We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphins & Sunrise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovina Beach

Lovina Beach
Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$61*
and up
Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain...
Ranked #8 of 15 Attractions in Lovina Beach
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dolphins & Sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Driver picked us up at Ubud at 3.30am to head north to Lovina Beach for the dolphin watching. We managed to reach around 5.30am, sun is rising. Lots of boat started to head out to the sea by then. Therefore we must hurry up. According to the boatman, the dolphins only come in the morning to feed on small fishes. There are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many boats, seems like everyone is chasing them around. We're lucky to have seen them right in front of our boats!

Amazing creatures! Beautiful Sunrise.

Weather: Cold, seems like 19degrees.
Spotted: Risso's & Bottlenose

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    96
    78
    31
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dolphin Watching @ Lovina”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

You go out with at least 20 other boats (it's still low season) and wait for the dolphins to come up for air, then the chase begins. All the engines come on and every boat races to them so close that the dolphins disappear, obviously! This was repeated over and over. We told our fisherman to stop and turn our engine off and leave the cats to chase the mice preferring not to participate in the game. It would be much nicer for your viewing pleasure, fairer and more humane to get to the bay, turn all engines off and keep an appropriate distance away. Chasing the pod to the point where the boat caught the last dolphin is utterly disgusting and really stressful to the animal and for us to watch. ;-( Horrendously cruel!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet with local fishing boats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nice to see but preferred to stay at the pool in the Hotel.
On the beach it was beautifully at sunset ,but at daytime to hot for us

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unfortunately ruined by tourist industry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I think Lovina Beach was once very beautiful, but unfortunately it's no longer that way. We visited from Ubud and were very disappointed. We could see pipes pumping waste into the ocean and the dolphin tours were incredibly over-priced. I walked to the city center to see if it was at all nice, but it was extremely touristy and not worth the trip. We did go in the rainy season, but even the weather was nicer, I wouldn't recommend Lovina to other travelers. There are many nicer, more incredible things to see in Bali.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We traveled 3 hrs. from Kuta to have a face to face encounter with the dolphins, and we are not disappointed. Dolphins are flying..well jumping into the water.. and its not just one or two but a lot of them.. It is really a memorable experience seeing them in the ocean freely swimming with no boundaries.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovina Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lovina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.