We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, quiet and relaxing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Lovina Beach Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Lovina Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Bali Lovina Beach Cottages
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Kalibukbuk, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, quiet and relaxing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My friends and I enjoyed two cottages with beach views and covered porches. The rooms were clean and air-conditioned. Wi-Fi was negotiated to be complimentary, though the service was slow. Laptop computer service was better at the dining room, which was spacious, with no walls on 3 sides, and semi-attached to a bar and the registration desk. Very pleasant.
My electricity did go out late one night, and I was able to have it repaired early the next day. The outdoor fuse box to my cottage had become corroded and useless and had to be replaced.
This is a small, intimate hotel, with a friendly helpful staff that felt more like friends and family than 'servants'.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    14
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We're not sure why we stayed here...Perhaps we were tired or took the recommendation from our transport organiser! Either way, as with previous visitors, we think this would have been lovely back in the 80s when it was new. Our introduction was looking at the entrance just off the main road and noting that the original reception area was no longer in use. The young woman who greeted us was very sweet, but asked for payment in advance. That should have been our first clue. Upon entering the room we saw a grotty, old and very tired paint job, the bathroom probably hadn't been really scrubbed for years and when we asked for ice for drinks the woman who brought it wanted to charge 5000 Rps for the service! The second day, we had a break in the weather (rain for days) and thought we'd sit 'round the pool. Unfortunately, the previously clearish water was murky and cloudy and we were told the filter was not working, therefore, the next hour and a half, staff continued to act like they were pumping out water with a petrol-operated generator, filling hose with tap water in order to get suction started...all this while smoking numerous cigarettes (we saw many staff members smoking while on the job, whether cleaning rooms, gardening or sweeping around the pool). The breakfast and taxes were included in the room (for which we were charged 350,000 Rps) and the location was good for other places. We made the best of the situation and enjoyed sleeping cheap, eating all of our other meals and having drinks in other places. We understand that there is a new owner but they will have a long way to go to come close to expected standards of accommodation for travellers nowadays. They did have WiFi but were charging 50 000 Rpr per day. We used the free wifi at one of many places up the road. One of our favourite restaurants was the Thai Jasmine Kitchen - excellent service, food, atmosphere, toilets (always a pleasure in Asia) and the best coffee we've had in Bali! Lovina itself seemed like it was permanently trapped in a bit of a timewarp...which was at times good and sometimes difficult to digest. (the same music from back in the 80sm prices still very inexpensive but most of the shops have closed down or have shop-soiled and faded clothes still hanging up for sale.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lovina Beach hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

When we arrived at the cottages we were greeted by friendly staff, they were the best thing this hotel had to offer. We got given welcome drinks which were just watered down orange juice and we saw a rat running around reception. Then we were shown our room, it smelt like cigarettes and mildew and was dark and dingy, so we asked for a new one. This next one was better but the shower floor was disgusting, the shower itself was just a trickle of water (not enough to wash yourself in), the light switch for the room was outside and the pillows gave you a headache. After having a terrible nights sleep due to the noisy nightclub from down the road, being greeted to the breakfast just made my grumpiness worse. I had the fresh fruit (3 pieces of watermelon and pineapple) and toast which was served cold. My Dad ordered coffee that tasted like hot cardboard but did not use the milk which was covered in ants. This hotel would have been great in its hey-day, all the owners need to do is put in a little effort and clean up and this place would have been okay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, we arrived late and tired from legian beach, we took a look at the beach cottage room nearest the pool, it was dark dinghy and musty, for some strange reason or just plain tiredness we stayed for the loaction right on the beach..we slept well that night thanks to the bintang, following night we were woken by scratching in the roof construction, turned out to be a rat! my partner took a trip to the toilet in the small hours and there it was, a blooming great rat running up the wall closely followed by a mouse! droppings all over the place! the place was stinking! i visited the toilet later and saw their mates! also wires hanging out of the walls and broken exposed dangerous sockets! we checked at as soon as possible the following day, i complained to the manager who seemed to think rat dropping by your toothbrush was alright!!! new young staff were enthusiastic and helpful.. the place in my opinion is a pit that doesn't deserve 2 stars.....what out if you are seated when next door flush, their waste comes bubbling up your bum!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

a family operated cottages and hotel at lovina beach bali. clean simple rooms with al fresco bathrooms for the cottage. air conditioner, refrigerator, tv, and hot and cold water for the bathroom. swimming pool with a wet bar amongst the hotels restaurant and the beach bar. food is average there, but a 2 minute walk to lovina's bustling shops and dining places. and most importantly, the owners of the place are very warm and welcoming people. all in all, i would come back time after time to that place.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel website features facilities that no longer exist. I did not stay in the cottages, but in the 2 storey buildings and even after changing rooms the sink leaked and a plumber had to change a part , I had to remove the shower head in order to get any water flow. Every surface was dirty, the flimsy towels were not changed on the second day. The staff were sweet, but the funds for the upkeep were not there. The gardens were nice. The beach and the sea would have been lovely, if the sellers were not there. I never made eye contatc with them and that helped. Best restaurant in Lovina: Jasmine.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and found the acccommodation to be very good. The beachfront location was excellent although somewhat marred by the constant hassle from beach vendors every time you set foot out of the door! Despite purchasing several items from them we were still accosted by them each time we left the bungalow! Without this hassle I would say it would have been near to perfection!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Lovina Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Lovina Beach Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Kalibukbuk, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bali Lovina Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bali Lovina Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Lovina Beach Cottages Hotel Singaraja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Lovina Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.