We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero

Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero
Fondamenta della Giudecca 88, 30142 Burano, Italy
041-730-120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Burano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This unassuming restaurant on the small island of Burano (35 minutes from Venice by boat) is Tops in all of Italy! First of all, about 80 percent of the entire island are fisherman and in the morning they have an impressive fresh fish market which sells out by afternoon, Our group ordered oysters, scallops, clams, prawns, calamari and local fish from the restaurant and everything was incredibly fish and expertly prepared. I would make the trip from Venice to Burano solely to eat at this place as nothing in Venice came close to being as good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    112
    26
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip! Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Visited the small colourful island of Buranao. We had read that this restaurant was worth a visit so we youths we must go and see what it's like. To start with the waiters were very friendly and welcoming, they recommended some dishes to try and they were very professional. The food was delicious!!! The sea bream was served and deboned right in front of you which is a nice touch. Highly recommended to try out as long as you have plenty of money! Two second courses and drinks totals around €75!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I can only laugh at people who write bad reviews for this place. Massi and his team are attentive, humorous and made our day at Burano thoroughly enjoyable. The degustation entre was superb, some of which I would never normally eat (anchovies!) but still devoured. Juicy Scampi the size of small horses and beautiful Italian sparkling. Scallops and Mussels then Spaghetti with Clams. So juicy, too die for. Ask Massi about his time in Perth Australia. Wonderful stories, perfect weather, do not miss out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious foodie experience: SO worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My lunchtime plans in the city suddenly changed, so I trundled over to Burano to join some friends at Al Gatto Nero, with no idea what to expect. Burano looks a bit like Murano without the glass studios: very cute. This is a proper destination restaurant, set on a canal full of brightly-painted houses (looks a bit like Hillgate Village in London W8 but, er, with canals). The seafood & saffron "special" pasta we kicked off with was just unbelievable; I'm still dreaming of it 6 weeks later. The crab pasta would have been considered a corker anywhere else, but underwhelmed in comparison. We then shared a magnificent wild turbot and some delicious puds (tiramisu, panna cotta etc) and vin santo. This is an awesome place to while away a few hours on a sunny terrace, with stunning wines and fabulous, friendly service. I didn't eat anywhere in the city of Venice that could hold a candle to this place. Do book at busy times, it's a very popular spot. Did not go inside so have no idea what it looks like.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived on burano ,with the intention of going to another restaurant , but it was closed, lucky us .we knew of Gatto Nero but had never been . We had to wait a while for a table but were given a glass of prossecco . The owner served us and we talked about Edinburgh as that is where he learnt his English . Soft shell crab and Frito misto beautifully light doesn't appear it's been deep fried. Chatted to the waiter who offered us grappa on the house . What a welcome back to venice

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero also viewed

Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.