We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunston Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunston Hall to your Saves list
Dunston Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lower Stondon, Bedfordshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

On driving up to the hotel, you cannot fail to be excited! Beautiful tree lined driveway. The reception staff were efficient, the public areas clean, warm and inviting! My room however, was dirty! On 1st impression it looked clean, the bedroom itself was clean but the bathroom was grubby and tired! The grout around the tiles was orange, a light was hanging loose from the ceiling, there were cobwebs on the cornices and the toilet had brown limescale on the bowl. I'd already unpacked when I noticed so didn't bother with a room change. Apart from that, the public areas were clean, I ate in the bar on both nights and the food was good and inexpensive. Noticed a big crowd of elderly guests, think this is the norm as a taxi driver said it attracts large coach tours! Would I stay again? Yes, I will be back next month due to work but hope to avoid room 515!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    449
    312
    160
    89
See reviews for
219
682
25
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the autumn deal with my boyfriend, found the reception and eating area 'brasserie' nice but the main corridors and stairwells like an old people home.
hotel so dated its depressing, we booked a king room- expecting to find a luxurious room.
walked in to a dated and sad looking room, bathroom was not very appealing. bath looked liked it belonged in a Pontins and shower head pathetic.
so glad we got the autumn deal so 2 nights £70 each as if we paid proper price would of been really annoyed.
staff very friendly though, just a shame hotel wasn't great

definitely wouldn't bother returning, felt bit depressed on check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived Friday afternoon & booked a treatment in the Spa, there was plenty of treatments to choose from on the list. & it was very nicely done.
We stay at the hall for 2 nights for a dinner & dance the hot buffet food on the Friday night was very tasty & cooked very well, bar service was very slow it needed more bar staff at one point we waited 20 min for a drink. The Saturday I went for a swim & my husband played golf. We went in the main bar for lunch which was very disappointing & tasteless the only thing in the wrap was the pesto & there was so little of it it did nothing, & I did tell them! Saturday evening the food & service was very good as was the hall but the bedrooms & parts of the hotel are tired they need some smarting up, breakfast was very nice & overall we were happy & had a good weekend there. We would go back again as the atmosphere was very nice & relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

we stopped here for one night on a shopping trip to Norwich the room was very nice with four poster bed and seating area very large room . we used the spa which was very nice with small pool steam and sauna room also a small hot tub in the evening we dinned in the restaurant which was very nice all in all a good place to stop for a night or two

Room Tip: pay extra for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Pros
Location great
Good entrance hall and bar area
Spa treatments
Staff are polite and friendly

Cons
Rooms very tired and dated
Mildew and mould in shower
Public areas in annexe not well maintained
Pool area poorly maintained
Changing rooms in gym like a steam room
Noisy

Overall

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having read some reviews on Dunston Hall I was a little apprehensive about staying here. However, my concerns were unnecessary. On arrival we were greeted by the Duty Manager, given our keys and for those who required it, luggage taken to rooms. The room was a large twin room which was well appointed and clean as was the bathroom. We were having an early meal as we were going to the Christmas Spectacular at Thursford. We had several starters to choose from, a really good carvery which was lovely and hot, various desserts and tea/coffee. Staff were very welcoming and efficient. Breakfast was equally as good as was hot. Unfortunately there was no time to use the swimming pool etc., but I certainly will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ropsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

first class service from all members of staff, from booking into the hotel and leaving.
Staff were exeptionally friendly and went out their way to ensure that you had a great break, a truely great atmosphere where you could relax.

The hotel offer great facilities, I made full use of the swimming pool during my two day stay at De Vere Dunston Hall.

De Vere Dunston Hall is set in 150 acres ( wonderful surroudings) we would loved to of stayed for a longer period of time. (Thank you )

Room Tip: Large corner suites (room) which over looked the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunston Hall

Address: Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England (Formerly De Vere Dunston Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunston Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.