We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, polite and decent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero

Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero
Fondamenta della Giudecca 88, 30142 Burano, Italy
041-730-120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Burano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food, polite and decent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to Romano first as we came across it first, the waiter was rude and said they were full. Damn rude in fact. So we walked on and found this place. Polite and decent from the start, yes we waited for a table but they kept us informed and looked after. Throughout the meal they treated us line they cared, professional yet friendly and polite. Food was great, we had the fish mixed grill that was fresh and good value.

Would thoroughly recommend this place for their friendliness. And the owner looks like Jason Statham and talks with a Scottish lilt!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    178
    35
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must in Burano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I would have to say this is one of my favorite restaurants around Venice.
A favorite for many years of my uncle who took me there on our fist trip.
I was amazed by the freshness of the fish right from the lagoon outside.
The meal will forever be at the top of my list.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful, delicious and authentic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a lovely way to spend a couple of hours. The spaghetti vongole was just divine and the 'waiter recommended' fresh flounder with roast potatoes and tomatoes was out of this world. Definitely worth making the trip to Burano for!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For a Buranese lunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

You must try the Buranese risotto and flounder. Just trust the recommendation. A little pricey, just like anything else around here...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food is overpriced for tiny portions. We had Tagliatelle with crab which was dry with hardly ANY crab. Service awful even though service charge added. Was not offered parmesan or oil dressing for the very dry bread. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero also viewed

Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Burano, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Gatto Nero Da Ruggero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.