We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Alegre Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duque de Caxias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Alegre Retreat
Save
You added Vista Alegre Retreat to your Saves list
Rua da Cachoeira, 345, Duque de Caxias, State of Rio de Janeiro 25270-650, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very authentic and quite and peaceful , a combination of nature and relaxing with a "human" project not far from there. Unforgotabable my yoga near the natural pool !! and the sunset above the hills. walking through the bamboos was also a nice experience ending in an hamac ! Interesting conversations with Bruno and Karina , very enjoyable hosts , a must after of before the crowdy Rio !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Brigitte,

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed the place, the Sinal do Vale project and our conversations. It was a great pleasure for us to host you.
Hope to see you again !

Karina, Bruno and the team at Vista Alegre Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very nice retreat - in a beautiful environment - welcoming is very friendly, open-minded and no-nonsense. You feel at home when you are there.
Nice walk and discovery of the organic farm, the bamboo-environment, the natural pool, beautiful flowers and plants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks Nathalie for your nice review and for supporting us ! What a pleasure to hear you feel at home. We try to do the best for this. We enjoyed sharing with you our visions and experiences ;-)

All the best for you and your family.

Karina, Bruno and the team at Vista Alegre Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are staying in Rio and want to get out of the city you don't have to far go far to reach a whole other world. That world is Vista Alegre, an amazing retreat in the middle of the rainforest and a short drive (approx 40 mins) from the centre of Rio. For those who don't have a car (like me), you can also get there on public transport in about an hour with a few simple instructions helpfully provided by Thais, Vista Alegre's founder. Think rainforest, beautiful views, natural waterfalls and swimming pools to relax in. Add in excellent accommodation, food that is fresh, abundant and mouthwatering and finish this off with Vista Alegre's ethical and sustainable approach to tourism and you really couldn't ask for more. I will definitely be going back for more next time I am in Rio!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as you said, being that close to Rio and Petropolis is one of our strengths. we hope to be able to host you again in some event or just to relax and connect with nature !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I spent a few days at Vista Alegre and found the place absolutely magical. The natural environment has been well looked after and allows for all kinds of activities, from quiet relaxation simply listening to the sound of the river or the song of the birds, to lovely walks with beautiful views and swimming in clear cool spring-fed pools. The human element of Vista Alegre is also amazing: beautiful and comfortable houses, great people and delicious food. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Julia ! Thanks very much for your review this is very important for us.
We are very glad you had a nice experience with us and we are looking forward to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscombe, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arriving at Vista Alegre is a little like stepping into Pandora in the Avatar movie.

This place has an abundance of lush green vegetation, nature, waterfalls, streams and provides you with a deep connection to nature, so great for relaxing and getting back to yourself. In particular, it's only a short drive from Rio de Janeiro. A unique experience for anyone who wants to venture away from the mainstream, yet be close to civilisation.

Well worth taking time out to explore the vast estate and get back into nature.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Sean !! thanks a lot for your review ! we hope to seeyou again in Vista Alegre very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Vista Alegre is a beautiful retreat center in the middle of the jungle. I've been here several times with different kinds of groups from all sectors and always enjoyed the surroundings, the hospitality and the food tremendously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Hein, thanks very much for your review. We hope you come back soon to Vista Alegre !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Vista Alegre is just 30 miles from the heart of Rio yet set apart in time and lush beauty. Set among bamboo, Bird of Paradise, palms and tropic forest trees, each house is unique, cool and comfortable. There is a waterfall and pool at one house. A pond elsewhere. The walks around the property are a feast for the eye.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA-Management, Gerente at Vista Alegre Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We really thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're so glad you that you liked the place and you could connect with all this nature we have here.
We hope to see you again when you come to Rio Next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Alegre Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Alegre Retreat

Address: Rua da Cachoeira, 345, Duque de Caxias, State of Rio de Janeiro 25270-650, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Duque de Caxias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Duque de Caxias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Alegre Retreat is a meeting place, a bed and breakfast or simply a bungalow that you can rent for your special event,.The experience of Vista Alegre Retreat is quite unique. You can't imagine that just a few kilometers from a major road that connects Rio to the center of Brazil, there is this hidden paradise; embedded in a lush valley, surrounded by mountains and forests and crossed by rivers and streams. The combination of sights and sounds of the forest and river help open you to another reality. These are gates of relaxation, a gift of Vista Alegre, helping you to connect into conversations that matter, letting go, allowing new insights and possibilities.You can also come and visit some of the projects going on in SInal do Vale... Do you want to learn more about sustainabiity, local food, the "Mata Atlantica" ecosystem and it conservation, exotic fruits and trees, medicinal plants or the activities we make with the community of Santo Antonio? Contact us and ask for customized programs...and visits...And if you have a group of people:Vista Alegre Retreats can accomodate groups of 25-30, with four houses, meeting areas, 2 pools, gardens, sauna, and full catering services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Alegre Retreat Duque De Caxias, Rio De Janeiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Alegre Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.