We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Rambutan Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rambutan Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Mawar, Bali 9999, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Christmas special
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Rambutan Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had a short stay at the Rambutan Hotel this past January on my way to East Java. I purposefully booked the economy room with the ceiling fan and was happy that I did. It was a comfortable room, very clean with a comfortable bed It was all that I needed, as I was only sleeping in the room; no need to stay in the room with such beautiful outside spaces. Gardens were extensive and lovely. Pool was peaceful and serene. The spa, near the pool, had Balinese decor with fair pricing and good massage. The hotel staff was wonderful - very helpful and courteous. Breakfast and dinner were good and very reasonably priced; the tables that I dined at were set outside in the garden beside the pool - which was a delightful spot to eat. Honestly, for the price I paid which was under 50 USD, I had a basic, yet comfortable room, in a gorgeous resort with everything I needed right on property and was very short walking distance to the Ocean, shops and restaurants. Very good value for the money. Stay here while in Lovina, you will be glad that you did -

Room Tip: I stayed in a budget room with only a fan straight across from the lobby area. The bathroom was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your writer up and comments. Yes the budget rooms are good if you just want something simple but we also have more luxurious rooms all the way up to villas. Our new 3 story high deluxe room is very popular and it has great views to the mountains and also you can see the ocean. Hope to see you back soon and remember if you book directly withg us we can give you a good discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    103
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
147
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for one night, and that night was one of the most expensive of al our stay's in Bali.
We had a budget room with only a fan.

The hotel grounds are really nice, and the staff is welcoming. But the room was a bit of a disappointment. To us it felt like we were thrown back into 1984. Everything looked very worn.

Swimmingpool looked tempting, but unfortunalty did not get a change to jump in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are judging on price, so let me make some comments on that. Our hotel is set in over one hectares of tropical gardens in the center of Lovina, with two pools, spa, restaurant, fitness centre, playgrounds for children + quite a bit more. You paid only USD45.00 for a room. When you booked it you new it was only a ceiling fan cooled room. We have many options of my luxury rooms. These budget rooms all have brand new pillow topped mattresses and are well maintained like all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I are staying at the Rambutan now.

Great location, very close to the beach, restaurants, spas etc. but still quiet.

The grounds are beautiful, great gardens and two pools with both lounge chairs and bales to relax in.

I had wanted to book a deluxe room but none were available so ended up with a superior which is fine. Lots of room, quirky bathroom, comfortable bed, in room safe and a balcony to chill out on.

There are a couple of minor things that would make the stay better. - and really wouldn't take much to fix. Our toilet has a huge crack in the seat, the towel rail is falling down, the towels are threadbare and the nasi goreng at breakfast was cold. None of these are deal breakers, but a bit of attention to detail could lift the experience.

Overall though I would recommend this as a value for money option and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and intend to come back again. I have tried to find the toilet you are talking about but can’t any seat with a crack but I guess my maintenance has replaced the seat. We have recently just purchased over a 100 new towels, so that should solve that problem. Hope to see you back soon and remember for direct booking with us we can give you a good generous discount for a return customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Rambutan Boutique Hotel for about 3 nights.
Its a very nice and quiet place. We stayed in a Villa-room, which is realy big. You have a realy nice bed and the bathroom ist just awesome, build fulli with stones and you can take a shower outside if you like !
The food ist just allright, but there realy mutch restaurants arround where you can go for realy good dining. The included Breakfest ist normal for Bali standarts, its nothing special but still allright!.
Its an very clean place. I would not recommend to stay there with kids, as this is more an couple / solo hotel, its for relaxing and have holiday. There 2 nice pools arround, which could give the kids some activity but thats all.

You will need to drive by bus to Rambutan, it takes about 2 - 3 hours from kuta, you best choice is to go by perama travel, as this is the most cheapest and most professional way to get there. You will have a stop over in ubut if you like, which I realy recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are very pleased you loved it here. Hope to see you back one day soon. For direct booking with us we offer discounts, especially for return customers like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rambutan is beautifully landscaped hotel with friendly staff.

Our stay was slightly spoilt by poor organization on the hotels behalf. We arrived mid-afternoon and asked if we could book the sunrise dolphin tour. We were told yes so we began really looking forward to. It wasn't until 10pm that we received a knock on our door to let us know that they hadn't checked if there was space for us when they took our booking and the tour was full. Because it was soo late, it meant we didn't have the option to find another tour agency to do the tour with and as we only stayed one night, we missed out. This isn't good enough, we expect that a hotel will check spaces or be aware of how many spaces are left in tours before signing guests up to the tours.

The food at the restaurant was also not great, they are a typical restaurant in Bali where unqualified chefs are trying too hard to cater for every option. We ate dinner there and had Indonesian dishes and western dishes, the food was pretty awful. Breakfast was about the same. At least the bread for breakfast was at least not sweet so we were happy with that.

Despite this, we would return but choose to eat elsewhere and book our own tours.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
sorry about the mistake with the dolphin tour, our apologies and when you return we will offer you a free tour on our behalf. Mistakes do happen and the time you were here was very much busy season.

Regarding the restaurant, this restaurant does very well and is also very busy during the peak season. Sorry if it was not up to your standard but at least you have many choices close by.

look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and this time was with my 14 year old daughter and several friends on Friday 11th July. As usual we had a great stay here. Upon arrival we were notified that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was just steps from the main pool and restaurant. One of my friends was also sharing our room and we were pleasantly surprised with how big the room was. It was large enough that we had 2 queen size beds and a single and still had ample room. We enjoyed a late lunch in the restaurant that was very nice. A few of our group had stayed here previously however we did have a few first timers and we all enjoyed our short time here. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value accommodation in central Lovina. We will definitely stay here the next time we return to Lovina, Thanks Richard and Tini for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you Jacqui for another review. We love having your groups come every year. Your charity work you do up in this poor part of Bali is much appreciated by the locals and is wonderful to see. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A delightful hotel in absolutely beautiful gardens, off the main road and set in spacious gardens with two swimming pools a great place to relax and enjoy a drink and a meal. The room was spacious and spotless clean, the restaurant has a good selection to choose from.
The best part is the staff who are friendly and the hosts are a mine of tourist information. Definitely worth a stay when in Lovina.

Room Tip: A deluxe room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Rambutan Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for coming back once again to Rambutan. We really appreciate having return customers and this is what makes running a small hotel so much fun.You have not only become friends with all of us at Rambutan but you also helped one young girl immensely by paying for an operation on her eye in Australia. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambutan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Boutique Hotel

Address: Jalan Mawar, Bali 9999, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambutan is situated in Lovina, the north of Bali and is family run and owned by Richard and Tini. The hotel is set in a large tropical garden with flowering shrubs and shady exotic fruit tree's. Facilities include two swimming pools,a Spa massage complex incorporating a fitness area and meeting Yoga and music room. Pool table and badminton court also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rambutan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambutan Boutique Hotel Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambutan Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.