We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillside Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Damai Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Damai Villas to your Saves list
The Damai Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hillside Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having just stayed at The Chedi Club when we arrived at The Damai, I must admit our expectations were very high and I'm delighted to say this resort exceeded them. We were originally booked into a deluxe villa, but the staff were able to accommodate my request to upgrade to a pool studio the day before we arrived, for a reasonable price of $125 per night. This was so worth it! We stayed in Umah Ratu which is on the hillside with a stunning infinity pool and views over the jungle and water - in fact, if you see the little Damai icon next to the hotel name above, it was this room! The outdoor area has an oversized bale with plug points, two decent loungers and a small garden area - it was perfection. Inside the standard was just as high and the designers cleverly blended contemporary, luxury furnishings with authentic Balinese touches. The bed and tv are huge, minibar is well stocked, the freestanding bath is gorgeous and the outdoor shower is surrounded by frangipani flowers. Showering outside under the moon, with the occasional nosy lizard for company is a wonderful thing! The resort itself is in harmony with the surroundings and quite hilly as a result, but golf buggies are always on hand if you are less mobile. We didn't need to use the main pool but it's a good size, and the cocktails made by Astika are fantastic - try his 'rojito' with dark rum and Balinese spices! The in-villa dining menu is a good size with plenty of western fusion and local choices, but I recommend eating at the restaurant. Our dinner of foie gras, mahi mahi and chocolate mousse is among the best I have had anywhere, which is not an accolade I give lightly! It was simply stunning. The hotel is only ten minutes by car from Lovina and the hotel offers shuttles. We didn't explore the area much but of course we did the dolphin and snorkelling tour and were fortunate to come across a pod of thirty dolphins - one of the most moving experiences of my life. Ask for Chandra on the beach and he'll give you a good price, plus he is lovely! Finally, a huge thanks to The Damai staff, all of whom were warm, friendly and couldn't do enough to make the stay perfect, and our special thanks to Eka, Evy, Budiasiah and Astika for their personal, professional and kind company during our stay. The Damai won an award as the best small hotel in Indonesia - it absolutely deserves it!

Room Tip: Pool studios and villa are worth the extra - ask for Umah Ratu and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    57
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
93
362
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Damai was our honeymoon treat and we LOVED it. WIth a lovely atmosphere, a feeling of real luxury and the calm breeze of the hills above Lovina we couldn't have wished for anywhere more magical to spend our time. We enjoyed watching the sun go down in a beautiful lantern lit garden, the ice cold beers in the hot sun, the beautiful trip to Munduk, the friendly staff, the delicious food (yummy bread) and the best massage in Bali (we had many). I will long remember the breeze in the spa and those beautiful flowers in water - your attention to detail is what makes the place so special. Thank you Eka for looking after us so well and to you all for making our visit so memorable. Nearly forgot about the shower - it is awesome. I could write an essay on how great Damai is...if you stay one place in Bali, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for a few nights at the Damai last week, largely as a result of research on Trip Advisor.
It lived up to expectations. It's not a 5 star in the classic sense but one of those beautiful, personal, 4 stars that makes you want to stay longer.
It's in the rainforest, perched atop a hill overlooking the sea. The grounds are amazing and there appear to be a dozen or gardeners for the 13 villas. Most of the gardens are herbs, fruits, or some other organic food which you end up eating in the restaurant. They cut the grass by hand rather than disturb the guests with lawn mowers.
The massages were first class (about $45+tax) and the food in the restaurant was classic Balinese and western fusion and was as fresh and good as you will find anywhere.
I would say they have the friendliest staff we have seen in Bali--everyone seemed to know our names from the outset and nothing was every too much trouble for the staff, including pick ups and drop offs to town, mailings, anything we asked for. The staff were all charming, especially Prima and Eka on the front desk and Dedek and the GM who was very available and accommodating. It is impossible to come up with even a helpful criticism for the Dami.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near reception if you have problems walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is costly. The location is in hilly area. the small car takes us from the hotel lobby to the room. The staffs are nice. they smile all the time. the staff will never say no for anything. the restaurant is nice. the sea view between the mountain is good. the sun set is excellent.. It was like staying with family members.. it was just a family. It is heard to leave the hotel. it was a home away from home..

Room Tip: There are 5 pool villas.. the Villa to the corner with name "raja" as one of the part is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at The Damai Villas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ankit
Thank you for this kind words and especially home away from home and feel like family. It is something the Damai staff truly appreciate. We wish you a very happy married life and some day visit us again with your family.
Best Regards
Menon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I and my family of 2 kids stayed at this spectacular place for 2 nights at the Family Villa which feature 2 bedroom pool villa named Umah Tirta. a Very classy resort with hight taste of artwork displayed everywhere both outdoor and indoor side from the mai entrance, garden, pathway and ofcourse for inside the villa itself. The tropical landscapes are trully exotic melted with the downhill forest facing to the ocean. the size of villa very spacious including the daybed 'gazebo' close the swimming pool feels like on the tree top actually. The breakfast is excellent, even when we asked for the room service it was very complete and on time. in evening time, they lit the fire at the pool side where we could gather with other guests also and chat making a friend while enjoy a glass a cocktail. Oka of Operations Manager is very kind and so helpful for every guests, he also very knowledgable to explain us about Bali and the culture of the village. has no hesitate to recommend this resort for those looking for place to experience a nature of Bali with luxury amenities and facilities in north of Bali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If your looking for a Mountain hidaway with all the trimmings, sea views, own pool, completley private but with all the services you require including inhouse restaurant (EXCELLENT FOOD)
friendly and compedent staff in Bali then this is the place to stay. Away from all the over crowded tourist spots just peace and quiet in tranquil surroundings. Although a 3 hour drive from the airport this is forgotten within 15 minuites of arrival. Even though its secluded you can still book tours etc and visit the local surroundings the staff will take care of all of that for you. Would recommend staying here and we will definitely come back again

Room Tip: Pool Villa has to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

With the view to the sea, our own pool in the front and privacy to do any activity you want; add silence, excellent food, good service and a wonderfull SPA, you have a stay you can't farget. This is not a place for family with kids, to find friends, drink beer and party through the night. We were on honeymoon, and we had all we wanted: no more, no less.
The 3 hours drive from Denpasar airport get you to have a quick knowledge of Bali; people, living, housing, traffic, road standard and shops in abundance. A friendly driver from compensated for a silent and less friendly return. Forget the delfin tour by boat, or to visit the the beach in town, the local bar or the surrounding. Damai has everything the silent heart wants for a couple in love, and enjoy it all for what it is worth.

Room Tip: Our room with the view to the sea through a green vally of all kinds of trees can't bee better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
35.6 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
26.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
26.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 147 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
2.1 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#3 of 19 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai Villas

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Damai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Villas Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Damai Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.