We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a paradise close to home..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Damai | Kajuputih, Bali 12789, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a paradise close to home..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Excellent service, magnificiant view of the ocean, wonderful breakfast, serene location, friendly staff.. There simply aren't enought superlatives to describe Purri Mangga.

Every morning at Puri Mangga will be greeted by the magnificiant view of the ocean from our terrace. This was followed by a fantastic breakfast whipped up by the chef (the fried rice is a must try!). The day can then either be spent relaxing by the pool or a taking a short trip to places like Menjangan island.

Overall the stay at Puri Mangga was one with the perfect blend of rest & relaxation and fun filled activities arranged by the staff. In short, this place is a must visit and Ganesha and team can expect us returning in the near future...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

The moment my friend and I stumbled out of our car, dirty and disheveled we were greeted with the utmost kindness and the friendliest of smiles. Despite the fact that we were the first guests of our kind (two twenty-something backpacking girls) they never treated us any less than any other guest. Every morning and all day all our needs were met with a personal level of professionalism. I can't say enough of how great the staff is...Ganaesa, the manager, Wylokan, Melly....everyone there was so wonderful.
As for the accommodations themselves, the standards are kept at a high at Puri Mangga. The rooms are kept tidy and are beautifully designed. Our villa offered us a sweeping view of the ocean from our porch and the pool was a skip away. If we had a little extra time on our hands in the evening we were able to borrow a dvd from their collection and watch it in our rooms (though most were in German).
Lastly, I was lucky enough to squeeze in a massage at the spa..It was divine. Ushi may be small, but appearances can deceive. She didn't rush it at all and she paid care to the most minute detail of comfort.
I was sad to go, but I definitely look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

After having done some research how to spice up our stay in Bali, we found the Puri Mangga over the internet, - thanks god!
We were a bit sceptical, if the reviews were kind of faked, since none of them showed the slightest negative point, but one has to admit: it is just perfect.

Sure - if you are looking for a large resort, with 3 different restaurants and shows in the evening, this might not be your place. But if you look for quietness, individualism and discreet luxury in its purest, friendliest and most personal way, then you will more than just enjoy it.

The other reviews mentioned already the sweet little houses with its awesome outside showers (taking a shower whilst the moon and stars are shining is just an incredible feeling), daybeds, which allow you to watch over the landscape down to the sea and its typical interior, so I will not describe all of that again.

The garden is very well maintained with a lot of attention to detail and wonderful flowers, which are daily picked and can be found on your bed when you return to your room after breakfast (cleaning is very well timed - the staff goes to your room whilst you sit on the terrace, enjoying the yummy breakfast (a la carte - you can choose whatever you want: pancakes, bread, jam, fruit salad, eggs in all variations - any special wishes, just let the cook know, he is happy to prepare whatever you want).

During the day you hang out around the overflow pool, with a great view over the landscape down to the sea. I personally am always too stressed to read books, but the chilling atmosphere there lets you calm down immediately and I read during our 5 days there around 1200 pages. In a hotel close by (Melka - but do not even think of staying there...) you can swim with dolphins (c. EUR 30 for c. 25 min), diving and snorkeling spots are relatively close by and it is not far to the beauties of the western part of Bali. But in general - the north is not very touristy, so it is difficult to find "western style" bars and clubs... but if you go to Puri Mangga, you are not really looking for those.

The evenings are spent with eating delicious food on the terrace, drinking a nice glas of wine (affordable prices.. rare in Bali!), whilst listening to the nature (cocks, geckos, etc.) and chilling music, reading one of the c. 120 books or watching a dvd (c. 100-150 films, if not more).

Purin Mangga has not the slightest to do with mass tourism (which you will not find in the north anyway) and the incredible true friendliness of the staff lets you feel like part of the familiy within hours.

The resort is a true pearl, one can only hope that it stays how it is. Thanks again to all of the staff for a great stay!

  • Liked — Staff friendliness, the reaxing atmosphere, individualism
  • Disliked — seriously.... I tried hard but couldn't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

After months of researching and planning for our first trip to Bali I can tell you that staying at Puri Mangga was an excellent choice. From the very begining when dealing with Hans & Angie (Resort Owners) I felt the decision for choosing Puri Mangga was right and true to their words it was fanstastic. Puri Mangga has been set in the Mountains with breathtaking view of the sea from every villa in the resort and from the pool area. Each villa has been layed out thoughtfully and surrounded with beautiful gardens. What makes it even more magical is the service from all the staff, from the cleaners, drivers, chefs, restuarant staff, and spa ladies. Always waiting on you hand and foot and aiming to please. They make you feel so comfortable and at home which is a very rare these days. The food from the chefs is superb with different items on the menu every day tantalising your taste buds. The Spa area is set with fantastic views, and the the soothing music, water fountains and incredible aromatherapy smells coupled with the massages from the spa ladies make all your stress melt away. Ganesha the Hotel Manager is at your service 24 hours to arrange all your needs. Drivers available to take you a short drive aways to bars and restuarants whenever you want. Shopping trips and even long excursion day trips arranged when it suites you which was fantastic. I went with group of 2 other families and had the whole resort to ourselves. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Bali and cannot wait to visit again!! If your looking for a resort that accommodates a few people, with peace tranquility, fantastic food, great service this is the place for you!

  • Liked — Views, Cleanliness, & service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Damai | Kajuputih, Bali 12789, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your dream vacation apart from the mass tourism in the north of Bali, the Island of Gods.Puri Mangga, a fine and cozy boutique residence, hidden on the hillside 3 kms south of Lovina and surrounded by ricefields and palm trees, is dedicated to offer you some of the finest things of Life: Luxury,Beautiness,Relaxation and great Food.Enjoy a special atmosphere and your soul will be captured for a long time.Experience our Restaurant with one of the best Food in Lovina with an Indonesian/Italian Fusion Kitchen. Our 3 chefs live and work for tasteful cooking and you will enjoy the freshness of our mostly organic food with every sense.The Spa of Puri Mangga offers a big variety of massage and body treatments. After a relaxing massage merge into the flowerbath with an exotic drink and enjoy the fragrances of the flowers and the phantastic view to Lovina Bay and the Chinese Sea.All the products we use in the Spa are natural and organic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort And Spa
Puri Mangga Sea View Hotel Lovina Beach
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.