We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Exeter Court Hotel to your Saves list
Exeter Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Tamworth staffs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Well what can i say late bookiing due to work being held up,excellent hotel and bar staff.
waiters and reception very helpful.
Room very bright and more than adequete for the stay close to the A38 will stay again when in the area.
Recomend for couples or business all charges and food good value.
Set as four linked buildings so you walk from and to the main building which is the reason for very good instead of excellent.
you can walk all round under cover if you want to

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    121
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
46
103
14
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We were a group of 15 - ages ranged from late 40's to generally 19's.
Booking process via Internet and Phone very good. Dissapointed that No discount was offered and asked for considering group size. Hotel is more like a motel but we liked it.
Reception / Welcome: Friendly and Proffesional
Rooms: Clean, Bright, Small but adequat for purpose
Bar: Friendly, Clean, Plenty of Chairs & Tables
Restaurant: Excellent Service (Really couldn't fault at all)
Food (evening): Overall very good with one main course issue, also lack of stock on some starters.
Food (breakfast): Service very good, portions small, taste good.
Overall a good experience for price, location and need.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our trip to Devon. The hotel is more like a 'motel' with all the rooms placed around a courtyard with parking spaces. Plenty of parking space.
The staff in reception were all very friendly and helfpul.
The room was small but for one night it was enough. It was nicely warm when we walked in, the shower had a great water pressure and it was hot, which was lovely after a long journey.
We had dinner in their restaurant. The servic was very good, food beautifully presented and for less then £ 16 for 3 course meal we thought it was great value!
I would give 5* to the restaurant and 3* to the hotel, so that's why I gave this hotel 4* in total.
The only minus was the thin walls. We could hear people coughing and talking in the next room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed here for one night on the way to Plymouth.
First impressions were not good, its just off the A38, we arrived after dark and the hotel looked like it was closed, very few lights and the entrance was unlit. However reception is very nicely decorated and bright and we were warmly welcomed. As others have said its a motel with rooms around a central car park, given our key we drove to our block and unloaded the car.
It had been snowing during the day and there was a light dusting of snow, unfortunately there is a steep slope to the entrance to the rooms but there was no evidence that the path had been gritted in any way, had we been elderly or infirm in any way, this would have been a big problem and we could well have had an accident.
The room had been refurbished, it was very small but adequate. Fittings were good, and in excellent condition. Flat screen TV and superb power shower, comfy bed and nice pillows. Ideal for a one or two night stay - any longer and the room would be just too small. We didnt eat dinner in the hotel, following the recomendation of a previous reviewer we drove to the village and went to the Ley Arms pub/restaurant. To our suprise this was full of locals and we couldnt get a table in the restaurant, it looked very good though and we were dissapointed, we ended up at a so-so carvery in Exford.
We slept well and breakfast the next morning was perfectly acceptable, generous portions, freshly cooked and very polite East European staff. The bar & restaurant were clean and very well decorated. A lot of money has been spent here in the recent past.
I would stay here again for a night or two, not longer. next time I'd try their restaurant.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

this is a motal not a hotal and it not in exeter as the name implys, breakfast is included in the price so your paying for it even if you dont have it, the bar looks nice but the staff all seem to be from different parts of the world some with strong acsents and very little english the rooms are a fair size but very plain, the food was poor at best and the choice isnt that good. the keycard for the room door didnt work the frist time and there

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed here as a last minute thing to break up a long journey. It was cheap and (sort of) cheerful. But at about £49 for a big double room, en suite, with breakfast thrown in, and free parking right outside, we couldn't really sniff. Breakfast was very average, but they didn't charge extra like a lot of places do now. It is basically a motel, but it doesn't really claim to have any airs and graces. The room was clean and tidy and had everything you would need. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but it looked OK. We wouldn't go back for fun, but it would certainly do if you get caught short and want to break a journey.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We booked 2 nights at the Exeter Court, to tie in with watching Brighton play Exeter City.
The hotel is a few miles south of Exeter, but the views of open countryside were more attractive than staying in the city centre.
The hotel is more motel like in layout, with single storey blocks round a central area. We were lucky it didn't pour when we went to breakfast or dinner!
Our room wasn't quite ready, but staff were pleasant and helpful, and we had a relaxing coffee in the bar while we waited. The room was small (no-where to put a case except on the bed) but clean and comfortable. It was a bit warm, so we turned the heating off. As the room is at ground level, and there are no security restraints on the window, I imagine it could be excessively warm in summer.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings, and the food and service were excellent. The menu choice was adventurous (feta stuffed squid, smoked duck in aspic, venison), and service attentive but not intrusive. Dishes were well presented, with fresh vegetable side dishes. Wine was very reasonable.
We also ate breakfast there. It was a pleasant change to be waited on, but it would have been better if the cooked breakfast had arrived a bit less punctually, as we were still eating our cereal.
Would definitely go back. It was friendly and well kept, with little touches like changing coloured lights in the gardens. It was nice to be looked after - and all at less than the cost of some so-called 'cheap' chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.