We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for the local area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lovina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lovina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lovina Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Seririt - Singaraja, Bali 81152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lovina Beach
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good base for the local area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The area around Lovina is much less visited than the southern coast. Therefore there is little choice in terms of upmarket hotels. So if you lower your expectations, this hotel provides a good base for a couple of days. It is not luxurious by any account. Our room - a suite was basic. The towels and products are poor quality and bugs fly into the open bathroom window. The room was spacious with 2 televisions. Everywhere feels quite run down. The main pool is large but the beach is disappointing. Do go out for your meals. The food is not good - buffet was luke warm with poor choice. The breakfast area is too hot and food is not kept chilled. It is reasonably price so it depends whether just adequate is enough?

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool have limited privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Manager at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. But there is a discrepancy, that every room only one television, never two televisions. No bathroom with open window. Breakfast and meals are provided in the restaurant close to the beach which is always cool windy, not a hot room. The rooms / verandas are privacy, not facing the swimming pool. Hopefully this respond has any use. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. Very friendly hotel located on the beach and near to everything. The hotel is very old and run down, but it still has a lot of caracter. The bathrooms have seen better days, but the rest is OK. The garden and the poolside is great. We just loved the staff. They made you feel like royalties. Lots of good food and bars near by. Beatiful beach club next to the hotel.
Totally relaxed feel and we will highly recommend it. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Kirsten K.
Thank you for taking the time to write the friendly review. Firstly, I am glad you enjoyed staying with us. Lovina Beach Hotel is historic, first hotel built in 1953, run by the same family for 2 generations. We are now making repairs, but maintain its original character. If you feel like royalties, I hope you like it, probably it could be the affect. More ornaments and other things you will see in the hotel in near future. I am looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mora
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotell with nice pool and great rooms for fare price but it was a litte like in the middle of noware ,the restaurant and stuff was ok and i recommend you go for the delphin watchin early in the morning

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello, Petta.Thank you for your cool review. Yes, the hotel situation is secluded, like beyond somewhere. Many liked it so. But, the shopping center and ATM are within minutes walking. And I am happy you joined the dolphin watching tour that so popular among visitors.
There are many attractions around Lovina. See the hot springs and the native villages. I am looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the lovina and it was incredible! The staff were friendly, location was amazing with so much to do and see both at the hotel and The local area. The food was a highlight and the rooms were more than generous in size and quality! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Dalemartin92,
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you again for taking the time to review Lovina Beach Hotel. If you enjoyed your stay with us, it suits my goal. Also I am glad you have enjoyed the Lovina area within original nature environment. I sincerely thank you for recommend our place to your friends and relatives. I am looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel, and this hotel ticks all our boxes, it is clean, air conditioned, has a fridge, staff are friendly, meals are great and has hot water (well sometimes) but who needs it all the time in that heat.
Am happy to recommend this hotel and have family planning on staying there next month.

Fiona

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you very much for your repeated visit. I really appreciate your willingness to recommend our hotel. I suggest you make a reservation in advance so that we can provide the room/s to your liking. The hot water is our service, use it when you need. Who knows, because the weather changes a time there is a little snow fall in Lovina, which make it cooler.. Don't forget to visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in October, and the hotel is in a lovely location with very large rooms. The restaurant/breakfast were very good value and the service was faultless. Went to see the dolphins in the bay from the hotel, but there are lots and lots of local fishing boats offering this trip now, so you may see more boats than dolphins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Scottyc01,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the positive review. Your satisfaction is always be our goal. In October, the sky is clear, the sea is calm, the breeze moderate and many dolphins were playing. Yes, as a fact, the boats are abundance. Thank you again, and I am hoping you will visit us again in a better time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I had never roomed together, so we picked the big suite, at a discount price of 450,000 per night. Well worth it! Plenty of space for two beds plus walking-around room, a separate room for sitting and watching TV, and a balcony.

The big room came with a disadvantage, though: the poor little air conditioner had to work full out to deal with the volume of air. Fighting off the heat of the afternoon is hopeless unless you over-chill the room overnight.

The hotel has a great location, on a quiet stretch of beach, an easy walk along the beach (or road, if you prefer) to the center of town.

Worst feature is the restaurant. Breakfast (free) is mediocre, with very limited selection, low-quality ingredients (even the fresh fruit did not taste very fresh), weak coffee.

And the pool looks nice but after being in the sun all day is not really cool enough to refresh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung37, Owner at Lovina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Alan Y,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.
I remember you've stayed with us, but did not see you grumpy. You understand and informative. I really appreciate it. I just want to say, your stay happened in the month of October, which is the hottest month and dry season. For you, we've installed an additional air conditioner. And also improve the restaurant. I hope your return visit next time. Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovina Beach Hotel

Address: Jalan Seririt - Singaraja, Bali 81152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovina Beach Hotel is the place to stay on the beach in the north of Bali. The location is convenient in the natural environment, away from the hustle and bustle in the South. From the highway it is very easy to enter to the parking area. The hotel area extends up to the sandy beach in front. The blue sea is perfect for salt water swimming all year round. DeLuxe Room with bungalow style, sea-view private terrace, sea-view restaurant, swimming pool and extensive gardens. Activities that can be done are to look at the natural environment, beach and sea creatures. Dolphin watching tours are popular today. See the surrounding villages, temple building with a traditional Balinese ceremony. It is advisable to buy souvenirs. Historically, Lovina Beach Hotel comes from a small guest house called Lovina, built in 1953 by the late Anak Agung Panji Tisna, once as the king of Buleleng. The business is managed by the same family until the present time. As seen today, this small cove-shaped beach, has swallowed more than six native beaches along the coastal more than 12 kilometers, bear the name Lovina Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lovina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovina Beach Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.