We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Damai to your Saves list
Damai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR GALA PACKAGE
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for a restful, beautiful place to stay in northern Bali, the hotel Damai is definitely my recommendation! I just spent 4 lovely days there and really enjoyed the beautiful grounds and lodging! The staff are incredibly friendly and accomodating! And the food is delicious (so much of it is grown in their own gardens)! I also highly recommend the spa there. It was so good, I ended up having a treatment every day! This is definitely paradise in Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Connie, thank you so much for your kind words which I have shared with all staff. We enjoyed having you and the rest of the group during this few days. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    54
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
322
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Great place, by far the best hotel we have been to in Bali, and good value to money compared to some other really over rated luxury hotel. Nothing feels as a rip off though of course nothing is cheap. Dinner was excellent, especially we could at least have a go at balinese cuisine, as many restaurants in bali serve international/ fusion food breakfast also excellent. Had one go at the spa and the massage was one of the best ever. The staff is very friendly and will truly answer any request. Only wish is to have stayed longer :) and I don't feel this way in many places

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us - we look forward to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful quiet time at Damai. We chose to stay on the grounds and enjoy our lovely room and serene surroundings. The food was fresh and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us - we look forward to welcome you back again next year. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed their for a couple of nights and we truly enjoy pur time at Damai. Very peaceful and relax. The service was also very personalise and attentive. The pool area was nice and quiete. The dinner experience was very worth it! Try the balinese menu.

Thank you very much Damai Team!:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us - we look forward to welcome you back to Damai . Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

On a three week trip to Bali, I made a spontaneous decision to head north to Lovina to see the dolphins. I got really REALLY lucky and managed a last minute booking at this dreamy magical resort! Every single moment, every single detail, every encounter with every staff member was simply flawless! Eka took me on a tour of the property and personally arranged my dolphin excursion...with a speed boat that allowed me to sleep an extra hour and a half that morning :)

Special thanks to Dwi for the Island Spice Margaritas!! Genius!!

Next time, I'll stay a week!

Regards,
Amy Hunter

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe villa and was delighted with my accommodation. Simply put there are NO bad vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for all your nice words. Eka and Dwi is especially proud, and sends their warm regards. We all look forward to welcome you again to Damai for a week. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Damai was absolutely everything we were looking for in a Balinese resort-stay.
Yes, it is a bit of a drive from the airport, but that is more a benefit than a cost given the quiet, out of the tourist-fray location.

Our room was beautiful- simple, classic Balinese style, impeccably clean, with the most luxe beds and linens. The staff's attention to detail was unparalleled. Our room was made up, and turned-down while we were at breakfast and dinner, resulting in no interruptions while we relaxed.

Given we were there for only two days, we opted out of one of the many well-planned itineraries offered by the resort around the island. Instead, we signed on for cooking class which was a wonderful and intimate experience with the hotel's accomplished chef. We also took full advantage of their spa, which left no room for complaint.

The food and drink was really the star of the show. Hotel food tends to get redundant or bland. Not so at the Damai. They put a lot of thought and energy into all their menus and you are hard-pressed to find a better meal at any of Bali's 5-star restaurants.

But all of this would be nothing if not for the service. The staff goes above and beyond for you, happy to assure you have everything you need while not only at the hotel, but in Bali. The general manager takes time to meet all the guests and our butler, Eka, was perfect- charming, helpful and warm.

We will definitely be making a trip back to Bali, if only to spend more time at The Damai. My suggestion: book in advance so you don't miss out on this truly special experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for all your nice words. Eka and Chef Nyoman is especially proud, and sends their warm regards. We all look forward to welcome you again to the family of Damai.Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent one day with friends at this gorgeous location coming from Java and continuing our trip through Bali.
Great experience and with the Qunci Villas in Lombok, our best hotel during 3 weeks of holidays in Indonesia.
Delicious dinner at the pool. Beautiful villas with outside showers and outside Jacuzzi. Great experrience to have under the night stars.
we could only regret that we had scheduled one single night in this part of Bali.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDamai, General Manager at Damai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for all your nice words. We all look forward to welcome you again to Damai for a longer stay. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai

Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, Bali 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.