We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect romantic hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort to your Saves list
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect romantic hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a beautiful trip (honeymoon!) to Le Phare Bleu and it could not have been more perfect. First, they upgraded us to a 2 BR Seafront villa about 30 yards from the beach. We arrived late at night and they arranged to have sandwiches, salads and fruit waiting in the refrigerator for us. The villa was just beautiful -- spacious, rustic yet well-appointed, and absolutely spotless. I travel frequently for my job and have stayed in hotels all over the world, and I'd rate this in my top 15. The staff was just phenomenal -- everyone was so friendly and genuine, we felt like family by the time we left. Le Phare Bleu is a bit off the beaten path, but that's exactly what we were looking for. If you're looking to be "in the action", this may not be for you, but it you want to relax and unwind, I can't think of a better place. My only caution is bring heavy duty mosquito repellant; they didn't touch my husband, but they just loved me! Grenada is a beautiful island, not as developed as some others so still retains a lot of charm. The people are warm and actually fond of Americans.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
48
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I saw the resort I thought 'how wonderful', When I left I thought 'I'm never coming back here again!'Local staff were wonderful, proprietress was just rude.Supposedly a complementary fruit basket in the fridge, We didn't have one.On there web site they say 'internet access in every room' it is either not there or sporadic/unusable.Daily construction machinery noise.Unorganized paperwork (didn't read the booking in form)no room service the last day.The beach is NOT recommended.Right next to small yachts on a marina, with no holding tanks.

Room Tip: Not next to the heavy machinery renovation chalet noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Being such a small hotel we get to know all our guests very well even before check in and from the comments you have made have worked out who you are. I only mention this for others to read as it will come clear as to why you have rated us as ‘terrible’.

We did have a small group who stayed with us as visiting the island to judge an event that took place at the beginning of November and offered the judges a 3 night stay with our compliments. We made this generous offer as it was an event that marketed Grenada as a destination. The group, along with their guests, would have to pay for any additional nights booked for. We received an official apology from the event organizer for the performance of the judges who stayed with us due to their behavior at check out and not wishing to pay for the additional nights as agreed.

My name is Lynn Fletcher, Hotel Manager and unfortunately we did not get to meet as I was away when you stayed with us. I am sure we may have fallen short in some aspects of your stay and for that I apologize for, but I do not feel that your rating overall as ‘Terrible’ is justified or fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were lucky to have spent a weekend at your Resort and were extremely satisfied with the warm welcome we received from all members of staff.The owners were arms opening which makes us felt so greatful when they decided to take us to the Hog Island 'hang out' and a view at Calivigny Island.The most memorable part of this weekend were breakfast,served on our patio villa at the time requested the night before.This is truly the place for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Le Phare Bleu. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I went there one evening for dinner with family. The service was good and the waitress that served us was very friendly. The lighting could have been a little more brighter. The food's okay. I will return to try the pizzas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrenadaStarfish, Manager at Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Christal

Thank you for taking the time to review the Poolbar Restaurant. Your review has made me think that we need a page just for the Restaurants, as the page you have reviewed on is for people who have stayed in the hotel. Never mind, I am sure people will read your review and realise this. We do hope you will come back and try us again. We will soon be launching a new menu for the Poolbar Restaurant and welcoming our new Food and Beverage Manager. If you would like to stay informed with our restaurant updates and promotions, please send me your email address and I will be happy to add you to our list. lynn@lepharebleu.com

Many thanks
Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Simply we adore Grenada - the charms of this exotic paradise must begin with its sheer unspoilt tropical beauty and gentle pace of life. We have been to other islands but without doubt the Grenadians are the most kind and unbelievably friendly and always ready to say hello with a warm smile. The island has been preserved with its secluded beaches and bays lined with mangroves and wild jungle in the hills. We were staying at another hotel a couple of years ago and came across Le Phare Bleu whilst exploring and decided we would definitely return to stay as the setting is beautiful nestling in a colourful and lush oasis in a secluded bay. The buildings are quite stunning - luxurious without being flashy and everything is made from the very best materials from the beautiful wooden decks, the linen and gorgeous white bedspreads on the very comfortable large beds to the wonderful iridescent tiled large shower room - everything about the decoration is tasteful. The cottages have a delightful set up with a stainless steel freezer in a kitchen/bar area next to the sitting area with its comfortable sofa and wide sliding doors which is just perfect in the evening as you have a little cover - or you can fall asleep on the swinging seat watching the fireflies and listening to the tree frogs. We had one of the apartments with another one above but it really felt like our own cottage. It was lovely wandering down to the restaurant with its friendly bar through the garden filled with the heavenly scent of frangipani and ylang ylang towards the beach (which isn't a long long beach like Grand Anse but you can always go for a walk there) in the morning and being offered a delicious variety of fresh fruit, homemade breads, cereals and something cooked as well if you wished. The tables overlook the beach and small marina which we loved as there was always someone coming off one the lovely boats which created a colourful atmosphere and it added to the prettiness of the bay. My husband loved walking along the jetty chatting to the boat owners and I am sure thinking which one he would like! There are also some cane sofas overlooking the beach which are perfect for pre-dinner cocktails or even better a rum punch or for just reading in during the day with a breeze from the gentle trade winds before a dip in the pool. Dinner was delicious and there was a great band playing one evening and we had fun dancing and meeting other people. It is all very low-key and felt like we were in a lovely house party in a beautiful home by the sea.
There is an attractive vintage lighthouse boat on the jetty which is a restaurant and we had a lovely evening - almost Agatha Christie style on the Nile - it is strung with fairy lights and twinkles at night and is just beautifully restored with an old leather sofa, antiques and fine white linen and elegant glasses and the food is to die for. On Sundays everyone goes over to Hog Island - an idyllic spot a short boat ride away - for a barbecue and music at Roger's Bar - made of pieces of bamboo and the only bar on the white sandy shore.
There is a small shop where you can buy essentials and a small selection of postcards which is really useful and there someone will organise car rental too which is great to go off exploring the island. There is also an excellent masseuse.
All the staff are attentive and gentle just wanting to make your stay as good as they can. What really makes the difference here is that the manager Liz and the un-stuffy owners are hands-on and obviously dedicated to making it so lovely you have to come back.
I couldn't recommend it more..... and it is very reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Only stayed in apartment but it was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent our Honeymoon at this Resort and were extremely satisfied with the warm welcome we received from all members of staff inclusive of the owners.The layout of the premisses complimented the Villa which was very spacious and homey. We enjoyed the ambiance and the location of the villa which is less than 100 footsteps from the sea shore.If you have the opportunity to stay here you should definitely try the pizza,visit the Hog Island "hang out" and learn to sail on the Hobbie Cat. This is a highly recommended haven for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We left this uncredible charming place in april 17th and still mourne our departure. It is amazing how the owners succeeded in creating a small haven that is unsurpassed in the world. Yes, these are big words, but we feel confident to use them because we travelled for years all over the globe.
What makes this such an exceptional place? It is peaceful and quiet, yet there is always some activity in the marina, and wonderful joyous live music and dance evenings on saturday night. You are ageless here, and that is part of the fun. Luxurious are the villa's without going over the top. The bay is easy to swim in, but the nice swimming pool is an attractive alternative. If you want to be selfsupporting, here is your chance, because the villa's have kitchens and a great american fridge. But there are also two good restaurants to choose from, one in a charming lighting ship in the marina. We do not know what we prefer: in the swing on the huge veranda, on the beach with a virgin colada, or on the ship with a glas of south african wine. On one thing we are sure: the owners Dieter and Jana, the manager Lynn and the whole staff in the restaurants and in the minimarket made our stay onforgettable. And the cleaning ladies who ALWAYS showed their smiles. Yes, there are mosquito's, but they are on most parts of the island, and for that matter in most parts of the Caribbean. The minimarket sells great repellant without DEET, and that protected us very well. The bedroom is airconditioned and has a net, and we never were stung there!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort

Address: Petite Calivigny Bay, Petite Calivigny, St. George's 8001, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's > Petite Calivigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petite Calivigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Phare Bleu truly is a unique property that centres around the historic Lighthouse Ship and is located in Calivigny Bay. Just fifteen minutes from the international airport this exclusive, waterfront property offers a tremendously high level of comfort in the self contained beach villas and apartments. The friendly service mixed with the restaurants & bar, mini market, swimming pool, watersports and very safe beach, makes Le Phare Bleu a great place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phare Bleu Marina And Resort
Le Phare Bleu Marina Hotel Petite Calivigny Bay
Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort Grenada/Petite Calivigny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Phare Bleu Marina & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.