We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place, amazing service. Perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
Jalan Damai | Kajuputih, Bali 12789, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Lovina Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible place, amazing service. Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but those 36 hours were purely magical. The resort is located on top of a village (about 3km from the beach - 10min shuttle ride), overlooking mango and rice fields with a sea view that is breathtaking. Our villa was lovely, very well designed with great art and an amazing outdoor bathroom (besides another indoor one). The staff really took care of us, and made sure our short stay was perfect. I would definitely recommend indulging in one of the spa treatments, the whole body Balinese massage hit the spot. I can't wait to go back and stay for longer. Thanks a lot guys!

Gaz

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 weeks in Puri Mangga and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The resort itself was everything it promised to be. We left all our cares and worries behind and slid into a warm caring and fun, never to be forgotten holiday. From the moment we arrived the staff were warm and very professional. Each staff member brought something special to the whole holiday. The food was fantastic. A mixture of European and Balinese . The chef took pride in everything he produced and sought our opinion after every meal. The vista of rice fields, jungle and sea took the breath away every morning, always slightly different. The spa was wonderful and the staff friendly and very skilled at their work.While very private we were never far away from the bustling life of Lovina with its bars and clubs. I can highly recommend this resort for its facilities , accommodation and most of all because of its wonderful staff. Our daughter flew from Perth to spend a week with us. It cost her very little to travel.

Room Tip: All the houses are excellent but certainly the Jungle house was truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Puri Mangga came very highly recommended by some German friends. We went over the Christmas and New Year's holiday 2013-2014. Though I was concerned about the travel time (40 hours one way from Chicago), the travel time investment was worth every minute. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. (Next time we will!)

The resort was exactly as described and pictured. We felt like pampered members of the family as soon as we arrived. The staff--without exception--could not have been more welcoming or more professional. We will have very fond memories of Mely and all the staff for many years to come.

We stayed in the villa to the left of the pool (the one with a private sitting area under a thatched hut). The room was well kept and immaculate. The pool area was lovely, and we had a panoramic view of the Bali Sea from our patio. The outdoor shower was lovely and relaxing. The outdoor toilet took some getting used to, but "outdoor toilet" doesn't do it justice--it was entirely civilized.

Though I was initially concerned about the bugs in a jungle setting, I have had more mosquito bites in a single evening in Chicago than I had in 8 days in Bali. And Edgar, our house gecko, did an excellent job of keeping down the bug population in the villa itself. (And he was adorable.)

We had the opportunity to see some of Lovina and highly recommend Kantina 21, though spending quiet evenings in the beautiful "family/dining room" at the resort was also relaxing and memorable.

We've been all over Europe and we've traveled extensively in Asia and North America. Our time at Puri Mangga ranks among the best of our stays.

Room Tip: All the villas appeared comfortable, though we loved our villa adjacent to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

As I was on a trip around the island unfortunately I only stayed at Puri Mangga for one night, but as I'd had a feeling this would be something special I arranged to arrive mid afternoon and didn't leave until 12 the next day, so luckily spent the maximum time possible.

Service - From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable - professional and friendly, and could not fault it - even the explanation of our room on being shown to it was the best I have had anywhere, and very helpful. The perfect number of towels appeared at the pool once the weather cleared. Staff we encountered around the grounds were friendly and pleasant. The meals were well explained to us upon arrival: timing for breakfast the next day - no latest time to arrive, which is great, and the menu for the night - there were two choices planned but as this was presented we were advised it was possible to have other dishes if these did not suit, and as I don't eat meat an alternative dish was arrived at. The children were also offered a choice of other foods in case they did not like spicy food (they don't) which was greatly appreciated, as was the offfer to dine earlier than usual hours if needed. Definitely the sort of place where you feel that you will be accommodated and that the staff will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.

The room - beautiful! We were in the double house, and loved the location close to the pool, the comfortable seating on the verandah, and the beautiful view over the gardens, rice paddies and ocean. Just a wonderful place to be! The room arrangement and furnishings were well thought out and comfortable, and there were some very thoughtful touches like incense, double sinks (beautiful), and 'proper' laundry hamper. There were frangipanis nicely placed around, not just on the bed, but even one between the bottles in the bathroom. The outdoor bathroom was the nicest I have seen, really lovely and as much a garden as a bathroom.

Restaurant - food was lovely, and dinner and drinks very reasonably priced. I am not generally a fan of pancakes but was tempted by the range here, and did not regret it. Snack are available all day (although of course we did not have enough time there to need more food). As well as tables there are some comfortable seating areas so would be great to just sit there and enjoy a drink and reading or conversation. A large library of books and DVDs available to borrow.

Location - out of Lovina and instead with a beautiful view towards the ocean - absolutely wonderful and loved watching how the view changed - beautiful whether raining or fine. The grounds were both beautifully set out and very well maintained. At times could hear the distant (which was perfect, not close enough to be intrusive, but audible enough to be nice) sound of a rooster, could hear balinese music at times (apparently spa type according to our driver) which was very relaxing.

Other - the pool was a great place to spend time, and we all really enjoyed swimming there. Pristine, which is impressive in the rainy season! There is a free shuttle down to Lovina at most hours (although as we had our own driver plus did not want to leave! we did not use it). Even the book of guest information was very thoughtfully presented, both aesthetically and in terms of information. Smoking is allowed in the restaurant, so if Australian or American and not used to smoke while dining you may wish to arrange to dine earlier than others or at your room, or to arrange beforehand to be seated to avoid smoke (I am very sure this would be accommodated).

Will definitely stay here again, and for at least 3 or 4 days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Greatly enjoyed 3 nights during X-mas 2013. Experienced and very friendly staff, beautiful and comfortable bungalows and good chefs in the kitchen.
In combinination with a beautiful set-up of the Spa, one of those smaller resorts you could only wish for in Bali. Great scenery over some rice fields in the direction of the sea (some 4 km down the hill)
Whereas Lovina itself is not such a thrill, the resort itself is VERY enjoyable. Just rent a scooter in Lovina for 3euro's a day and make your own trips. Don't forget to try one of the warungs along the coats west of Lovina. You might be the only tourist amongst local people, and they serve the freshest grilled fish with a Bintang beer almost for free... ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've stayed at Puri Mangga for 2 weeks. It's a little paradise: Stunning view, very friendly personnel that is ready to fulfill every wish, clean rooms with high-quality handmade furniture and decoration from Balinese craftsmen (incl. open-air bathroom - have a shower under the stars!), very good food, different 3-course dinner menu every day made from 100% fresh ingredients, driver services always available to get down to the town or to do any excursions you want.

The fact that the resort is situated a bit remotely (far from mass tourism!) and it consists of only a few bungalows spread over a large park makes it feel really private and individual. Only drawback of the rooms is the subtle lighting which may not be bright enough at night.

This place is not for one-night stays when you're traveling through, instead, it's a perfect oasis for relaxing! I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Check room details on their website - every room/bungalow is quite individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a booking for one night in this resort from all the good review through tripadvisor.
This place is so hidden inside a ''jungle'', feel creepy as our car approached the super narrow dark alley.The side mirror of the car were sweeping across all the tree branches and leaves as we drive through (so imagine how small is the ''road'')

At one point we thought we got cheated because we find it almost impossible that the resort is inside this kinda place. Finally we reached a dim dark and a bit eerie resort with very pathetic yellow light around.

PAYING FOR WATER BILL:
Upon checking in, we were told that we need to pay an additional RP300,000 because there are 2 of us but we made a booking for a double bedroom and had made a full payment through Agoda before this. They said we only booked a double room for 1 person. The manager said she need to supply breakfast for another 1 person and also the laundry service eg. towel and etc. (Dont tell me u arent going to put your bedsheet and blanket to wash if its only used by 1 person)
So i told her i dont need your towel and breakfast for the additional 1 person. Then she said alright then RP200,000 .
I'm like OMG, so what am i paying for? water bill for a night that cost USD20?? Seriously? To avoid having any conflict i finally get to negotiate to USD15 for the additional 1 person WATER BILL. In the end, she said alright additional USD15 and told us that we can use their towel =.=''.

The chalet itself were dark with dim yellow light, room full of mossies without any repellent provided in the room. To our surprise, we saw COCKROACH crawling inside our room!!! Oh my goodness, we immediately lift up our luggage onto the table and chair.
TV doesnt function for local channel, u can only borrow the DVD from the receiption area and most of the DVD were translated to French. We end up listening to the mossies buzzling through the whole sleepless night.

The ''garden toilet'' was another shocking surprise. Can see ants crawling around near the toilet bowl, open air shower without rooftop. First time in our life that we only spent maximum 5 mins to shower.

Next day breakfast was another disappointment, staff were rude. Upon knowing only one person dine in for the breakfast, she immediately keep away all the other utensils to avoid another person using it. I guess its not included into the USD15 water bill. Staff were showing attitude once they know that u r not rich and u only order one set of breakfast.
Conclusion, they will only serve u best if you are rich.
Price for this resort is not cheap at all. Seriously, if u want a good sleep with nice and clean room, with this kinda price u can easily get another better one, atleast without cockroach. AVOID!!

Room Tip: AVOID this place unless u dont mind insects at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twincam-rc, Owner at Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello to whom it concerns,
it is interesting that these kind of not very nice comments come mostly from people, they booked a single room and came with two persons and stayed only one night. And then they are angry, because they have to pay for a second person....
Showing up with 2 people and paying only for one, what a surprise that we can't accept that....? In every hotel of the world a single room is less expensive than a double room. And to prove that you only booked a single room, here is the voucher from the Hotel platform, where you booked your stay in Puri Mangga.: (original copy from your voucher with out personal things like names etc.) :

"This booking is prepaid
Reservation Information Booking xxxxx
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa
(Hotel ID 443856)
City : Bali

Customer First Name xxx
Customer Last Name: xxx
Country of Passport Asia Area
Check-in October 16, 2013
Check-out October 17, 2013

Room Type No. of Rooms Max Occupancy Breakfast Included No. of Extra Bed
Superior Room 1 1 Person(s) Yes 0

So I remember the case pretty good, because we have been also during that time in the resort. There was quite a big discussion between you and our manager and she tried to explain you, why you have to pay more for 2 persons. Even she doesn't have to explain it to you, because she didn't book this single room. You were bargaining about everything, even you wanted to abstrain from the breakfast, you wanted to use only one towel, only 1 person using the shower etc. At the end of all the bargaining you paid 150.000 Rupias more (around 15 US$) for the second person, so you got the room for a lot lower price as we offer it normally. Therefor we really don't understand your comment, it was a courtesy from us towards you. and as a appreciation of that we got that really "nice" comment...
And the fact is really not that you have to pay for extra water or whatever, these are sidescenarios and not importan at all.
To the rest of your complaints; we have been also during breakfast in the dining area, and we didn't recognize that the staff was in someway rude, on contrary. You ordered only breakfast for ONE PERSON and that was the deal also with our manager. And you shared everything with your friend, and you got so much that it was enough for the both of you. Our service girl was first asking you very politely if she could take away the second breakfast set, because she was informed by you, that you only want 1 breakfast. You and our manager told her to leave it and she left the second set anyway on the table. It is really a pitty and absurd to argue about these little things in the world wide web....
Plus to tell it to all the people who read it, we tread all our guests the same, doesn't matter if they rich or poor, doesn't matter from where they coming and doesn't matter if they are black or white or...
Anyway I never saw people checking in at a hotel and start bargaining. You knew the prices before, also with our outside bathrooms, we built them on purpose in that style because our guests love it and due to the walls around you have your absolute privacy.... And in Agoda's or our website or on tripadvisor there are pictures of these bathrooms. So you know what you can expect in Puri Mangga.
TV: we don't have TV stations, neither international nor national because of the following reasons: we want that our guests have a completely relaxment here in our resort, for that they should not be bothered with any news or commercial broadcasts on TV. If they want to see the news of the world, we have 2 laptops for the guests with wlan where they can check what is going on in the world, also we have for your personal use Wlan in all the houses. These TV's incl. DVD players are only for Movies, you have here in Puri Mangga a selection of over 500 Movies and Documentary DVD's.
Mosquitos and other insects: we are located in a rural area with a lot of plants, trees etc. almost like in a jungle and due to these circumstances it is evident to have some insects. And therefor we have mosquito nets in every room. Or you want that we spray chemicals every day and our guests have to breath these chemicals?
By the way, during our visit in Malaysia we also were bitten by Mosquitos...
Ok, if you explain to the readers to avoid our place, this is your own choice, but it is not fair against our nice staff that you knock them down like that.
Anyway if you think our hotel is so bad, so all our other nice guests who have been here already and they really liked and enjoyed it and wrote nice comments must be wrong...?
We are really open for all complaints and advices how we can make our hotel better, but with such unsustainable comments like yours we don't even have a chance to improve.... Sorry to tell you that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Damai | Kajuputih, Bali 12789, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your dream vacation apart from the mass tourism in the north of Bali, the Island of Gods.Puri Mangga, a fine and cozy boutique residence, hidden on the hillside 3 kms south of Lovina and surrounded by ricefields and palm trees, is dedicated to offer you some of the finest things of Life: Luxury,Beautiness,Relaxation and great Food.Enjoy a special atmosphere and your soul will be captured for a long time.Experience our Restaurant with one of the best Food in Lovina with an Indonesian/Italian Fusion Kitchen. Our 3 chefs live and work for tasteful cooking and you will enjoy the freshness of our mostly organic food with every sense.The Spa of Puri Mangga offers a big variety of massage and body treatments. After a relaxing massage merge into the flowerbath with an exotic drink and enjoy the fragrances of the flowers and the phantastic view to Lovina Bay and the Chinese Sea.All the products we use in the Spa are natural and organic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mangga Sea View Hotel Lovina Beach
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort And Spa
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa Lovina Beach, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.