We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service. Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort
Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001 , Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Service. Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself and 11 other family members planned a trip to Grenada to celebrate my father's 70th birthday. Lynn was extremely helpful during the planning process. From booking all of our rooms to offering suggestions of local activities and sights, she was great. Once we all arrived to Le Phare Bleu, the great service continued. The ENTIRE staff was amazing!! The property is so beautiful and cozy. The set-up of the villas really made it feel like a home away from home. With a couple of kids and teens in our group, it was great to be able to prepare our own snacks and meals at our leisure using the villa's kitchenettes. The kid's had a blast playing on the beach with the hobie cat, kayak, and zipline while the adults hung out and relaxed at the pool and bar. The hotel's atmosphere was really accommodating to everyone.

Thank you again Le Phare Bleu staff for making our family trip such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was indeed a pleasure to meet you all and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for your very special birthday celebration.

For many it was their first time to Grenada and we hope it will not be the last. Blessings to you all and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went for an evening birthday meal when on holiday. Very unusual setting for a restaurant but the food and wine were utterly delightful; in particular my buttered poached lobster was exquisite. Overall good value for money and a very special occasion. This review was written under the Hotel section of Tripadvisor because there appears to be no entry for Le Phare Bleu Lightship Restaurant - there should be as it is excellent!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Lighthouse Ship Restaurant. We do have a page called Lighthouse Ship Restaurant if you would like to duplicate your review there we would really appreciate it.

Kind regards
Lynn Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Le Phare Bleu is a collection of villas and apartments set into beautiful tropical gardens. Add this to a small secluded beach, a marina, wonderful staff and good food and this is THE place for a wonderful holiday. There is a great community feel but if it is seclusion you are after, you can have that too.

We went to Aruba a while ago and had the best beach holiday ever. Please don't come here for miles of white sand. There are some lovely, bigger beaches, a taxi or hire car away. We would recommend La Sagesse. Very chilled, never heaving. Bar on the beach too!

The food is good and the pool bar offered all we wanted. If you prefer fine dining, try their restaurant on the lighthouse boat.

This may not be the place for children as there are no facilities specifically for them. The entertainment consists of the occasional band, the singing chiropractor - Doc Adams (he's good too!) and other laid back but good events.

The staff were beyond compare. Service was spot on, but there was more. They are truly a part of this amazing community - joining in even out of hours. Whilst we were there, we were involved in a rather harrowing incident. The staff just pulled out all the stops.

So drawbacks. There are two. If I could change these it would be perfect but then the character would suffer. I'd love the beach to be bigger. And please when you go (not if!) don't forget the mozzie spray!

We don't normally return to places we have been, but this one - OH YES! We are coming back!

Room Tip: You will be fine in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for us. We certainly enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your return.

Many thanks
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at Le Phare Bleu for 2 weeks last January, thanks to the advice of a colleague who knows the owner's wife from early childhood. She couldn't have given me a better tip. The place is just beautiful with its bungalows immersed in a tropical garden and the view of the marina and the bay. Since I was travelling alone, I had a spacious top apartment all for myself and enjoyed one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. The great thing about LPB is its familiar atmosphere. The owners and the staff will just do everything to pamper their guests and soon you get a feeling as if you were staying at a friend's home rather than in a resort. Unless you have a really antisocial attitude, you will meet lots of interesting people at the Poolside bar to have a drink and some smalltalk with. The spot is also very popular among the boat owners at the marina or anchored in the nearby bays, as well as among the Grenadians themselves, especially on Saturdays, when live music is played. The Poolside restaurant offers tasty caribbean dishes at reasonable prices and one of the best pizzas you can have outside of Italy. And after dinner just move to the lounge, enjoy the ocean view, listen to the waves crashing on the beach and sip a glass of Grenadian vintage rum to experience perfect happiness. Although le Phare Bleu is a bit secluded, most diving centers, island tour operators and car rentals will offer a complimentary pick-up and drive back service. You will need a car, though, if you want to move freely around the Island as I did. I hope I will be able to come back some time, perhaps to watch the South Grenada regatta and enjoy a dinghy concert. One of them had just taken place the week before my arrival and was highly praised by the other guests, as was the fine cuisine of the restaurant in the Vastra Banken lighthouse ship, which unfortunately I missed. Perhaps another good reason to start thinking about a second trip to Le Phare Bleu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I just spent 2 weeks in Grenada at Le Phare Bleu. We had been to that specific Hotel/Marina 3 other times prior to this vacation but after having another amazing vacation and great experience we decided that we had write a trip advisor review and share with fellow travellers what we really think about LPB (Le Phare Bleu).
Just to be up front - we don't like all inclusives. We have both stayed at resorts that you never leave and we both realized that that just isn't the kind of holiday we want. We want to get out, see the country we are visiting and actually find our own place within the place we are staying. Ironically, when we are at LPB we don't want to leave the marina/hotel grounds.
And here's why:
The feeling of being alone in the world. With only a handful of villas you truly have the chance to get away from hoards of people. And if you really really want to get away from people you have the chance to stay in your beautiful indoor/outdoor villa because it comes complete with a small and very functional kitchen. Every year we go we have stayed in 4 different villas and each view is spectacular (either beach front so you hear the waves crashing on the south shores of Grenada) or Apartment Style where just beyond the beautiful palm trees you can see the masts of rocking sail boats.
The feeling of being a part of the world. Grenadians are amazing people. In fact, we have done a lot of travelling through the Caribbean and without a doubt Grenadians are the kindest, most accepting people we have met. The staff at the resort are friendly and kind and very knowledgable. We got a geology lesson from the Security guard named Justin almost every night after dinner. He talked to us about the tree frogs and their singing at night, the night blooming flowers and the different kinds of fish that hang around the marina. We like to walk and run in the mornings; each morning on our walk to the main road we passed by at least 10 Grenadians on their way to work. Each time, without fail, everyone of them said "Morning Morning" to us. This simple greeting, the eye contact and smile is something that as North Americans we just don't encounter on a day to day basis.
The feeling that you're out of this world. The owners of LPB are a Swiss-German couple who have made Grenada their home for a little while now. They are always ready and willing to assist you in whatever request you might need attending to or question you might need answered. To say that these people care about their guest experience is an understatement. They go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay and are at your most comfortable. Here's a small example of what I mean. I get terribly seasick. Which sucks because at LPB they are a gorgeous old Lighthouse Ship with a bright blue lighthouse on it (hence the name: Le Phare Bleu). They have converted this massive ship into an up-scale restaurant (they also have a pool bar restaurant). We really wanted to eat on the ship, because we heard the food was great; we thought we'd risk it and see how i fared. It didn't go well, and we actually didn't even get to order before I started feeling sick. The next night one of the owners of LPB approached us and asked if we'd like to give it another shot. He mentioned that he would place one of the restaurant tables outside the restaurant on the dock. When we arrived for dinner a beautiful picturesque table complete with candle light was set up on the dock amongst sailboats. It was a magical night filled with delicious food and great wine.

We love Grenada and we love LPB and we have to say that if you are going to visit Grenada (whether by plane or boat) you should take a few days and stay there. The rooms are spectacularly designed and meticulously clean. The food is great (the pool bar's pizza is actually better than i have had in italy thanks to a secret dough recipe used by their in-house baker).

Above all else being in Grenada and at LPB makes us feel rejuvenated, happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay in the marina. It was a perfect ending of our sailing trip in the Carrabian Sea. The owners are able to run this place with a certain, very charming and wellcoming Swiss style. We were sorry not to be able to stay longer in this beautifull resort.
The dinghy concert the next day was one of our personal highlight - what a great idea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a lovely few days at Le Phare Bleu which is beautifully located for chilling out. We arrived late a but had a good welcome and chef stayed late to cook a meal for us.

We too were upgraded and had very stylish accommodation with a lovely deck for sitting and chilling. Delightful charming staff and excellent food (the menu on the website unsells how good it is). 2 for one pizza one night and freindship table another were great ideas, well executed and brought guests together so we met some interesting people.

Everything has been built with great care and style so the whole enviroment was luxurious and comfortable. We wish Le Phare Bleu every success and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Address: Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001 , Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's > Petite Calivigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Petite Calivigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Phare Bleu truly is a unique property that centres around the historic Lighthouse Ship and is located in Calivigny Bay. Just fifteen minutes from the international airport this exclusive, waterfront property offers a tremendously high level of comfort in the self contained beach villas and apartments. The friendly service mixed with the two restaurants, mini market, swimming pool, watersports and very safe beach makes Le Phare Bleu a great place for relaxation. During the low season only one restaurant is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phare Bleu Marina And Resort
Le Phare Bleu Marina Hotel Petite Calivigny Bay
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort Grenada/Petite Calivigny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.