We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fantastic experience ”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Save Saved
You added Damai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Damai Bliss-save 30%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lovina Beach
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Fantastic experience ””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Damai in a 1 bedroom Pool , it was absolutely everything we were looking for in a resort-stay. Rooms were very clean, large and enjoyed the quiet personal pool.

The food and drinks are the highlight of this hotel . Really enjoyed the wide selection of breakfast .

But all of this would be nothing if not for the service. The service was excellent - each and every staff member was so friendly and warm that we felt at home. The general manager takes time to meet all the guests and is also very friendly.

We will definitely be making a trip back to Bali, if only to spend more time at The Damai. A truly magical experience! Will add more pictures of the resort grounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
292
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Was extremely lucky to spend two nights at the Damai celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Such a beautiful tranquil place and very unique. Our superior room was very spacious with an amazing hot tub and shower in the little private garden.
So simple and elegant and so perfect.
The pool was very pretty and the service we received was first class. Nothing was too much for anyone and felt like we were treated like royalty.
The grounds were immaculately kept and loved all the salad and herb gardens. So peaceful and a real haven to get away from all the hustle and bustle.
Food was very simple and fresh and the tuna we had was the best we've tasted.
The Manager was charming, friendly and very accommodating and this rubbed off on all the staff.
Would highly recommend the Damai and definitely will be going back. Could have done with longer there as so much to see and do around the area. Dolphin watching and the hot springs a definite must.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This experience exceeded expectations in many respects, and in terms of the package (stay 4 nights pay 3) booked on the hotel website I feel that this was a real top class, value for money package, and fully justifies the maximum rating.

The place itself smacks of being a labour of love, and the care and attention devoted by the team to a relaxing and authentic experience is much valued and appreciated. And the staff were always courteous and helpful, with a welcome degree of informality.

There are Many positives, the grounds are immaculate, and discreetly illuminated at night, the terraced kitchen herb garden, the comfortable and stylish villas, the personalised service and wait for it ::::: A full waiter service breakfast, with an amazing aray of options from a very quality focused catering operation.

All in all a new benchmark for me, and I would be very happy to return to this place again and again

Optional extras

Dinner

The evening dining on the terrace was always enjoyable, high quality food, in idyllic surroundings , however the dinner menu was at least "fully priced" and would get very costly over a longer stay, the wine was fairly priced compared to some of the indonesian hotel outlets i have mentioned before, so fair play for that. The quality was very good, although options limited due to many dishes bieng pre-prepared with the all invasive Garlic content so beloved of the Indonesian Chefs and catering outlets

Spa
Ludicrously over priced, did not accept the pricing so did not attend .


Location
Having previously been underwhelmed by a long weekend in Kuta, the Lovina area, is fantastic, the Damai bieng set back into a hillside overlooking the sea, it is a little remote and Lovina is not Blackpool or las vegas (thanks be to god). Connecting with locals is a real pleasure and they will help you find whatever is of interest to you. Motorbike and car rental is available, and the roads are ok along the coastal stretch , having scouted 2 hours or so in each direction. Its not a place you would go to party, but a deeply relaxing and authentic experience of the island culture is there to be enjoyed.

Room Tip: I would notify the hotel on booking if you have mobility problems, there are terraced stairways to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
On behalf of the staff of Damai and myself, I thank you for this review and also about North Bali and Lovina in particular which will assist future guests to know more about this destination. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Warm Regards from the Damai Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at Damai in one of their fantastic pool villa's. It was our first holiday with our daughter on 6 month and Damai did not disappoint us. Damai is beatifully placed and have a fantastic decor that add to the relaxing and laid back holiday feeling. Beside the beatiful location another fantastic asset to Damai are the staff, they are pampering the guests with a genuine smile and a feeling about that they love what they do. Beside that our daughter was delighted about all the attention from the staff. We can only highly recommend a stay at Damai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Sebastian,
Thank you for your kind review which I have shared with all the staff. The staff enjoyed assisting look after you daughter which was joy. We look forward to receive Mettte,Alba and you in the near future.Warm Regards from the Damai family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oestrich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

no valu for the money you are going to spend - the pictures you see on their webpages are taken from their Pool villas, the superior villas are disapointing.
We cannt recommend the Damai: far away from everything nice and interesting, very small, no places to sit and unwind or relax,
The so called "superior villas" are very small, the worst thing are the tiny verandahs, hardly big enough for two chairs - and the Damai provide on top of that very uncomfortable ones, where it is impossible to sit and enjoy the place. Pool is also very small, you are always in contact wiith the other guest and even if tthe Hotel is so small ist feels crowded. Thhe staff always want to sell - Spa treatments, chauffeur driven car, transport to next hotel, - we didnt liked that
quite nice are the huge but very expensive pool villas.
And: Lovina is quite a boring place, cheap shops and restaurants all over, better go to Pemuteran and stay there in one of the many beautiful hotels there. What we loved on our trip: the Como Shhambala in Ubud - most beautiful hotel we stayed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, Manager at Damai, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Damai takes all guest reviews seriously and we ensure we identify the guests that put this review.
However we cannot track your identity and hence the delay in putting in this response.
We truly hope you can send an email to gm@damai.com with the names and date you stayed. This is truly appreciated.

I must say we were totally taken aback by your comments. I must say they do seem far remote from the reality I encounter every day.

Part of it, I am sure is due to misunderstandings.

I would like to point out that the unit you stayed in is our most affordable room category. It is a modest 42 sq.m. room, decorated with antiques of surprising quality. We have two of those and we use them mostly in high season for people who would like to experience the hotel, but find the other units too large or beyond what they wish to spend. In light of your comments, on the website, our pictures are not labeled which misled you to make assumptions on the pool villa. We now inform all those making a booking in Superior to request for a room picture and will update in relevant websites we sell this room category.

Your comments about our staff tells me that some of the misunderstandings might be due to language barriers. If the communication skills of our staff has failed in this instance I apologize, but anyone who has ever been to Bali will know that the Balinese are naturally polite, gracious and soft-spoken.

We always enquire from quests that arrive by themselves how and when they wish to leave the resort. You will find this is a standard practice for hotels of our type, and it is by no means motivated by any wish to sell transfers (which we sell at cost, by the way). Even though people say we are hard to leave, we try to make it easy.

I do in part blame myself for your comments about North Bali. Us being 'far away from anything nice or interesting' is a matter of opinion. Factually North Bali is home to some of the most iconic and photographed sights of the island, and Damai is the perfect vantage point to explore these - and also find your own hidden gems. The best way - and in the North, the only way - to see them is by private car. I am sorry if the communications skills of our staff made this sound advice seem like a sales pitch, but in light of your comment, a private car might have been the best option for you.

I fully agree with you that the shops in the nearby area of Lovina are very inexpensive. They tend to be mostly local handicrafts shops, run by people from the mountain villages, but I am sure they will disappoint if you expect luxury items or international brands. This of course is a question of temperament.
For me this just adds to the charm.

Trip advisor reviews are all about how best to meet guest satisfaction and continue improving on this. No hotel is perfect, no destination is also free from being criticized, it is all about learning continuously and improving and the person going on holiday doing more research on their destination that best meet their approval.

Best Regards
M.G.Menon, General Manager, The Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went to Damai Villa last month and I'm fall in love with this place. The room was nature and comfortable. When i walked around the hotel, the air was very fresh and the green view of forest was very beautiful. But the best moment is breakfast time beacuse i could enjoy my food in the morning with fresh air and tasty food. And 1 more thing, their service was very friendly. if i got a off day, Damai Villa was my first place to go to spend my holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Velicia
The staff of Damai were thrilled to read this review and on behalf of the Damai family we thank you and look forward to your next stay. Warm Regards The Damai Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My stay in Damai was UNBELIEVABLE!!! This is without any doubt the best hotel I ever had!!!
The villa with private pool (with an amazing view), the very helpfull staff and the exquisite cuidome (bali's best)...
Not to miss if you're in Bali!!!
Eddy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Eddy, thank you for writing this review which was shared with all staff at Damai. Warm Regards from all of us at The Damai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.