We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Exeter Court Hotel to your Saves list
Exeter Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend chose this hotel based on it's reviews on Trip Advisor and it's location as a touring base for Exeter and the surrounding area.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly, polite receptionist who promptly checked us in.

Unfortunately the first room had huge cracks all over the place including right down the middle of the ceiling. It also had coffee stains and other random marks all over the walls.

We asked to see a second room, so we were handed the keycard and went to look at it. At the entrance to the hotel block there was paint flaking off all over the wall on one side and on the other there was a huge amount of cigarette butts on the floor where the collector had overflowed (not welcoming). The second room was unfortunately very, very dirty. There were several dead insects immediately apparent as well as cracks everywhere and stains on the walls.

We were then offered a third room, this time the receptionist checked the room with us. The room had a large tear in the chair and was also not very clean.

At this stage the receptionist said that we could have an upgrade to a larger room,

Our fourth room was much cleaner than the other rooms but still had a dead spider and lots of grime down the side of the wardrobe, no lock on the bathroom door, a very unclean looking showerhead (brown stains) and wallpaper coming off above it, a stained chair but most shockingly was the fact that it had inter-locking doors with the room beside it. We couldn't believe that the door between our room and the next was left UNLOCKED! At this stage we locked the door but then noticed that there is an unsecured roof hatch in the bathroom..maybe these are blocked off above the rooms but there was no mention of this and it unsettled my girlfriend.

In summary, this place could be great. Based on it's location and the presentation of the entrance/reception area and bar/restaurant however it is severely let down by the poor maintenance and lack of cleanliness.

It does not give a good first impression when you are trying to find the place and you see that the sign is broken so there is a big light but no name.

Overall, I am sorry to say that we will not return to this hotel. The cleanliness and presentation are too much to ignore and I would recommend spending your hard earned cash elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterCourt, General Manager at Exeter Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. I was concerned to hear that your adjoining door was unlocked - I have addressed this with the members of staff responsible to ensure this does not happen again. The loft hatches are most certainly secure; they are indeed blocked off above each bedroom. You were upgraded to a large double room as a gesture of goodwill because you were so unhappy with the standard rooms you originally looked at. Once again thank you for your feedback and if you would like to discuss these comments further please feel free to email me at info@exetercourthotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    108
    53
    27
    17
See reviews for
41
98
14
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Reception excellent, very smart and modern, staff polite and efficient. Room immaculate whilst not large was more than adequate. Bathroom very clean. Weather was very cold, February evening room very warm and cosy.
Bar meal selection good large quantity of food, cosy atmosphere with nice coal effect fire, again modern surroundings.
Breakfast selection of fruit juices, cereals and fresh fruit followed by full English breakfast. Good value for money. Did find a little difficulty getting from A38 across otherwise lovely place to stay, will definitely use again.

Room Tip: Rooms are set in individual blocks we were in one , cars are parked outside blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is very good value for money (we paid £59 a night for our room including breakfast),and in a convenient location for motorists, being just off the A38, easy for visiting Exeter, the Torbay resorts, Salcombe and Dartmoor by car. The rooms are arranged in blocks around the car park and you can park outside your room. The room was maybe a little bit small but very comfortable, with a good shower. The reception area, bar and restaurant were of a high standard. The service was good and the restaurant meals and portion size were excellent, and good value. Breakfast was fine too and staff were helpful. There is a very large aquarium in the restaurant which is interesting to watch the fish while you eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Needed a hotel for one night that was both comfortable and affordable on a business trip to Exeter.
Booked a single room with breakfast for £59.00
However on arrival upgraded to a Suite for just £40.00
The room on entry was cold as the heating was centrally controlled on a timer.
I asked for this to be put on constant and everything was fine.
The evening meal was good and the breakfast excellent.
Ample parking and no problems with the WI-FI

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Let me say right at the beginning that this hotel is some ways out from the centre of Exeter and therefore best suited for motorists and those visiting Exeter Racecourse. That having been said, I rate it very favourably on all counts starting with friendliness, welcome and reception. The bar and restaurant are informal but good and inexpensive.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, as is the entire establishment. And the breakfast is good, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

just had my 50th birthday party here. right from the first viewing of the venue and every step inbetween Clair & her staff where most helpful. On the day of the party everything was as promised and many guests had booked rooms to stay over and they where all happy too. The buffett provided was excellent and breakfast in the morning was just what was needed. Would recomend to anyone.

Room Tip: highly recommend either suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

my daughter booked this hotel for me and her mother has she was returning to the university. this was our first stay here and we must say the staff were fantastic and very helpful, also we found the room to be very tasteful and clean, the brekfast was tasty and plentyfull so overall i must say it was a pleasent experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Court Hotel

Address: A38, Kennford, Exeter EX6 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Kennford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kennford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Exeter Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just off the A38 in the heart of Devon, this Exeter hotel is packed with charm, warmth and genuine smiles from people ready to make you feel at home. Unrivaled conference facilities, comfortable contemporary bedrooms and friendly service make the Exeter Court Hotel in Devon the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whether you are looking for a long leisurely stay, a place to escape after an intense business meeting or a room to unwind in after being on the road all day, this stylish Exeter hotel has a range of accommodation to suit all. Situated adjacent to the main reception area, the hotel’s 62 bedrooms are appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, LCD televisions and Wi-Fi access. Contemporary and comfortable, the hotel’s bedrooms offer the perfect combination for making your stay a truly relaxing one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Exeter Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Court Hotel Kennford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.