We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Norwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Vere Dunston Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added De Vere Dunston Hall to your Saves list
De Vere Dunston Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location for Norwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel promises so much in terms of location and character but doesn't quite deliver because of the "missing" touches. Would rate this as a 3 1/2 star hotel not four star. Dinner excellent in variety and quality but service poor. Lots of character.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear john W
Thank you for your feedback-we are now embarking on training to enable our teams to really go the extra for our guest and provide those finishing touches.I`m glad you had a great meal in our Brasserie restaurant and do try our new bar menu next time you come to see us.
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    396
    277
    145
    78
See reviews for
197
599
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for valentines weekend, one word amazing !!! Value for money, beautiful setting, lovely helpful staff!!! Afternoon tea is a must!!! Breakfast in bed was a delight!!! Spa is great fun and very relaxing!!! It's a must everybody loves a romantic weekend away!!! We loved it :) 1st class Xx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear mrscaland
Many thanks for the feedback on your romantic break, we are often referred to an ideal venue for such a weekend-do come back and see us next year and maybe try one of our 4 poster suites
kind regards
Paul Murfitt
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night (Friday 29th March, Good Friday) I was beyond impressed, on arrival we were greated by lovely reception staff and a lovely restuarant manager who checked our booking for our evening meal, they were both so pleasant and helpful as have had bad experiences with reception staff at other hotels so it was very refreashing.
Our room was fantastic, very big and spacious and all we needed for a great stay, our evening meal was mad even better by the waiting staff we had in the resturant they were so helpful and friendly and we were both very impressed, the carvary we had was delicious and well worth the money was a little dissapointed though as the chef on the carvery was miserable but other than that top marks.
We slept very well and breakfast in the morning was superb, all you could want and again very good staff and great food, we will definately return and cant wait to come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed overnight at du stin hall for our wedding anniversary. It is a really nice venue, seems like you are in a remote rural location but still close to the city of Norwich. The room was very nice, comfortable bed, decent size tv, lots of furniture and storage. The bathroom was clean with a good shower. The pool is very clean and warm and towels are provided. We used the spa for a 60 minute massage which was very relaxing. The good was very nice and lots if selection at dinner and breakfast. The staff were very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Well upon arrival we were greeted with helpful and friendly staff, cakes were offered in a bid to raise money for charity, which I thougt was lovely.
Our room was spacious, clean and the sheets were extra soft.
I used the treatment rooms, where I found again, pleasent, helpful staff who made me feel welcome and at home and all the while like a special guest.
Luckily for me, my boyfriend proposed that evening and from then on we were even more fussed over, it was amazing. They upgraded us to a four poster room...which had breathtaking views over the golf course. The recepion team had given us champagne, chocolates and a congratulations card in our room to!
It was awesome.
The reception staff all wanted to see the ring as did the lilac rooms staff when I returned the next day for another treatment...all genuine lovely ladies!
My boyfriend used the gym and thought it was epic, where a trainer spent time with him encouraging him to take up.boxing, apparantly he has a flair for it!
Food was faultless, everyone was warm welcoming anf held a smile.
Best 2 days away ever...I would return in a heartbeat...if they can get me to leave in the 1st place! hehe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

hotel staff were mostly young very smart and very polite . having said that all staff very nice and polite. rooms clean. grounds and settings fantastic we will be staying again . to all the staff at dunstan hall many thanks see you soon dr kelly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A lovely stay, would come back.
Nice pool, fab food, good large towels and a great breakfast.
Loved it. The staff were really friendly and a did dinner and breakfast so good value for money.
Only downside - drinks are very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Vere Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Dunston Hall

Address: Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your De Vere Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vere Dunston Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.