.uk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Damai and posting this review. Thank you for also posting on www.londonfoodie.co.uk. The owner of Damai personally asked me to thank you as Culinary in Damai is an area close to his heart and it made him proud to read this review.
Best Regards
Owner, staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Damai with my partner on a trip to Bali last year. we had wanted to go to the Damai as it seemed to be the best property on the north coast of Bali as rated by tripadvisor. I left it a little late and tried to get into one of the standard rooms as it was all our budget could afford, unfortunately all standard rooms were gone so I contacted management and asked if they could fit us in anywhere. They replied that they had a standard room for us, so we trekked from the North to the South of Bali, finally arriving at the beautiful Damai villas perched on the hillside over the beautiful Damai bay.
Once arriving at the property we were immediately made to feel welcome by the staff and the management and were delighted to hear that we had been upgraded to their best room the Raja Suite. We were driven through the lush gardens across a quaint bridge in a hotel buggy, up the hillside to arrive at the top and to the amazing Raja villa.
My partner and I have stayed at some nice villas in our time but this villa had them all beat hands down. The villa was huge, had three bedrooms all extremely well set out, two living areas decked out in beautiful antique furniture and local art and an amazing infinity pool with views of the coastline that can only be described as breathtaking. The master bedroom was our last stop on the tour by our friendly butler and they had really saved the best to last, the four poster bed dubbed 'the flintstones bed' by the staff there has to be seen to be believed. It was made out of four upright beams each the size of a tree trunk with a very comfortable mattress. It was a bed fit for a king which was quite relevant as our butler told us that the King of Denmark had stayed in the room a month before us.
We definitely were treated like royalty by the staff at the resort, the food was amazing whether eaten at the restaurant or eaten in room. The spa was lovely and the massages were excellent. The villa was honestly one of the best places that not only have I stayed in, but that I have seen.
I apologize to the management that it has taken me a year to write this review, but i promised that i would review the Damai and finally i have.
If you are going to the north side of Bali, then stay here, you will not regret it. We would not have been disappointed in any of their rooms but if you want some opulent luxury and an afford it then pay the extra to stay in the Raja suite as it is a truly amazing experience. If i could have given it 10 stars i would have.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go the Raja villa, truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsNBali, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. No review is too late.All reviews provide readers more information about North Bali. I have taken liberty to share this review with the chef and also spa manager and they simply told me "Pak after one year...they still remember Damai" this makes them really proud.
On behalf of the staff and management team at Damai " Suksma" ..in Balinese language it means "Thank You from the heart."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Well-worth the drive up North if you don't mind some quiet time away from the hustling crowds which we were very much in need of. The hotel has been around for many years now but they do a good job at maintaining the villas. Our villa was incredibly spacious, with a gorgeous view of the ocean from the Pool. Breakfast and dinner was good - we loved the fruity home-made jams :)

The gardens and grounds are well-maintained. The staff were superb. Highly recommended if you are looking to go off the beaten tourist track in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and certainly share this with the chef and all staff at Damai. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and you very much appreciate North Bali and its serenity. Thank you for sharing this with trip advisor readers.
Best Regards from all the staff and management at Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.