We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a Grenadian Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort
Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001 , Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Sausalito, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for a Grenadian Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Le Phare Bleu is a great boutique resort for anyone looking for a comfortable Caribbean vacation. The villas are beautifully appointed. I felt like I was visiting a rich friend’s Caribbean home with lovely furnishings & touches without it being too fussy. There is a lot of Grenadian culture incorporated into the resort, which I prefer to being isolated from it. Friendship table is a night where large tables are set up in the restaurant. Guests, locals and cruisers are all invited to mingle and share a great meal. The food is very good combining traditional & local dishes and using fresh organic veggies and herbs grown on their own farm. The music is awesome with local & visiting bands appearing regularly. There are hobi cats & kayaks for use by guests in the beautiful bay. Great snorkeling as well. The attached marina has a constant influx of international cruisers. The Swiss owners have applied a sophisticated sensibility to this resort while still capturing the essence of island living. It is not my first time here, and I always look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A beach villa is fabulous, but if you can afford the Garden Villa go for it. It has a pool inside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Sales & Marketing Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Marsha for taking the time to write a review for Le Phare Bleu. We are always pleased to see you return to stay with us and we hope you come back again soon. Not sure we saw you on a Hobie Cat this trip but perhaps next time!

We have a few projects that we are working on right now that might be of interest for your next visit. The first is Pack For A Purpose - a great incentive for our international guests who want to make a difference as well as enjoying this developing country. We are supporting a local School who are in need of basic items for their 115 pupils - paper, notebooks, pencils, pens etc. The other is on a health level - we are getting into juicing of the healthily kind using our homegrown and organic vegetables and fruits.

Our support of local talented musicians is ongoing and there will be more events but I am sure you will keep in touch via our Facebook page and website.

Many thanks and take care
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to agree with the previous reviewer that this place is infested with mosquitoes. I was here in the middle of June staying at a fabulous hotel Mount Hartman Bay Estate. We needed a restaurant between my hotel and Westerhall Point where my colleague lives and we found this place advertising themselves as 'one of the best boutique hotels and restaurants' on the island. The location seemed to work so we booked. Within a couple of minutes of arrival we were all struggling with the number of mosquitoes, even our 'local' colleague. We were bitten on the face, ears, neck and even on our hands and everyone was complaining. The place is rustic and the 'restaurant' is just an open deck with tables far too close together. The menu is pizza, burgers, rotis. Okay for lunch but not for dinner. This is not one of the best hotels and restaurants on Grenada, not by a long way, and this was the worst place on the Island for mosquitoes by far. I left confused and disappointed by this place. It seems to be a marina that has rooms and is also trying to be a property developer. It is not a convenient location being a difficult drive from St Georges and is definitely not worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are very sorry that you experienced high levels of mosquitoes on the night you visited our Deck Restaurant. Unfortunately when the seasons change from dry to wet you do see an increase in numbers. Part of the response to the previous reviewer can also be mentioned here -

We fog regularly to keep the level of mosquitoes low using the most eco friendly vapor found on the market that is similar to the spray used by airlines. Plus, all the water in our ornamental cooper pots and drainage overflow pond, we place crystals that stop the mossie lava from developing but is not harmful to fish or other animals living in or that may drink the water. Due to the start of the rainy season, which means it rains most days but normally only for a short while, the mossies are all coming out to play after a very dry dry season. As mentioned before, we do manage the levels but there is a cycle – fog and then fog again in two days and then every week, plus change between the three options of vapor to prevent the mossies from becoming immune. This cycle is used during the wet season and reduces down in the dry season. Unfortunately we assume we were between the start of the wet season cycle the day you visited.

We think that you may have confused us with another hotel as we do not describe ourselves as being 'the best luxury boutique hotel in Grenada’, we wouldn't as we are not - we do say we are one of the top Boutique Hotels offering a village like atmosphere - rustic charm - two restaurants in high season, mini market and can swim from the docks in the cleanest marina in the Caribbean. I realise the word Boutique is subjective, but it is used to point out that we are not a standard hotel.

The Deck is a casual dining restaurant that offers a full menu ranging from snacks to fish and steak dishes, plus offers daily blackboard specials. On Tuesday nights we do offer a homemade pizza special, which is open to everyone to come and enjoy. We are not a gated hotel but are very involved in the local community.

Thank you for your feedback as we do take your comments seriously. As you will see from our other reviews this is not our usual standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful place but weird open concept. No privacy, no security, Mosquitos every where. Why would you have a hotel with no walls in an area where Dangi Fever is present. Then put contains of stagnant water all around the rooms just to make sure you get the whole blood sucking experience

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Le Phare Bleu does all it can to be kind to nature and as eco-friendly as possible. Grenada is in the tropics and unfortunately the tropics have bugs – Dengue Fever is not prevalent in Grenada, thank goodness.

We fog regularly to keep the level of mosquitoes low using the most eco friendly vapor found on the market that is similar to the spray used by airlines. Plus, all the water in our ornamental cooper pots and drainage overflow pond, we place crystals that stop the mossie lava from developing but is not harmful to fish or other animals living in or that may drink the water. Due to the start of the rainy season, which means it rains most days but normally only for a short while, the mossies are all coming out to play after a very dry dry season. As mentioned before, we do manage the levels but there is a cycle – fog and then fog again in two days and then every week plus change between the three options of vapor to prevent the mossies from becoming immune. This cycle is used during the wet season and reduces down in the dry season. Unfortunately we were between the start of the wet season cycle the day you arrived.

We thank you for taking the time to write your post even though you had only just arrived on the start of your 7 night stay with us, on the cruiser special as hauling out your boat in the boatyard not far from us. We much prefer that if guests are not happy with something that they let us know as we do all we can to sort their dissatisfaction out. You did let us know you were not happy by coming in to reception and saying with a very loud voice ‘Dengue come and get me, what is this place’, and told us the AC remote is not working. I went back to the apartment with you and ensured the AC was working correctly, for some reason the mode had been changed on the remote control. I turned the ceiling fan on in the living area, we brought a standing fan and supplied you with coils to burn to make your first night more comfortable in the main living area. The kingsize bedrooms are enclosed and have air conditioning.

We want all our guests to be happy and would encourage all our potential guests to check all our reviews and also research the hotel facilities. We promote the fact that we are open air on our website in text, plus with images and by calling ourselves a boutique hotel it hopefully registers with people that we are not a standard hotel and that we offer not standard type accommodation.

As this was obviously a miss match of requirements we wanted to fix it and make you happy. We hope you will enjoy the remainder of your stay in Grenada at the other hotel we recommended to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cerney, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We recently stayed at Le Phare Bleu for two weeks as a retirement celebration. We had high expectations for our first visit to the Caribbean and these were exceeded in every way. Our one-bedroom apartment was set in beautiful gardens, close to the hotel restaurant, swimming pool and beach. We had no intention of doing any cooking, but there was ample room and equipment for self-catering, and a Mini-Mart on site for basic supplies. There were many high points of our stay, but our most abiding memory will be of the cheerful and friendly welcome we received from Dieter, Jana and Lynn, and all of the staff at the hotel.We were lucky enough to be there for one of Le Phare Bleu's famous dinghy concerts. The experience of sitting on a floating jetty in the middle of the sea, listening to a band on a boat playing wonderful music, is one we will never forget. The beach is small, but there are lovely beaches within easy reach. We decided not to rent a car, as we really just wanted to relax, but we had great fun using the local buses. The bus stop is an energetic walk away from the hotel, but we were often offered lifts by sympathetic passing drivers. Another time we would hire a car so that we could explore more of this beautiful island. This is a small, friendly but elegant hotel, with a constant mix of people arriving to moor at the marina, and a good range of live entertainment and themed evenings in the Deck Restaurant. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper-floor one-room apartment which was very spacious and mostly very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for LPB. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Oh by the way, we off a great discount to all our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What an amazing and beautiful place.
Everyone is so friendly the staff attentive and nothing is too much trouble.
Make sure you venture out and meet the locals though.
Rum Shacks are a real eye opener.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived ( a day early ) we were welcomed with friendly smiles, great service & hospitality and beautiful surroundings. The cottages are are cozy with enough privacy without being too far from the restaurant, beach and pool....all within 100 steps away. You will melt away in the very comfortable beds, love the nice bath products, and get very spoiled by all the staff. The grounds are beautiful and reflect the beauty of the people of Grenada. For the sailing enthusiast to the pool lounger, La Phare Bleu will not disappoint!! We will definitely go back to this jewel in Grenada!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I highly recommend a stay at Le Phare Bleu. You can tell the owners put a lot of time and thought into designing the villas. I especially liked the big deck with lounge furniture, the open bar area, super-clean kitchen, and modern frig with filtered water and icemaker. The bedroom was air-conditioned and the bed was like a “Hilton Heavenly” with pillow-top mattress and soft sheets. The staff was friendly and attentive. The restaurant food was locally sourced and fresh every day. The owners took me out for a little cruise around the nearby bays, which was an unexpected surprise. It’s an easy taxi ride to town or the main beach. But, this place was so private and peaceful I really didn’t want to go anywhere else. And the wi-fi worked all week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Address: Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001 , Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's > Petite Calivigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petite Calivigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Phare Bleu truly is a unique property that centres around the historic Lighthouse Ship and is located in Calivigny Bay. Just fifteen minutes from the international airport this exclusive, waterfront property offers a tremendously high level of comfort in the self contained beach villas and apartments. The friendly service mixed with the two restaurants, mini market, swimming pool, watersports and very safe beach makes Le Phare Bleu a great place for relaxation. During the low season only one restaurant is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phare Bleu Marina And Resort
Le Phare Bleu Marina Hotel Petite Calivigny Bay
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort Grenada/Petite Calivigny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;