We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Rooms do not have Air Conditioner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rambutan Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Mawar, Bali 9999, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Budget Rooms do not have Air Conditioner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Actually it is I mistake. I did not check if the room had A/C or not when I booked it.
The budget rooms do not have aircon. and if you want to upgrade the room at the hotel you do not get the agoda discount rate. I had to pay higher rate to move to delux room..
Hotel is otherwise nice

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes you are correct are standard budget rooms do not have AC but have a ceiling fan, with en-suite bathroom. Actually if you change to another room the price should be the same as agoda, as we charge the same price but sometimes people think it is cheaper on Agoda because they do not show the taxes until you finally make payment. Also if you book direct with us we can give you a 10% discount for a stay of three nights or more, or if you stay for 7 nights or more we can give you a 15% discount.

Look forward to having you back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    122
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
96
166
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On our trip to Java and Bali this summer, Rambutan Hotel in Lovina Beach, Bali, was one of the nicest, relaxing places to stay. Our standard rooms were gorgious, situated in a beautiful Balinese garden, with 2 swimming pools and a lovely spa were massages, a hairdresser, pedicure and manicure are making your stay even more pleasant!. The stylish restaurant is nicely situated in the garden overlooking the pool, were you can enjoy your breakfast with fresh fruit juices every morning. The service of the hotel is excellent. Snorkelling, watching dolphins, and all kind of other activities can make your stay even more exciting. The hotel can organise this for you. After a dog's bite my husband had to go to a hospital immediately, their help was just great. A driver was available and he helped us out in the hospital!
Whenever you go to Bali, go to Rambutan Hotel!!

Room Tip: For a good personal choice visit their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and compliments. We are so glad you were able to get quick and good treatment at the hospital and all is okay now. Look forward to having you back one day and don't forget we can give you a good discount if you book directly to us and mention you are a return customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Because of so many good reviews I can only assume other parts of the hotel are much better?
We stayed on the reception side near the front in a 'Superior' (2* at best) room no 6. The rooms are dated and worn. Only a double bed with ripped and stained linen. Curtains don't fit the windows properly, the towels are threadbare and stained also, safe was broken, everything is cheap and nasty. Outside the room there was a rubbish tip. Cockerels wake you up at 4 am and cock a doodle do constantly till 7pm! At 5am there is loud religious chanting and sporadic barking dogs. If anyone talks next door it's like they are in the same room. We asked to move rooms, the owners (well rehearsed) response, your in Bali now, I explained that in the 30 or more times in different parts of Bali this was not the norm. To which I was rudely challenged as to be discredited so I gave up, mentioning the rubbish pile outside the response was, don't open the door then, knowing any further attempts to penetrate the thick skin were fruitless I gave up. Breakfasts were pitiful, bacon and eggs consisted of one wafer thin strip of bacon cut in half and two eggs with some dodgy toast. Order anything else and you were charged extra. We ate at the restaurant on the first day and the food was very poor, although cheap. On a positive note the pool area and gardens were nice and beds were always available by the pool. Drinks were cheap and the hotel is close to everything.

From other negative comments, cue the sarky response:

Room Tip: If your room is near the front on the left (when looking from the front) grab your bags and run!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
After entering your room in the early afternoon you came to reception requesting to be moved to another room because you heard some chickens crowing. My staff member Ketut politely informed you the hotel was fully booked and this was not possible but if one became available the next day we would move you. You then told Ketut you wanted to leave. He then said your booking was through booking.com and the policy was you would still need to pay for the room due to late cancellation.

As regards to all the rest of your problems, well you had a bee in your bonnet and of course have written this tirade, some of which is totally untrue, so much so you even took photographs of sheets that we do not even have and a photo of a bed with cream tiles on the floor but the room you stayed in has new white tiles. You talk about a low bar, well you have fallen well below this with your forged photographs.

You ask why only a double bed, well you had booked a double room, not a twin room. Curtains fit just fine and were made by a Taylor and measured to fit. Yes there is a problem with the safe but we gave you a key you could use instead of putting in a code. There is no rubbish tip outside your room, if there was no one would want, or even consider staying here. There was some left over building materials from renovation work we have been doing behind your room recently, which is pretty hard to see and is not obtrusive at all. This will be moved soon. Your comment if someone talks in the adjoining room it is like they are next to you is total fabrication. The rooms are separated all the way by the two bathrooms. Yes it is possible to hear someone in the next bathroom if you are in your bathroom.

You then confronted my wife the next day and her comment you are in Bali now is correct and was reference to religious calls from Hindu temples that happens at certain times all over the island. It had nothing to do about moving rooms, as we could not do this due to being full. You were never rudely challenged but in life you may one day learn it takes two to tango. You then call us thick skinned. I think you need to look at yourself first.

Regarding breakfast, you say if you order anything else and you are charged for. Well this is not true, we allow people to order as many fresh fruit drinks, coffee tea, fruit salads, and toast for free. By the way bacon usually is thin and we serve one piece but you cut that in half for your photo. We do charge if you want bacon and eggs again. So more false observations and accusations by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had a short stay at the Rambutan Hotel this past January on my way to East Java. I purposefully booked the economy room with the ceiling fan and was happy that I did. It was a comfortable room, very clean with a comfortable bed It was all that I needed, as I was only sleeping in the room; no need to stay in the room with such beautiful outside spaces. Gardens were extensive and lovely. Pool was peaceful and serene. The spa, near the pool, had Balinese decor with fair pricing and good massage. The hotel staff was wonderful - very helpful and courteous. Breakfast and dinner were good and very reasonably priced; the tables that I dined at were set outside in the garden beside the pool - which was a delightful spot to eat. Honestly, for the price I paid which was under 50 USD, I had a basic, yet comfortable room, in a gorgeous resort with everything I needed right on property and was very short walking distance to the Ocean, shops and restaurants. Very good value for the money. Stay here while in Lovina, you will be glad that you did -

Room Tip: I stayed in a budget room with only a fan straight across from the lobby area. The bathroom was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your writer up and comments. Yes the budget rooms are good if you just want something simple but we also have more luxurious rooms all the way up to villas. Our new 3 story high deluxe room is very popular and it has great views to the mountains and also you can see the ocean. Hope to see you back soon and remember if you book directly withg us we can give you a good discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for one night, and that night was one of the most expensive of al our stay's in Bali.
We had a budget room with only a fan.

The hotel grounds are really nice, and the staff is welcoming. But the room was a bit of a disappointment. To us it felt like we were thrown back into 1984. Everything looked very worn.

Swimmingpool looked tempting, but unfortunalty did not get a change to jump in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are judging on price, so let me make some comments on that. Our hotel is set in over one hectares of tropical gardens in the center of Lovina, with two pools, spa, restaurant, fitness centre, playgrounds for children + quite a bit more. You paid only USD45.00 for a room. When you booked it you new it was only a ceiling fan cooled room. We have many options of my luxury rooms. These budget rooms all have brand new pillow topped mattresses and are well maintained like all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I are staying at the Rambutan now.

Great location, very close to the beach, restaurants, spas etc. but still quiet.

The grounds are beautiful, great gardens and two pools with both lounge chairs and bales to relax in.

I had wanted to book a deluxe room but none were available so ended up with a superior which is fine. Lots of room, quirky bathroom, comfortable bed, in room safe and a balcony to chill out on.

There are a couple of minor things that would make the stay better. - and really wouldn't take much to fix. Our toilet has a huge crack in the seat, the towel rail is falling down, the towels are threadbare and the nasi goreng at breakfast was cold. None of these are deal breakers, but a bit of attention to detail could lift the experience.

Overall though I would recommend this as a value for money option and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and intend to come back again. I have tried to find the toilet you are talking about but can’t any seat with a crack but I guess my maintenance has replaced the seat. We have recently just purchased over a 100 new towels, so that should solve that problem. Hope to see you back soon and remember for direct booking with us we can give you a good generous discount for a return customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Rambutan Boutique Hotel for about 3 nights.
Its a very nice and quiet place. We stayed in a Villa-room, which is realy big. You have a realy nice bed and the bathroom ist just awesome, build fulli with stones and you can take a shower outside if you like !
The food ist just allright, but there realy mutch restaurants arround where you can go for realy good dining. The included Breakfest ist normal for Bali standarts, its nothing special but still allright!.
Its an very clean place. I would not recommend to stay there with kids, as this is more an couple / solo hotel, its for relaxing and have holiday. There 2 nice pools arround, which could give the kids some activity but thats all.

You will need to drive by bus to Rambutan, it takes about 2 - 3 hours from kuta, you best choice is to go by perama travel, as this is the most cheapest and most professional way to get there. You will have a stop over in ubut if you like, which I realy recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are very pleased you loved it here. Hope to see you back one day soon. For direct booking with us we offer discounts, especially for return customers like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
1.8 mi away
Damai
Damai
#1 of 19 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
Cleopatra Beach Bungalows
#9 of 19 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pandawa Village Villas
Pandawa Village Villas
#4 of 19 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Mawar, Bali 9999, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambutan is situated in Lovina, the north of Bali and is family run and owned by Richard and Tini. The hotel is set in a large tropical garden with flowering shrubs and shady exotic fruit tree's. Facilities include two swimming pools,a Spa massage complex incorporating a fitness area and meeting Yoga and music room. Pool table and badminton court also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rambutan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambutan Boutique Hotel Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambutan Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.