We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really for us...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Do Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bilene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Praia Do Sol
Praia Do Sol, Bilene, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bilene
Capetown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not really for us...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Let me start by saying there is nothing wrong with the place, maybe we were wrong for the place. I don't want to write an unfair review, so here is how we experienced it. Prior to our visit we emailed the owner several times. What a friendly, helpful person, as was the manager and the rest of the staff. We stayed in chalet 8 which was maybe a mistake as the bar is next to it. People watch tv there and workers were busy building and grinding there. Allthough the resort is not right in town, the town is very noisy at night. There must be a bar or something nearby. The chalet itself is OK. The junker geyser was a challenge to say the least. Water alternated between burning hot and freezing. There is a bath too, but to fill it with warm water is impossible. Staff tended to the problem, but it didn't solve the problem. We liked the early morning birdlife and appreciated the gas braai. In my opinion, if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful holiday, this is not the place for you. If you love partying and watersport... By all means! I also feel at R1000 per night the chalet was totally overpriced...and apparently this was a special! When we used the plug in the kitchen it made sparks. The upstairs room had a fan in it, with no power plug! In the end...the resort's slogun "warm people, cold beer" is not untrue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The chalet( 2 bedrooms one bathroom) was well equipped had a gas barbecue and had really good bed linen. The view from the deck and balcony over the 15km long lagoon over the trees was beautiful. The bird life was prolific. The road to the resort is being paved. There is a great coffee bar/ garage on the lagoon side road en route to the resort. We self catered but had drinks on the bar deck which was very pleasant. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Take chalet 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennistymon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We came to PDS for a couple of days and stayed for 6. It is such a relaxing place right on the edge of a beautiful clear lagoon.
There are 12 chalets here of varying sizes set in the bush. Our first 2 nights were spent in Chalet 1 which has great views of the lagoon out over the trees tops and where you can watch the sun coming up without the need to get out of bed. There is also a lovely shaded deck on which to while away a few hours. The bungalow is compact though, and since we decided to stay on for a few more days asked Solly (most friendly manager) if we could move to one of the self catering bungalows. This was Chalet 2, very large on 2 floors and slept 5 with full self catering facilities. We did prepare a few meals for ourselves but the food is so good at the restaurant that we ate there each evening. Grilled prawns, prawn curry, calamara, grilled fish were all delicious.
This is not a 5 star resort, it is very rustic and you are in the bush, but the staff are very pleasant it is incredibly laidback and we found it the perfect place to relax and do very little for more than a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In September I booked and paid for a weeks holiday through Mozambique Holiday at Praia do Sol.I received a booking confirmation from Mozambique Holiday. The night before we left home, I phoned Leo to check all was in order. He had never received the booking nor payment from Mozambique Holiday. He went out of his way to find us alternative accomodation as Praia do Sol was fully booked. He arranged very good accomodation in no time at all for us at Dreams down the road. He also checked in with us several times during the week to make sure we were happy.Had he not gone to all this effort, we would have not been able to go to Mozambique.
During our stay we did eat several times at Praia do Sol- we had very good food and the prices were reasonable compared to some of the other restaurants in town . The restaurant has a fantastic view over the lagoon.We also made use of their ferry to the beach- a very nice trip.
Leo has also been assisting us in trying to contact Mozambique Holiday to recover our money- still no joy- they seem to have vanished off the face of the earth.
So even though we didn't end up staying at PdoS , big thumbs up to Leo for all his help- he really went the extra mile to sort out a problem that wasn't his fault at all- Thanks very much and you do have a lovely resort

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Besides the food being overpriced - better value and bigger portions are available in the town.

Leo and Solly are extremely friendly and helpful.

Keeping in consideration that this is a rural area in Mozambique, the rooms are charming, and comfortable. You can definitely sleep mosquito free.

Water pressure is low, so filling a bath takes a good hour.

In the end I would definitely visit there again, for the beautiful setting, friendliness of the locals, and the overall calmness of the area.

I would recommend to take the gravel road - gorgeous scenery, but you would need a 4x4 for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The chalets are very rustic with plenty of holes in the roof and on the wall. Also the moscito net was full of holes. The walls where full of Gecko excrements. I was disapointed as the reviews were positive. They have to fix the chalets as this is not European standard and less adventures people will leave immediately.
We booked for one week but left after 4 days. The didn't charge as more.
Food was ok, but as they propose a menu in the evening which is the same as for lunch. Quality was ok, staff very friendly.
Location is great for beach activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdsol, Owner at Praia Do Sol, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Praia Do Sol is a Small Resort where the management is Very important and WILL affect the standards of the Resort.
The resort is Now under new management and you will notice that the review show this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Really nice place for a beach geth away in bilene.
In Bilene there is not much to do but this place is a really good beach accomodation, good for a stopover stay before driving further to inhambane.
Beautiful beach chalet. Not luxurious but it has it charme.
Nice people, good food.
You do need to bring musquito repelient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Praia Do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Do Sol

Address: Praia Do Sol, Bilene, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Gaza Province > Bilene
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bilene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Praia Do Sol to your Saves list