We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, cozy villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hamsa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hamsa Resort to your Saves list
The Hamsa Resort
Jalan Air Terjun Sing Sing, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, cozy villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Went to hamsa lovina, because we want to try different ambience beach of bali, lovina beach is more quiet and we can see the dolphin there, but unfortunately the hamsa is located up on the hill, so its a little far from the beach, thus our plan to see dolphin in the morning is cancelled, if you want to see dolphin in the morning, try another hotel near the beach, cause we have to wake up very early to see the dolphin. But we didn't dissapointed because the hamsa itself is beautiful, with a beautiful view. We stay at the villa, its huge, with 2 rooms,i really like the villa, beautiful stone wall in the bedroom, high ceiling, there's a kitchen, easy to cook, a personal swiming pool,there's even a welcome dog n a welcome drink. The owner name stephan n her beautiful wife oky greet us in our check in with the frendly dog bruno. Stephan has just newly owner of the hamsa for 6 months, so he's trying to renovate more facility, such as added swimming pool, he and his wife and the dog has very kind to us during our stay, so i wish him well for the improvement . For the hamsa is already beautiful and more beautiful with the improvement. Overall this is a beautiful cozy villas that u can go with the whole family, and stay more than a day without getting bored, just a great place to relax. Its too bad that we stay just 1 night, we want to longer our stay if not we already book another hotel in another location. We surely comeback with a lot more family to enjoy the hamsa

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hamsa offered beautiful views, fresh air, clean water. We stayed at the penthouse and found the balcony was vast and could probably hold confortably 30 or more people. the view from the balcony was the one worth waking up early for, even on your holiday. every morning, except Sunday, there was yoga session. this was the reason, i picked this villa for our holiday. we learned that the villa had recently changed hands, and is under new management.
PRO: breakfast was good. excellent home made papaya jam. eggs perfectly cooked, brown sugar instead of white refined sugar. their pancake was actually crepes. our kids loved this. generous size private pool, fresh clean water, nice views, generous size rooms. the main toilet can fit 10 people in! friendly, quick to action, attentive staffs, nice ginger tea to finish spa experience overlooking the property.
CON: take an experience driver to drive up.
yoga will be discontinued from 2014.
to our dissapointment, the villa was not cleaned to standard. animal droppings everywhere and insects at night flew in. the important thing to remember is to turn your lights off when not using which deter the insects from coming in. there was room in the villa, which supposed to be gym area to house the stationary cycle, was covered by spider web.
the queen size bed is single bed pushed together. this is unacceptable.
internal lighting was poor!
during our stay, we had pool pump broken, where we were asked to use the public pool. to access this pool, we need to climb many stairs. the pump was replaced by end of the day.
yoga teacher didn't showed up one morning, we inquired and were told to wait while they tried to contact the teacher. no one came back and said anything, we waited for an hour and left.
we were out the whole day, and upon our return we learned that there was no water in the villa. we were told to use the other villa's toilet. it is loated at another building and at lower
level. no lights on stairs, and the water was cold!
we resolve the matters amicably with the management by offering us complementary spa and flower bath. nice, if the flower bath water was warm. spa location was moved and no longer where the flower bath was. and we had the flower bath the day after our massage. the supposedly building for the spa was leaking and not being repaired. ashamed.
nothing to watch on tv for kids. only thai channels.
choice of food was limited and quite expensive. 80th IDR for fried rice.

generrally, the whole property was in desperate need of maintenance upgrade, inferior finishing, dirty overall appearance, very smelly second toilet!

will we returned? YES, but only if improvements made.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataram, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

second time to Bali and first time to Hamsa.... , it was... nice trip i ever had..., even though long way to reached that place... yeah... everything worthed....
great view.... nice room,..., delicious food,...fresh air every morning..... and friendly staffs for sure..., oh yeah.... playing with Owner cute dog " Bruno.. " Hamsa gonna be memorable place to stay....
sadly.... couldn't stay longer coz... got 2 days...day off only....

Room Tip: apartement could be nice... they got lovely kitchen there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Hamsa, and certainly the views & setting were still as beautiful as we had remembered, along with the beautiful staff we had come to call our friends from our visit 12mths ago.
Unfortunately Henry, the previous owner and his amazing dog Bonnie are no longer there. The new owner, unfortunately is not friendly, quite arrogant and does not greet his guests. The sad part is we were quite upset by the way he was treating his staff (our friends); he shows no respect for them in anyway. Because of this new owner, we feel we will never return to the Hamsa again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

1st time to Lovina had a great experience staying at the Hamsa - we we perched at the top of a hill that goats would love. This is an amazing experience - drive up the hill (no walking up thats for sure) and you are knocked over by the most amazing views of the coast. No TV/Hairdryer/Bar fridge - but use of the fridges for your drinks - plentiful chlled water available all day 2 pools - fan in room was definately good enough in the hills. Food fab and cooked from scratch - yum - has the pleasure of meeting the new owners they should be proud of the way the Hamsa is run - so friendly (13 times to Bali so know how nice they were) Lovina is a place ready to explode the Hamsa will become a sort after place to stay - we will be back. THankyou to all they may our 5 nights memorable. x Make sure you do the YOGA classes. Also restaurants at Lovina will take you home after you eat there. Great service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived there at night, the way uphill is scary but the view is truly amazing, no matter at night or day! I stayed at the penthouse which is very very big with a little bit strange design, but it is very clean. The pool is clean during my stay and the view, once again, AMAZING. The new owner, the staff and the cat & dog are very friendly. Food is really good, I don't think it's overproce cause it's fresh and organic. It's vegetarian friendly too! The serving time is slow but afterward I realized Bali's restaurants serving time are slow. I have no regret staying there even though it's a bit far from Lovina as the environment is cleaner and much hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A rocky and steep road up, but what a view!
We've stayed in one of the villas surrounding the smaller pool for 3 nights. The villa was clean with enough room, no ac or mosquitonet. You didn't really need an ac, because the cool sea breeze and the fan was sufficient for a cool room.

The staf is nice and friendly and the food is fine. Both pools where a bit cloudy though. Swimming in the top pool is recommended for magnifcient view at sunset!

The stray cats and dogs where a negative, as they tend to beg for food while you're having dinner.
Also being on top of the hill means calling a taxi or driver to bring you down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephane G, Owner at The Hamsa Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi David and Sarah,
I was very happy as well we could save the credit card problem. I m very happy to know that you enjoyed in The Hamsa Resort Bali i wish you the best and i hope we will meet again.
Thanks one more time choosing Hamsa.
Stephane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hamsa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamsa Resort

Address: Jalan Air Terjun Sing Sing, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept health resort in Lovina, Bali on an unique location. Enjoy the amazing panorama view, the delicious food, Yoga and the Ayuvedic spa all with the feeling of being in a jack johnson video clip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hamsa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamsa Resort Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hamsa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.