We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money, especially good breakfast into price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Exeter Court Hotel to your Saves list
Exeter Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for Money, especially good breakfast into price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Exeter Court and nothing has changed our minds from the first time. The rooms, although not large, are very clean and comfortable, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I am a particularly 'picky' eater but on both occasions could not find one fault with the quality of the food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    121
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
46
103
14
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

My partner and I had spent two nights in St Ives and decided to book a night at this hotel near Exeter as a break on our way back to Bristol.
It was bright and modern with a pretty reception area. The layout is as others have said - sort of like a motel with rooms spaced around a courtyard - but don't worry, this is where the motel similarities end.
The room we had was a 'luxury double' for £67 (booked on the hotel's website after ringing the hotel and a kind receptionist telling us we would get it cheaper by booking on the web).
It was very spacious and had a comfortable bed - my only complaint was that the bed was quite a small double. I would have thought the luxury double meant a bigger bed but I think it just meant having a comfy lounger type chair and a huge TV! The shower was amazing - very powerful and easy to use! The decor was modern and clean and the hotel's location (literally a minute off the A38) made it very easy to find and only took us about 15 minutes to drive into Exeter.
Breakfast was waiter service for the cooked breakfast and was delicious. If you didnt want a cooked breakfast the choice of cereals was good.
All in all a very nice hotel with professional staff and a good location for people travelling back from th south west.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinckley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Good quality hotel and great value for money. Well appointed rooms and general areas. Good location for travelling around the West Country. Food excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Just got back from this hotel after having a short holiday. We stayed 4 nights with breakfast. The room wasn't massive but we thought it was of adequate size for what we needed. The room was cleaned every day and the staff always said hello. We had a modern flat screen tv in our room and had a hospitality tray (with kettle, milk, tea, coffee and biscuits). There was also a hairdrier in the room. Our room wasn't noisy from the nearby road. It is possible that others might be depending on which block you stayed in.

The breakfast was very good. There was a choice of cereals, juices, yoghurts and fresh fruit which you helped yourself to from the side table. You could then choose to have the full english breakfast or from a list of other options, e.g. scrambled egg, poached etc. There was also a choice of tea or coffee which was brought to your table and toast and preserves.

The staff were all efficient and polite. Yes there were some foreign staff, but I did not have trouble understanding them. The waiter named Ramesh was particularly hardworking and looked after us very well during the two evening meals we had. Again the food was of a good standard and very nicely presented.

I would have no hesitation staying here again and I would recommend it to a friend.
It is conveniently situated as there is plenty to do in this area no matter what the weather.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Postives: (1) The rooms have great double glazing which does help keep out the traffic noise from the dual carriageway which is literally within yards from some rooms. It will also blot some of the noise from Wedding revelers as the place is used as a Wedding venue (2) You will have the biggest smile on your face when you leave the place for good and it will make you appreciate that other places that you have stayed weren't actually that bad.

Negatives: It was cheap but you should still expect the room to be clean and ours was not. Breakfast was served by staff who barely had a command of english and it was uncooked.

Verdict: Avoid like the plague unless you want to get the plague.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for one night as a stopover on our way to Cornwall. Booked online through their website at a rate of £55.20 for a Small double room, plus breakfast.

The hotel is easy to find, excellent location. Reception staff cheery and check-in was quick. The room was small but we were expecting this as we did go for the small double, but it was clean and practical. Bathroom also clean with bath and shower, and good water pressure. The room got quite hot during the night and there was no air-con but at least we could open the window to get some air. There was no safe in the room. Given the hotel location, the room was actually very quiet.

Breakfast is served in the Mocca room which was nicely decorated and service was good. There was not much choice for the continental breakfast, but the cooked breakfast more than made up for it and was excellent.

Wireless internet is available and moderately priced. They also have a PC in the reception area available for guests.

Overall, a good choice of hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

last minute stop over on business,easy to find well located to explore the area or a good stop over to cornwall,
rooms quite small but exceptionally clean and like new,no free internet bit of a let down in this day and age
had bar food which was cheap and ok resturant looked a bit empty , breakfast was good and served quickly,
paid 47,50 for band b bargain would stay again pity about the internet

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.