We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See dolphins and sunrise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovina Beach

Lovina Beach
Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$61*
and up
Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain...
Ranked #8 of 15 Attractions in Lovina Beach
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Malaysia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“See dolphins and sunrise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovina beach is a black sand beach but the beach is not very clean (still acceptable). The boat rental is IDR 600,000 for 6 people (can share with other group). If you were lucky enough you can see dolphins swimming in the sea [I am that lucky girl :) ], otherwise you only can enjoy the sunrise and breeze in the sea for 1 hours. Remember not to eat too much before setting sail because it is quite dizzy when the boat stops to wait the dolphins come out!!! Besides that, short pants is a MUST!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    95
    76
    30
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Love those clean black sand. Dolphin watch was such joy.
Got to try the fresh seafood from local restaurant - most are day's catch...yummy!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dolphin Watching in Lovina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

One of my best experiences in Bali was the dolphin watching trip by Benni the boatman. Thanks to Benni who is extremely patient and experienced, we managed to see many many dolphins even though we spent the first hour waiting for the dolphins to appear. It was indeed a wonderful experience being in the boat surrounded by swimming dolphins. Although we had to leave our beds in Ubud at 3am to get to Lovina by sunrise (about 5.30am), it was worth it!! I highly recommend Benni the boatman as he charges only Rm 60,000 per person. He can be contacted directly at +62-85237630566.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“dolphin tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

lovina beach is a black sand beach...black due to volcanic sand i believe...
the dolphin trip early morning is exciting..
we saw quite a few of them..probably, 1-1.5hr trip...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

During our stay in Ubud, we were told that Lovina is the perfect place to relax and to get away from the crowds (i.e. Kuta).
Unfortunately, the beach of Lovina is full of rubbish, plastic bags etc. When we were there (Jul 12), only 2-3 people were sunbathing or swimming. The only thing really to do is dolphin watching (mixed feelings however; 30 boats chasing 6 dolphins). They do have a few shops and restaurants but you can' t really call it a promenade. Maybe it is different another time of the year.
They city itself is pretty much the same, we decided to leave after 1 day. Don't fall for the jungle treks they offer, it was about $45 for a 2hour trip and not worth the money.
There are much nice spots on Bali.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovina Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lovina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.