We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fresh food in a lovely setting with great service - what more could you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKAR Cafe Lovina

AKAR Cafe Lovina
Jalan Binaria, Bali 81151, Indonesia
+62 362 3435636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Lovina Beach
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Tapas, Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vegetarian cafe lovina Bali, selling organic salads, smoothies, ice creams, falafel and pastas. Health food shop and weekly yoga classes.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food in a lovely setting with great service - what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Akar was a refreshing change to the standard Indonesian fare of nasi goreng and satay. The menu was inventive and creative while being made with local top quality organic food but at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly and helpful (which made a nice change to some other experiences we had in Bali) and the stream running past the back deck makes for a peaceful setting. We happened to find this on our first day in Lovina and ended up going back every day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

After studying and travelling around Indonesia for six weeks (and with two months to go!), my friends and I really wanted to find a good place with legitimately good western-fusion-fresh food. We are all vegetarian (but can imagine anyone could find something there!) and absolutely loved it. Our salads were amazingly fresh, the pita bread hot and thick, and the brownies for dessert warm and moist. I got saffron couscous with grilled eggplant stuffed with feta cheese and spices--great choice. Akar Cafe is an fantastic break from nasi goreng day in and day out. I am always skeptical about going to western food places in Asia, but found this place to be absolutely amazing. The owner (an Englishwoman) was even there when we went! Great to talk to her and here about her inspiration for creating the restaurant. One thing: don't expect great internet here, and bring bug spray for the back (like all of Bali).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Vegetarians Dream in Lovina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Not only was it great to find a vegetarian restaurant in Lovina, but this place had the best food. We went back everyday for a week. The smoothies and ice cream were great too and we ate almost everything on the menu. AND bonus free wifi, what more could you want!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This food was stunning, fresh and full of flavour we enjoyed several lunches here. They offer free Wifi which is handy when your travelling. The restaurant is very little and looks out over a small stream.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value healthy freshly prepared food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We are not veggies,but this was good place to eat. Looks like cafe from the front aspect and rather small, about 5 tables. The service was good and food was very tasty, I recommend the large 5 choice salad. We are going ack again, having trend another place nearby, we found this to better quality. Terry and Dawn

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AKAR Cafe Lovina also viewed

 
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
Kaliasem, Lovina Beach
 

Been to AKAR Cafe Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKAR Cafe Lovina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.