We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peer Kildegaard L” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Damai Bliss-save 40%
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Peer Kildegaard L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very unforgettable stay.Beatifull location and garden.The room was very nice. We really enjoyed the whole stay. If one word should cover the whole impression it should be aestetic, everything was like that.If possible we shall return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    52
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
314
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we got to the Damai we felt depressed - we were already dreading leaving. If money were no object we would live here, in fact id be tempted to work here if it meant I could stay forever !

Yes the Damai is that good. But it does come at a fairly hefty price and its a pretty closed market in terms of restaurants so be prepared.

That said, it was of exceptional standard... The Damai has its own farm which you can visit, they rear everything from crayfish to pigs and grow salads and herbs on the hotel grounds. The food was excellent, especially the japanese breakfast was divine, smoked fish & rice with mini omelette. Dinner was always excellent and the setting in the evening was magical. There's a good cocktail list too and long drinks come with bamboo straws I liked so much I bought some to take home.

If you want to give your wallet a break you can catch the shuttle to Lovina and have a cheap lunch there (I recommend the jasmine cafe) but Lovina itself is a dive where you will be harassed by hawkers and the shuttles are not on demand or frequent enough for a quick lunch then back.

On the plus side there is a really nice diving school at Lovina called "spice dive" and they do day excursions to Balis best diving spot: Menjangen island. This was the very place that lured us north, it's a magical and unforgettable experience to dive or snorkel there. Spice dive do "fun dives" where you are taught and tested on safety procedures and can dive up to 15 meters. Diving here and staying at the Damai were the highlights of our honeymoon!

Another thing that is nice about the Damai is that it's small and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. There are only 15 villas, and while the standard rooms seem lovely but quite uniform, the superior villas are all unique and impeccably designed. The architect and the owner are Danish and our villa "uma tirta" was a heady mix of Balinese spiritual and natural elements with sleek, modern Scandinavian design.

The corner of the living area is a group of panelled windows that completely open up so your sofa is an island floating on the edge of your private pool. Nature up here is fabulous and we saw some beautiful birds on our private deck. Our villa was on a jungle-esque hill overlooking the horizon. Did I mention we were upset when we had to leave?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The arrival at Damai at night was like a ferrytale: lampions hanging throughout the tropical garden. Very friendly people taking us in a buggy to our pool villa. Champaign and great spring rolls. We have had the best time ever staying in the pool villa for 3 weeks. The service was impeccable. Everytime we came back to our room all had been cleaned and organized. The food was great and important enough healthy and hygienic. We are grateful for the cooks to maintain such a high standard in all aspects of the kitchen. The hospitality of Mr Menon (GM) and his team was outstanding. They really listen and do everything humanely possible to accomodate your needs and all with a smile and genuine friendliness. The fishing trips were magic, catching Mahi Mahi and Bracuda and seeing hundreds of dolphins. The visit to the pearl factory was great as were the strawls in Lovina town.We have felt very privileged to be staying in such a nice pleace with such friendly people and service. The Caipirinhas of the bar master (Tom Cruise) were superb as well. Highly recommended destination. The balinese costume photo session was fun as was the soccer with the resort team. The dancing lessons for the kids in towm were also great. We last but not least like what Damai do to work together with the community and let all benefit.

Room Tip: All great but the pool villas are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hørsholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we spent 4 days in Damai. And it was just exellent. The Bungalow, the surroundings, the foood. But first of all: The people. From those in charge to the man who cleaned our room They just did, what they could to make our stay unforgettable..

Room Tip: they are all exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a beautiful hotel this is! We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and I am so glad we did.
It truly is a stunning place, yes Lovina itself is not the best beach in Bali but I do think that this may well be the best hotel by far. Its set in a great hillside location a few minutes drive from Lovina and everything about it for us was perfect.
We had one of the smaller villas, I think they are called the superior rooms and they really are superior, we had an amazing outside bathroom with a shower and a very nice hot tub and a four poster bed ( inside of course!).
The staff at the hotel are so attentive, friendly yet discrete, a free massage on arrival from the staff from the Spa. The manager is a true gentleman and his influence seems to have very positive effect on his team- the level of hospitality they all demonstrated was first class and worthy of the finest 5 star hotels.
The chef and his team also excel- a small but well thought out menu using local produce and cooked to the highest quality was presented daily.
We only had two nights here ( this trip!) but we will be back without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Damai in a 1 bedroom Pool , it was absolutely everything we were looking for in a resort-stay. Rooms were very clean, large and enjoyed the quiet personal pool.

The food and drinks are the highlight of this hotel . Really enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast .

But all of this would be nothing if not for the service. The service was excellent - each and every staff member was so friendly and warm that we felt at home. The general manager takes time to meet all the guests and is also very friendly.

We will definitely be making a trip back to Bali, if only to spend more time at The Damai. A truly magical experience! Will add more pictures of the resort grounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Was extremely lucky to spend two nights at the Damai celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Such a beautiful tranquil place and very unique. Our superior room was very spacious with an amazing hot tub and shower in the little private garden.
So simple and elegant and so perfect.
The pool was very pretty and the service we received was first class. Nothing was too much for anyone and felt like we were treated like royalty.
The grounds were immaculately kept and loved all the salad and herb gardens. So peaceful and a real haven to get away from all the hustle and bustle.
Food was very simple and fresh and the tuna we had was the best we've tasted.
The Manager was charming, friendly and very accommodating and this rubbed off on all the staff.
Would highly recommend the Damai and definitely will be going back. Could have done with longer there as so much to see and do around the area. Dolphin watching and the hot springs a definite must.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.