We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Save Saved
You added Damai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Lejre
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have just been at my first visit to Bali and had chosen to stay 10 days at Hotel Damai, in North of Bali, because I needed to really relax after some hard times at work i Denmark.
- And what a vacation! - the service from the fantastic staff, the wonderfull garden and hotel,
the superb food , - it is all in all outstanding ! - I have never been at a hotel like this.
- I will surely come back, because it is (in danish) "stærkt vanedannende" !

Karin F

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    51
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
310
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminyak, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I first came to the Damai as a part of my first trip to wonderful Bali in 2004. Back then I was delighted with my stay but had very little to compare with. Now, after having visited countless places on the island, I'm back for Easter and the place remains on the top of it's game. The location is superb, if a bit far away from the airport. But being placed up on the hills above Lovina, a mild, cooling breeze makes for a near-perfect climate.
The staff, many which have been with the resort since the opening, are some of the friendliest and expert staff you'll find anywhere around the world. The food is fabulous and a big personal interest of the owner. And like one would expect of a hotel of this caliber, the attention to detail makes the Damai the perfect destination for people that like to kick back.
Normally, one always like to point out flaws to maintain balance in a review. My only objection to The Damai is that I can't stay there more often!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

You should give your self the experience, to visit Damai. It will change your for ever.
The staff is great, the surroundings is just perfect and the food is fantastic, and Damai makes the best mojito, I have ever tasted :-)

When you have visit Damai once, you will return :-)
I have now visit Damai two times and I love to come back for the third time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the damai back in september, in order to relax the last 4 days of our trip trough Java & Bali. We expected a lot from friends who went there and reviews we read. But I never imagined it to be this impressive. We stayed at Uma Raja and were stunned. As a couple, we only used one of the 3 available bedrooms in this villa, but all of them were very tastefully decorated, and had a beautiful en-suite bathroom. It has everything you would wish for, is really really spacious, and decorated with true taste (no wonder this villa has had famous guests from all over the world). The master bedroom is huge, with an amazing bed, that must have cost a fortune and must have taken a lot of effort to get it installed (it consists out of big tree logs). Staff were extremely friendly and helpfull, service was great, so was the breakfast, the bar, the spa treatments and dinner near the pool. Our private pool was also a class of its own, and although you can't see it on any picture, had 2 levels, one level accesible via the living room, the other next to the master bedroom.

All in all we were very happy to spend our last days of this wonderful trip at the Damai, and we will certainly be back! (if only for the great smelling shower gel)

Room Tip: Uma Raja Villa is a class of its own. The bed in the master bedroom is epic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

They made us feel like we were staying with family and greeted us by name everytime we walked in or out. It made our stay not only relaxing and comfortable. Beautiful property and comfortable room. Book it and you will be delighted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is beautiful, the villas are of an incredibly high standard . The staff here are so friendly and helpful and the attention to detail is amazing. And after eating in top restaurants around the world, I believe the food here is equal to the best international standards . If your traveling to the north of Bali this would have to be the best place to stay. I look forwards to my next visit

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The villas at Lovina are a pleasure to behold. Being Scandinavian in origin, each villa has an outside shower and jacuzzi in it's own walled courtyard but when the temperature is 30C that's no problem. The grounds are terrific and the restaurant is splendid with cordon bleu cookery. We took the half-day cookery course at the hotel (which included a trip with the chef to the market at Singaraja) and enjoyed cooking the Balinese way - there was so much food that it provided both lunch and dinner for us (so we actually saved money). We only had a 2 night stop here which was lovely, but I'm not sure whether there is enough of interest in the area for a longer stay..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.